Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!
Having seen this book reviewed in the newspapers and on TV I decided that I would buy it for my kids (aged 9 and 14) for the summer holidays. And boy am I glad I did! They have spent the last few weeks trying out loads of recipes from the book, from full-on family meals to cakes, biscuits and smoothies. Not only has it kept them entertained for hours, but they are now...
Published on 3 Sept. 2006 by Purdy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking detail, but otherwise okay
This is a really good book, don't get me wrong, it inspired my kids to start cooking. But the lunch section of the book only has the bare minimum of whats required and it is the same for quite a bit of the rest of it.
e.g. 'Ploughmans lunch'
Method: (and I quote) Arrange on a plate and serve
And the tomato tart's picture is very misleading-it has cheese on...
Published 11 months ago by ms anna d violet


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 3 Sept. 2006
By 
Purdy "Purdy" (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cooking Up A Storm - The Teen Survival Cookbook (Paperback)
Having seen this book reviewed in the newspapers and on TV I decided that I would buy it for my kids (aged 9 and 14) for the summer holidays. And boy am I glad I did! They have spent the last few weeks trying out loads of recipes from the book, from full-on family meals to cakes, biscuits and smoothies. Not only has it kept them entertained for hours, but they are now confident in the kitchen. And most of the recipes are healthy as well (with the odd nice treat) so it's guilt-free. I heard that Sam Stern is bringing out another book this year - I'll definitely be buying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Best Christmas Pressent, 8 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Cooking Up A Storm - The Teen Survival Cookbook (Paperback)
I got this book for Christmas, as I have allways liked cooking, but never had anything to cook. This book has loads of great recipes, from cakes and biscuits, to full meals. Some thigs that I have made are:muffins, bbq pork ribs, pasta and sauce and there are lots more that I want to make such as: wedges, breakfast fry up, egg fried rice, greek salads and lots more. I would recommend this book to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cookbook that my sons use, 2 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Cooking Up A Storm - The Teen Survival Cookbook (Paperback)
I bought this cookbook for my 14 year old twin sons, who have always enjoyed cooking alongside me, but never attempted anything on their own before.

They both instantly loved this book, saw lots of things that they fancied cooking, but, unlike many other cookbooks, felt confident enough to give them a go.

My sons are very dyslexic, but they found the layout easy to follow and the pictures useful.

These are not groundbreaking recipes, or even the best renditions of well-known dishes, but they work fine, are well illustrated and introduce young cooks to a range of techniques in a very straightforward, jargon free way.

There are also (from my point of view) helpful comments on diet and nutrition, delivered in a very matter of fact way.

Impressive all in all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for teenagers!, 30 Dec. 2005
By 
Mrs. F. C. Sefton (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cooking Up A Storm - The Teen Survival Cookbook (Paperback)
Although aimed at teenagers, and written in a style to communicate with them, Sam is one of their peers after all, it is clear and concise enough to be of use to anyone who wants to get into the kitchen and cook healthy food easily. I bought it because it has a lot of "back to basic" recipes in which seem to be missing from a lot of cookbooks aimed at beginners to cooking. It is also full of ideas for food which appeals to teenagers, as a mum (and college student!) this is invaluable information! I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a basic cookbook but doesn't want the bulk or wordiness of the Good Housekeeping Cookbook (can you still get it?) or the likes of Delia Smith (good as she is).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calling all parents!!, 18 May 2006
By 
Sarah Warrilow (Epsom, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cooking Up A Storm - The Teen Survival Cookbook (Paperback)
This book is a must have if like me you have a child who likes to cook. The recipes are grown-up enough to satisfy both the cook and the 'guests'. As a parent I'm concerned about nutritiion and the author covers this and makes a good case for organic seasonal choices, where possible. Intelligent well thought out recipes written in an easy to understand language that bridges that awkward gap between the child and young adult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - but this is the US version, 17 Aug. 2006
By 
Mr. E. Smith "ukted" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When we first purchased the UK version of this book it inspired my teenage son to start cooking. The book was so well used that I ordered a replacement last week and unfortunately Amazon only now supply the US version, which gives everything in cup sizes rather than metric and has translated many food items which confuse UK kids (eg Zuchini rather than Courgettes). Buy the book - it's excellent, but search for the UK version if you live in the UK, don't take this (cheaper) US substitute
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My son cooks from this, 3 Mar. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking Up A Storm - The Teen Survival Cookbook (Paperback)
I gave this to my 13-year-old son for Christmas and he has cooked various recipes from it. He is quite enthusiastic about it. The 'cool' factor of the book makes, I think, all the difference, and the fact that it's explicitly addressed to boys. The recipes are fairly traditional -- which is fine for those boys who are less adventurous. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cooking up a storm, 8 April 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking Up A Storm - The Teen Survival Cookbook (Paperback)
Arrived this morning and my 13 year old son was so impressed, he immediately went off to make some scrambled egg on toast and is now making shortbread, all off his own bat. Would highly recommend and am looking forward to someone else in the house cooking dinner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just 4 Boys!, 17 April 2006
This review is from: Cooking Up A Storm - The Teen Survival Cookbook (Paperback)
I am a 12 going on 13 girl and this book which is aimed mostly at boys is also great for girls. I don't do food tec in my school so when i recieved this for christmas i was thrilled. I realised that I have a talent i'd never regonised. Whats more the stuff is really tasty and my mum is really impressed. It is aimed at teenagers which means that the methods are sutible for our ability. It gives you exam tips at the back of the book as well. I am starting yr9 soon and we do food tec so I will have had a head start! Its really good, so buy it, as you might unleash a talent that you never thought you had! (of course, you adults can also buy it to make some really tasaty treats!) (12)Lizzie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get cooking!, 2 Mar. 2006
By 
Tealady2000 (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking Up A Storm - The Teen Survival Cookbook (Paperback)
My son (age 12 - not quite a teen) saw this book in a school book club leaflet and to my amazement he raided his pocket money and bought it for himself. My son is quite a picky eater but he had no trouble at all finding things he wanted to make, and now he is becoming really confident in the kitchen. The book is packed with all kinds of recipes that will appeal to young chefs, from simple sandwiches, snacks and drinks to more complicated meals. There are loads of colour pictures and clear step-by-step instructions, with helpful tips from Sam Stern who is surely a rising star. My only complaint is that the book has begun to fall apart - but I'm still giving it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cooking Up A Storm - The Teen Survival Cookbook
Cooking Up A Storm - The Teen Survival Cookbook by Susan Stern (Paperback - 3 Oct. 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews