Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a book that's fun for parents, and children too
second of a series of 3, this book covers the subjects of being alone, hiding and adventure as well as showing that parents can be wrong. it sounds very dark from this description but is somehow quite the reverse. this is enjoyed by both my 2 year old son and 5 year daughter, who is often to be found asleep with this or 'where's my teddy' still in her hands. dont't buy...
Published on 7 Jun. 2000

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where's my Book?
I have yet to receive my Book It's the Bear. Have emailed and not had a reply.
Published on 5 Oct. 2009 by Mrs. D. Holmes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a book that's fun for parents, and children too, 7 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: It's the Bear! (Paperback)
second of a series of 3, this book covers the subjects of being alone, hiding and adventure as well as showing that parents can be wrong. it sounds very dark from this description but is somehow quite the reverse. this is enjoyed by both my 2 year old son and 5 year daughter, who is often to be found asleep with this or 'where's my teddy' still in her hands. dont't buy just this book, buy all 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another hilarious hit for Jez Alborough fans, 30 Dec. 2007
This review is from: It's the Bear! (Paperback)
Large paperback format, 32 pages in the popular `two-page spread' rhyming format.
Superbly illustrated throughout.

A superbly funny story, `even when Mum forgets the blueberry pie and pops back to get it....
Meanwhile....

`The bear munched
and he crunched
he chomped
and he chewed,
and greedily gobbled up
all of the food.

"Now what's for dessert?"
said the bear.
"Let me see...."
"Oh, please,"
whimpered Eddy,
"don't let it be me....."

Guaranteed to be a popular choice from the bookshelf, time and time again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEARS LOVE BLUEBERRY PIE FOR DESERT, 31 Jan. 2001
This review is from: It's the Bear! (Paperback)
.
Eddy and Mum are off for a picnic in the forest, but Eddy's heard about the big bear that lives there. Mum assures him there's no bears around.
When all the picnic things are laid out Mum realises she's forgotten the blueberry pie and has to go home to get it.
Eddy is frightened and when he hears a voice say, "I can smell food" he decides to hide in the hamper.
Out of the woods came a big hungry bear (holding his own teddy!) and sits on the hamper to eat the picnic. After eating all the food he looks inside the hamper --- Eddy yells out for help.
Mum arrives and doesn't see the bear at first. Then he snatches the blueberry pie.
Of course our bear is harmless. A blueberry pie was the perfect desert after a picnic. It's just what he wanted. YUM YUM.
The illustrations in this book are fantastic. The large format works well, with each page varying in its layout. There's a mixture of frames; some laid out horizontally, others vertically on one page, or full panels on another. It's a very effective way to measure the pace and suspense of the story.
"It's the Bear!" is sure to become a classic. Look out for other Jez Alborough books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book for parents to read and children to hear., 23 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: It's the Bear! (Paperback)
This book moves at a wonderful pace with tumpty tah rythm which all young children love. My son is just 5 and I have read this book several hundred times since he was 2.5 and now he loves to read it to his little brother who is 13 months old. If you want a fun book to read, this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for encouraging reading with children., 26 Oct. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: It's the Bear! (Paperback)
Makes reading fun for young children. Encourages them to follow the words and use their imagination by thinking where the bear is hiding. It's a funny story that young children understand and they can "be the Bear".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book for youngsters!, 4 Dec. 2009
By 
W. Fuller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's the Bear! (Paperback)
I gave this book out of the series to my nephew, and he loved it. He was 1 when I gave it to him and he still loves it. Big pages, big pictures and a happy tale that will warm anybodys heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect reading aloud book, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's the Bear! (Paperback)
A fun, funny book, lovely story, told in rhyme. Kids love having it read to them and I love reading it to them. There are 2 more in the series, It's The Bear and My Friend Bear, both of which are every bit as enjoyable as this one. I read these books to my sons 10 years ago and I've just read them to my friend's daughter and they're still as fresh as the first time. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's the Bear! (Paperback)
We love this book. It's one of the best children's books out there... although beware that it may frighten some fear-prone children (it's not a scary book - we have a very timid niece who was frightened by the whole bear concept, but our daughter loved it from the age of 2!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasure to read aloud, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's the Bear! (Paperback)
I love this book. Jez Alborough books are an absolute pleasure to read out loud. They're as funny for adults as for kids and the pics are wonderful. Where's my teddy is my favourite but this is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely rhyming reads !, 28 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's the Bear! (Paperback)
My three boys aged between four and six years absolutely love this book. It is an ideal length to engage the children on a rainy afternoon or as a bedtime story and is beautifully illustrated too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's the Bear!
It's the Bear! by Jez Alborough (Paperback - 6 Dec. 2004)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews