Customer Reviews
Ish


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple book for aspiring artists of all ages., 8 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Ish (Paperback)
An unusual, simple story about a little boy Ramon who loves to draw but is laughed at by his brother "What's that?" and then no longer wants to try. He gives up but then learns the art of drawing "ish" that when it comes to drawing he doesn't have to worry about getting it just right. It's a great tale relayed simply in a relatively small number of words with amusing black and white line drawings with a coloured wash. Lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really nice, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ish (Paperback)
The illustrations of this book are so lovely and its a great idea for a book too. The boy loves to draw but doesn't think hes good at it after his brother teases him. His sister shows him how much she likes his pictures even if they only look like something-ish. Its a great moral for kids to learn they don't need to be perfect at something to be good at it and enjoy it. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nothing "ish" about this story - it's excellent, 8 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ish (Paperback)
Peter H Reynolds first captured my attention with The Dot where he simply exposed the fear of being creative and how that holds so many children (and adults) back in a story that is so lovely and simple - and I thought he couldn't repeat that but with ISH he has examined the next aspect of hurdles to creativity - the worry that it's not good enough. Again he has captured me and I find myself applauding his gift. Please don't think these books are at all "worthy" they are gorgeous books on their own - but their messages make them a special gift indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I could put this in the hands of every child., 7 Feb. 2012
By 
Steven R. McEvoy "MCWPP" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ish (Hardcover)
This was one of the first books by Peter H. Reynolds that I ever read. And with each book I appreciate his writing and illustrations more. But this will always be one of my favorites, and a book I believe every child should read! The story is amazing and the illustrations wonderful. It will encourage children to try new things, and to keep at them even if they are not good from the start. They can do it sort of 'ish' and that is good enough. This is one of the best children's books I have ever read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ish (Paperback)
Really good for PSED - self esteem and self confidence run throug this lovely story of sibling support and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great thinking book, 5 May 2013
By 
J. Chahal - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ish (Paperback)
Peter Reynolds has a great ability to write fun books that set children and adults alike thinking. ish is great for getting children to think how do they treat others, and their abilities.Like Dot it encourages artists to find their passion and enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, simple and a very good story, 1 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ish (Paperback)
Could have a better paper and more accurate printing, sometimes black is greyish. As to the content, I rate it 5 stars! Stong movement, nice colouring, simple and easy understanding text. Another Peter Reynolds good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All I can say is that I love this book - the drawings and the storyline, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ish (Paperback)
I bought this book based on a work contact's recommendation. He has young children and said it is one of their favourites. All I can say is that I love this book - the drawings and the storyline. It is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely message, 20 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Ish (Paperback)
I loved this book as much as my son did... a positive message to any child who's ever had his or her work scoffed at. Nice, simple and poignant text and pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Encourages creativity, 29 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ish (Paperback)
Fantastic eye-opener for young children, and encourages children and adults alike to pursue their artistic impulses without being inhibited by what others think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ish
Ish by Peter H. Reynolds (Paperback - 5 Sept. 2005)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews