Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Present, 24 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Harvey Slumfenburger's Christmas Present (Paperback)
This beautifully illustrated, timeless classic is read only once a year on Christmas Eve in my house. After 9 years it has become a family ritual along with putting out the mince pie/sherry and carrot! My children ( who are both too old to believe) have both just asked me if they could have a copy themselves to continue the tradition with their children.This is a MUST have if you have children, truly a moment to share!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Christmas Story, 29 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Harvey Slumfenburger's Christmas Present (Paperback)
This is absolutely the best Christmas story ever. By far the best I have read my nearly four year old. Superb all the way through, beats all those saccharine boring old christmas stories. My son loves this. We discovered it in a library in Capetown. Then moved to NZ and loaned it from the library here. Now have bought our very own copy and will be buying it as presents. Brillant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No journey is too far..., 16 Dec. 2014
By 
Steven (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harvey Slumfenburger's Christmas Present (Paperback)
I was looking for a festive book to read to my two year old daughter in the run up to Christmas, and bought this on the strength of the Amazon customer reviews - so glad I did. It's a brilliant little tale.

The story isn't syrupy sentimental like a lot of kid's Christmas books, it's quite adventurous actually. The language is repetitive (in a good way!), which encourages the child to read along as it progresses. It covers themes of being grateful, being helpful... and of course how brilliant Santa is to the children of the world. The ending is very sweet too. The whole thing is illustrated in a wonderful way, sweeping skies and landscapes abound.

Judging by how well this book has been received - requests for nightly reads for a week or so now, no sign of that stopping - I can confidently say it's a hit in our house, and I expect it'll be a Christmas favourite for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 21 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Harvey Slumfenburger's Christmas Present (Paperback)
This has been a staple last week of term story for me for years now.
And having read it this week to a class of 7-9 year olds it remains a real favourite.
Pacey, full of humour...with repetition so the children can join in...together with terrific illustrations, it is a great way to share 20 minutes. My classroom assistant even said she was off to buy a copy as a stocking filler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful tale of Father Christmases travels, 9 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Harvey Slumfenburger's Christmas Present (Paperback)
An enchanting story about Father Christmases adventures and travels to deliver presents.
An excellent book for 4-7 year olds. A read aloud story for home or the classroom which can also be used to explore methods of travel. The illustrations are excellent and what a wonderful title. Try getting your average 4-7 year old to say 'Slumfenberger'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harvey Slumfenburger's Christmas Present (Paperback)
Great story to teach Year 1 class repetitive language pattern
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Story, 1 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Harvey Slumfenburger's Christmas Present (Paperback)
I am a Year 2 teacher. The pictures are beautiful and very colourful. I used it to create a letter to Santa and also some colourul art work on skyscapes. The children had not heard the story before and did not mind listening to it over and over again. With older children I am sure you could do some talking about how Christmas is celebrated in different parts of the world.
If you are a parent or a teacher then use this with children who still feel the awe and wonder of Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must!, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harvey Slumfenburger's Christmas Present (Paperback)
This is a fabulous story which adults will enjoy reading and children will love hearing. I have also used this as a stimulus for maths and language in my Early Years classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful story!, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harvey Slumfenburger's Christmas Present (Paperback)
I love this book by John Burningham. As a teacher, I have read it to many, many children and it has always been very well received. The illustrations are beautiful too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harvey Slumfenburger's Christmas Present (Paperback)
I love all John Burningham's books as they have humanity and humour and contain beautiful drawings and paintings. This one is no exception and has a touching ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harvey Slumfenburger's Christmas Present
Harvey Slumfenburger's Christmas Present by John Burningham (Paperback - 1 Nov. 2004)
£6.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews