Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story with outstanding illustrations
This book is a literary and visual gem. It deals with a young child's imagination as he ventures into the forest to face his fears. Anthony Browne creates a book literally crammed full of enchantment. The illustrations are extraordinary - if you look very carefully in every picture, you will find a haunting remnant from a fairytale - three bears creeping through the...
Published on 10 Mar. 2008 by J. Rowsome

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
A good way to help explain if a grand parent may be sick or if daddy is away from home for a while. Some characters have angry and sad faces which led to a great discussion on feelings.
Published on 10 Dec. 2010 by T. Wood


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story with outstanding illustrations, 10 Mar. 2008
By 
J. Rowsome (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into the Forest (Paperback)
This book is a literary and visual gem. It deals with a young child's imagination as he ventures into the forest to face his fears. Anthony Browne creates a book literally crammed full of enchantment. The illustrations are extraordinary - if you look very carefully in every picture, you will find a haunting remnant from a fairytale - three bears creeping through the woods, an axe stuck in a tree, Cinderella's lost slipper... Combining all the traditional forest fairytales (Little Red Riding Hood, Goldilocks, Hansel & Gretel, The Three Little Pigs) with Jack & the Beanstalk, Snow White, Rapunzel, Sleeping Beauty and Cinderella, the book is eerie and sinister, but a happy ending awaits the reader. This book is well written and beautifully illustrated. As a teacher, I feel that this story should be shared with as many children as possible for its thematic content and enchanting illustrations (and the adults will fall in love with it too!) Very highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't panic!, 18 Sept. 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Forest (Paperback)
Into The Forest is the beautifully and imaginatively illustrated story of a boy who's upset by his father's absence, and is then given a cake by his mother to deliver to his grandmother.

Our hero decides to take the short cut through the forest where he encounters various fairy-tale characters who want him to give them his yummy cake. He, however, is determined to give the cake to his grandmother, and all ends as it should. It's worth mentioning that he's shown in full colour, whilst the forest and its fairy-tale characters are all black and white, apart from a red cape which he dons with interesting results.

It's ironic (or perhaps not) that a book about dealing with anxiety should generate so much anxiety, starting with this parent - I find the book rather more scary than my four-year old, who cruises through it with great pleasure, happily finding the characters hidden in the forest illustrations.

I think that children have their own fears, which Anthony Browne understands well. These do not include worrying about whether the father's absence is properly explained (I'd say it's there in the book) or whether the book's suitable for children (I'd say it shows that being worried about something doesn't mean that you have to give in to fairy-tale anxieties).

My advice - lose yourself in this forest of brilliant story-telling and intriguing illustration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Review by 4MD, Ludlow Junior School, 28 Jun. 2010
By 
M. Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into the Forest (Paperback)
4MD have been reading this book as part of their Literacy lessons. They found that the build up of tension towards the end of the story made it more exciting. One child did wonder what the point of the opening page was as it added nothing to the rest of the story. Almost all of the children loved the illustrations and the contrast of colour against black and white.
Another child felt it was easy to read so everyone could access it. The class would recommend the story to others who are a little bit younger, but may need it to be read to them.
Most of the children would want to read more books by Anthony Browne in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful and Intelligent!, 9 Mar. 2009
By 
Miss K (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Forest (Paperback)
This is a great multi-layered book for children. The first time I flicked through it, I got the Little Red Riding Hood reference but looking more closely at the pictures, I realized there was so much more to the book than just being a modern twist to a classic fairy tale.

This book is really clever - the pictures in the forest are rich in detail and great for little minds to explore. To really understand the fairy tale references, the child you're buying this for will need to be aware of fairy tale stories like Goldilocks and the Three Bears, Hansel and Gretel etc - it's a fantastic book that encourages discussion and sharing of ideas. Any literature that is enjoyable to read and gets young children thinking in this kind of multi-layered way is going to get a high rating from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Familiar fairy-tale themes given a contemporary treatment, 22 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Into the Forest (Paperback)
As other reviews have stated, the illustrations alone justify picking up this book, revealing new details with each reading. It is classic detective fiction and our children love spotting the clues.

But the real brilliance is the modern use of old fairy tales. Most traditional tales deal with children's fears, very often fears to do with their parents or family stability, whether trying to cope in their absence (Red Riding Hood), mistreatment at their hands (Hansel and Gretl, Cinderella), poverty (Jack and the Beanstalk) etc.

In this version, the tale begins with a storm and the sudden disappearance of one parent. As anyone who can remember the fears that accompanied childhood, the worst thing was the not knowing, the gaps that could only be filled by wild imaginings. The rest of the story is full of such gaps and the real success of this story is that it doesn't offer obvious, simplistic answers. Rather, it allows children the room to fill in the gaps, gently spook themselves and then revel in a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Gem, 28 May 2008
By 
L. Perkinson "Book Lover" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Forest (Paperback)
My two year old just adores Anthony Browne's books and this is a special favourite with the wonderful illustrations which are so detailed and intricate. A visual gem.

The story definitely has a dark and almost scary feeling to it but he just revels in finding all the different things hidden in the forest. Each time we open the book there is another just waiting to be found.

Another masterpiece and an introduction to the wonderful subtly of black and white images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 10 Dec. 2010
By 
T. Wood "CBGB" (Geordie Land) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into the Forest (Paperback)
A good way to help explain if a grand parent may be sick or if daddy is away from home for a while. Some characters have angry and sad faces which led to a great discussion on feelings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars beautiful illustrations but my son did not like the story, 24 Oct. 2009
By 
light (brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Forest (Paperback)
I really like Anthony Browne books. The illustrations are always beautiful and quirky with lots to talk about. However my son (5 years old) absolutely hated this book. We read it once and he never opened it again - he said he did not like it, it was too nasty and made him feel sad. The story is a twist on Red Riding Hood - a boy delivers the basket of goodies instead and the story follows his progress through the forest. The pictures are a bit threatening - strange configurations of trees with hidden pictures in the bark - quite a dark,brooding feel to the book. Not a success for us - it lacked the humour of piggybook and willy etc. Perhaps an older child would find it interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 23 Jun. 2011
By 
The Superheroes in Year One (St. Mary's CE Primary School, Cadishead, Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Into the Forest (Paperback)
This book is wonderful because the boy's dad was at his Grandmas and he was taking a cake. I love this book because it was fantastic when he kept on seeing children. This book is amusing because it has different bits of fairy tales in it.

Year Two St. Mary's CE Primary School, Cadishead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal story, 24 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Into the Forest (Paperback)
I bought this book after reading the reviews for it. It was for a friend of mine to read to a group of children at an interview. It was ideal as it kept them wanting more and was an opportunity to relive traditional stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into the Forest
Into the Forest by Anthony Browne (Paperback - 5 Sept. 2005)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews