Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars totally brilliant novel!
I'm twenty years old and i found it, for a children's novel, to be very adult in parts. Some aspects are violent, but the story is well written and it kept me absorbed until the end. This series has been unjustly over looked. I can't wait for the next one in the series.
Published on 29 July 2007 by Leanne Bell

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast
I was really pleased at how fast this product came! I ordered another two books and they came all together and very fast. I look forward to reading my three books that I ordered from amazon.co.uk
Published on 20 July 2011 by Mr. D. A. Bird


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars totally brilliant novel!, 29 July 2007
By 
I'm twenty years old and i found it, for a children's novel, to be very adult in parts. Some aspects are violent, but the story is well written and it kept me absorbed until the end. This series has been unjustly over looked. I can't wait for the next one in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yep- The best!, 1 July 2007
This review is from: Nightrise (Power of Five book 3) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. It is based on some new characters, which is a breath of fresh air from Matt. This book is definately not a simple plotline and takes a long time to get into, but it's worth it! It is not easy to guess how it will end and you will be hooked!

HOWEVER: You must have read the other power of five books!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hooked again!, 13 May 2007
By 
Mrs. M. Widdowson "Moospeare" (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nightrise (Power of Five book 3) (Paperback)
Just as gripping as Raven's Gate and Evil Star; a treasure! The plot, as usual, is full of imaginative twists and turns. The sinister characters of the Nightrise Corporation are in delicious contrast to the courage and belief that the Chosen Ones display.

I am so pleased that Horowitz has used this book to fill us in on the history of the Chosen Ones and their battle with Evil.This gives the whole saga a lot more depth, yet still leaves enough mystery to make me want to find out more. The idea of the parallel worlds has been woven in particularly well, although it seems impossible, it so well written that it does seem possible; the sign of a truly great writer!

Horowitz writes so convincingly and with such absorbing detail that you can't help but lose yourself in the book completely. Nightrise is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware the Night, 9 May 2009
This review is from: Nightrise (Power of Five book 3) (Paperback)
Tense thriller from the master of suspense; this is the third in the Power of Five series of novels, and deals with the third and fourth of the five 'gatekeepers', teenage twins Scott and Jamie, orphans who are being exploited for their unusual gifts. The evil 'Nightrise' corporation kidnaps Scott, and his brother, along with other Gatekeepers Matt and Pedro, promptly set off on a highly dangerous mission to rescue him, in order that the nefarious 'Old Ones' may be stopped from conquering and destroying the world.

Horowitz's experiences as a TV scriptwriter stand him in good stead once more, as this is even more exciting and dramatic than its two predecessors. The narrative is tightly woven whilst being easy to read but also intelligent and fast-paced. Horowitz crams as much into the novel as he can, and as the gatekeepers hurtle towards their destiny the reader is left biting their nails in anticipation and suspense. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another good book!, 20 Sept. 2007
By 
This review is from: Nightrise (Power of Five book 3) (Paperback)
I bought the first book and it got me hooked into the series. This time the story focusses on jamie and scott tyler, for the first time not centering the story around matt freeman. I wont ruin the story but i definately recommend the book to readers of all ages. The storyline carries the same style of twist and turns as the previous two, gathering more gatekeepers and knowledge to the story. (also alot of the history is revealed - i.e. who made the nazca lines etc) It also features a well thought out battle and a great plot (as ever). This one is by far the best and will make you desparate to read the fourth installment in the series. Meanwhile, i can only guess what the 4th will bring due to the introduction the the 5th gatekeeper, a girl, at the end of the book! Amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing book from Anthony Horowitz, 3 April 2007
This review is from: Nightrise (Power of Five book 3) (Paperback)
I have been waiting for the release date to post my review. I was lucky enough to aquire a copy a few weeks ago so already have read the book twice. Lol. Well, Nightrise is the tale of Jamie and Scott Tyler, TWO of the Five. They are twins.

Nightrise takes place a few weeks before the events in Evil Star, as is stated at the beginning of the book on the page THE STORY SO FAR.

Jamie and Scott are very different. Regretably, we do not see much of Scott in this book as he is kidnapped by the sinister Nightrise Corporation who are just as sinister as the synopsis of the book says. The book is set all across the world (Hong Kong, Peru and Nevada as well as many other places). It also takes you ack 10,000 years to what will become Lesser Malling to re-live the first fateful battle with the Old Ones. It is quite terrifying but written so amazingly you cannot stop.

Matt and Pedro as well as Richard do appear in Nightrise but only briefly.

We learn the names that the origional Five had and we also meet Horowitz's first EVER female heroin, Scarlet (or Scar for short). She is the last of the five. She is in about the last quarter of the book and not a lot is said aout her. Book Four, which is yet unnamed will revolve around Scar.

Nightrise is beautifully written. It is my favourite so far and I anticipate the fourth Power of Five book which, if Horowitz follows the trend, will be released this time next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ** Review written after reading entire series **, 5 Feb. 2014
It is a risky move to switch perspective midway through a series but Horowitz gets away with it for two reasons:

1) It has to be done as per the storyline
2) He does it in a way that doesn't feel forced

Stepping away from the adventures of Matt & Pedro, we now follow the twin brothers Scott and Jamie, the latter of which is the main protagonist as he attempts to save Scott.

We learn more about the responsibility and powers of the Gatekeepers, which I feel is long overdue in the series. I found Jamie to be a more realistic and relatable protagonist than Matt and personally would have preferred to have begun with this book due to it being one of the stronger of the series (in my opinion).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Horowitz cracker!, 6 Aug. 2007
By 
This review is from: Nightrise (Power of Five book 3) (Paperback)
When I first saw The Power of Five series I was surprised. Why should Horowitz begin another series when he was doing so well with the Alex Rider series? Here's why. The idea of magical kids with superpowers has been exploited many a time, most of the time these idea's turn out to be utter rubbish. But the thing with The Power of Five series is that is does have kids with superpowers, but it's written in a realistic way! It's almost as if you can picture a Scott and Jamie Tyler strolling down the street outside your house! The idea of kids with powers often ends up them saving the world in a heroic way, then being plastered on the front page of a newpaper under a headline like "A HERO WATCHING OVER US!". The kids in The Power of Five series have their powers for a reason and the ememy they face is of a mystical, terrible force. Nightrise is the third installment of The Power of Five series. Raven's Gate and Evil Star were both fantastic, but Nightrise is of another quality! I don't think Matt Freeman was sorely missed, yes he is a great charcater and will certainly be a major part in the remainder of the series but the fact that Horowitz repositioned the spotlight on two more of the five added something different to the book. Instead of sticking with Freeman, Horowitz let's you learn more about two more of the five, but without losing the plot of the story. This makes Nightrise exciting from the first letter to the end, I believe that it outstrips the previous two books and The Alex Rider series taboot! The only downside is that I'd have thought that there would have been more to the battle against the old ones in the past. However I'm glad it didn't drag on! If you enjoy gripping reads with a supernatural edge I'd recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 13 Nov. 2010
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nightrise (Power of Five book 3) (Paperback)
Anthony Horowitz's THE GATEKEEPERS series continues with NIGHTRISE. The Old Ones are still a threat to the safety of the world, and the five young gatekeepers are the only ones equipped to help.

Previously, Matt and Pedro were in Peru attempting to close the second gate. Their attempt failed and Matt was seriously injured. The adventure continues in a new location - Reno, Nevada. A small, rundown theater is hosting a performance called The Circus of the Mind. The featured act involves twins named Jamie and Scott. They amaze the audience by reading each others' minds. No one seems to know the secret of the trick. Actually, the secret is, there is no secret. They really do read minds and not just each others'.

Readers will soon guess that Jamie and Scott are the next two of the special "five." The problem is how will they learn about their responsibilities and how will they find out about the others. When the evil corporation, Nightrise, becomes involved, it is clear that the Old Ones' power still reaches around the world.

When Scott is kidnapped by Nightrise and taken to an isolated juvenile detention facility in the desert, Jamie begins his rescue attempt with the help of Alicia McGuire. She wants inside the prison as much as Jamie because she suspects her son has been kidnapped, as well. Nightrise seems to be making it a habit to kidnap teens with various "special" abilities. Could they be looking for the five young gatekeepers?

Horowitz thrills readers with kidnapping, adventures in the present day world, a world 10,000 years in the past, and the dream world Matt became familiar with in the first books. There are shape-changers, fire-riders, and mutilated humans to be battled. Some might find the story filled with twists and turns a bit confusing, but fans of the earlier books will be pleased with the surprises Horowitz has hidden in this new episode. The "to be continued..." ending promises even more surprises to come.

Reviewed by: Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 25 May 2009
This review is from: Nightrise (Power of Five book 3) (Paperback)
The third in Horowitz's Power of Five series sees the action move to Nevada where Scott and Jamie Tyler perform a mind-reading act to bored casino audiences. Only their act is real and one night they are ambushed by two mysterious men who kidnap Scott and frame Jamie for murder. Jamie escapes with the help of Alicia McGuire, a former aide to Presidential nominee Senator John Trelawney who has been searching for her son, Danny. Together they discover that children all over the country have been disappearing - children with strange abilities - and all roads lead back to the sinister Nightrise Corporation. To find Scott, Jamie must go undercover into a youth detention centre that's run by Nightrise. Doing so will place Jamie in terrible danger, danger that that will send him back 10,000 and put him in the middle of the first fight between the Gatekeepers and the Old Ones.

This is a terrifically paced read, full of thrills, fights and perilous situations. Horowitz does well to convey Jamie's confusion at what is happening to him and his fear of his extraordinary ability and Jamie grows from being in need of his brother's protection to becoming his brother's protector. There's a strong political backdrop to events, with Trelawney's Presidential campaign likely to draw a wry smile from adults. Horowitz also throws in some scenes from the side of the Old Ones, helping to flesh out what is happening among their supporters.

There is very much a sense of story strands coming together in this novel and Horowitz ends his tale with a teaser that will leave readers desperate to read the next in the series. This is a deeply enjoyable series with a strong fantasy element and I look forward to finding out what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nightrise (Power of Five book 3)
Nightrise (Power of Five book 3) by Anthony Horowitz (Paperback - 2 April 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews