Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
49
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2000
second of a series of 3, this book covers the subjects of being alone, hiding and adventure as well as showing that parents can be wrong. it sounds very dark from this description but is somehow quite the reverse. this is enjoyed by both my 2 year old son and 5 year daughter, who is often to be found asleep with this or 'where's my teddy' still in her hands. dont't buy just this book, buy all 3!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 21 September 2015
In the first Bear story, Eddy and Bear accidentally swapped teddies, then ran away from each other scared. In this second adventure, Eddy's on a picnic with his mum, and left alone - he is scared the bear will come back and eat him!

Well, he does return... but he's not interested in eating Eddy...

The anticipation is good as readers see the hidden Eddy, the hungry bear... and later the mum who doesn't believe there are big bears in the woods... With a funny ending, I would want to quickly follow this up with My Friend Bear, the next in the series as Eddy and Bear learn they don't need to be scared of each other but could be close friends.

The rhymes are fun to read, though do need a small amount of practice to get the scheme right. I love Alborough's tubby bear and scared Eddy, the illustrations of the wood scenes are wonderful and full of humour and funny facial expressions.

Great series, my son has had these read to him for the last couple of years and he always hugs his own teddies and joins in.

One for ages 2-5.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2015
This, along with the 2 sequels "Where's My Teddy?", form a short trilogy that young readers will love; firstly being read to, then reading it themselves. The illustrations are excellent and the rhyming text a good vehicle for literacy work. I used the three when teaching and now buy them as gifts. It's a shame the original covers have been changed (Why?) and not quite so 'pickupable' but they're still must haves!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2001
.
Eddy and Mum are off for a picnic in the forest, but Eddy's heard about the big bear that lives there. Mum assures him there's no bears around.
When all the picnic things are laid out Mum realises she's forgotten the blueberry pie and has to go home to get it.
Eddy is frightened and when he hears a voice say, "I can smell food" he decides to hide in the hamper.
Out of the woods came a big hungry bear (holding his own teddy!) and sits on the hamper to eat the picnic. After eating all the food he looks inside the hamper --- Eddy yells out for help.
Mum arrives and doesn't see the bear at first. Then he snatches the blueberry pie.
Of course our bear is harmless. A blueberry pie was the perfect desert after a picnic. It's just what he wanted. YUM YUM.
The illustrations in this book are fantastic. The large format works well, with each page varying in its layout. There's a mixture of frames; some laid out horizontally, others vertically on one page, or full panels on another. It's a very effective way to measure the pace and suspense of the story.
"It's the Bear!" is sure to become a classic. Look out for other Jez Alborough books.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
Great book. ...just love this story..
Bought for great nephew who was 5months at the time but it's good to start with books early!! Arrived in in good in good time in good time and in good time and was well wrapped.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
I love this book. Jez Alborough books are an absolute pleasure to read out loud. They're as funny for adults as for kids and the pics are wonderful. Where's my teddy is my favourite but this is great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
We love this book. It's one of the best children's books out there... although beware that it may frighten some fear-prone children (it's not a scary book - we have a very timid niece who was frightened by the whole bear concept, but our daughter loved it from the age of 2!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 December 2015
This is a lovely pre-school book for children. It is quite a large format so easy for an adult & child to read together. The pictures are bright, simple & eyecatching to help to hold a child's attention. This is not a long story with just a few words per page so the action moves along quite quickly. The words rhyme so can be read with a nice rhythm.

The story itself deals with 2 important childhood issues - being alone & adults being wrong. Eddy tells Mum about the bear but she doesn't believe him & leaves him alone for a few minutes in the wood. Later when Mum comes face to face with the bear you can see that she was wrong. This is a good book to start a conversation about fears, being alone & adults being wrong. Useful if those are issues you wish to discuss with your child or group.

All in all this is a bright, fun book. It is one of a series of 3 books about Eddy & his teddy meeting the bear & his teddy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
A fun, funny book, lovely story, told in rhyme. Kids love having it read to them and I love reading it to them. There are 2 more in the series, It's The Bear and My Friend Bear, both of which are every bit as enjoyable as this one. I read these books to my sons 10 years ago and I've just read them to my friend's daughter and they're still as fresh as the first time. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2007
Large paperback format, 32 pages in the popular `two-page spread' rhyming format.
Superbly illustrated throughout.

A superbly funny story, `even when Mum forgets the blueberry pie and pops back to get it....
Meanwhile....

`The bear munched
and he crunched
he chomped
and he chewed,
and greedily gobbled up
all of the food.

"Now what's for dessert?"
said the bear.
"Let me see...."
"Oh, please,"
whimpered Eddy,
"don't let it be me....."

Guaranteed to be a popular choice from the bookshelf, time and time again!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.