Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Sequel to Storm Breaker
I am reading the Alex Rider series with a boy at school who has a high level of comprehension but needs practice with fluency. Up until we discovered these books he was 'bored' by reading, but Anthony Horowitz has turned all that round and he is now eating up these novels. He finished the first in the series last week and has now started on this, the sequel. I am...
Published on 6 Mar. 2013 by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dan Brown for children
Sprawling and signposted. The disappointing thing about Point Blanc is that any clue that is planted is then revealed within a handful of pages. There's no great structure, just a sprawling story that lurches from one incident to the next. For a hundred or so pages Alex gets stuck with a rich family and learns to ride horses. Surely, we think, there must be some sort of...
Published on 6 Jan. 2010 by Madaboutbooks


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Sequel to Storm Breaker, 6 Mar. 2013
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Point Blanc (Alex Rider) (Paperback)
I am reading the Alex Rider series with a boy at school who has a high level of comprehension but needs practice with fluency. Up until we discovered these books he was 'bored' by reading, but Anthony Horowitz has turned all that round and he is now eating up these novels. He finished the first in the series last week and has now started on this, the sequel. I am delighted both with him, and with the books. Horowitz has found the key. He writes fast paced, adventurous books which skip a lot of the detail that children struggle with. Each chapter is pithy and concise and exciting, and there is plenty of action right from the get go. In fact, this book has a much, much more gripping start that Storm Breaker and the opening sequence is fantastic fun. I highly recommend these for children aged about ten and up, particularly boys who may be otherwise struggling with literacy, although girls who like a good adventure story would be sorry to miss these. The content is quite graphic and the adventures quite blood thirsty, so if you're going to offer them to a younger age group you need to be sure they can handle the material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary but good, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Point Blanc (Alex Rider) (Paperback)
My son loves the Alex Rider books but said this one was the scariest so far. He still read it and loved it though! Great for 11+ readers and particularly getting boys to read. Just be sure to check the content if your kids are a bit on the nervous side as these books do involve a "james bond" style character getting into dangerous situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book briliance, 22 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Point Blanc (Alex Rider) (Paperback)
Since MI6 were exceedingly impressed with Alex's first mission, they decided to send him on a dangerous mission high in the Alps, Alex Rider, MI6 spy, is sent on his second mission to spy on the point blank academy, which makes for an action packed adventure.

I read in bed before going to sleep, I used to get disappointed when I had to put the book down and had to go to sleep.
I was upset when I finished Point Blanc because I enjoyed it so much.

Out of both books, this one and Stormbreker, Point Blanc was the better, because there was more suspense, mystery and action.
I look forward with great pleasure to reading more of Anthony Horowitz books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous book, 14 July 2013
This review is from: Point Blanc (Alex Rider) (Paperback)
Point Blanc is a fantastic graphic novel. It is about a audacious boy called Alex Rider, a teenage super-spy. He works for MI6 and is sent to Point Blanc Academy. He find outs out some secrets about the academy. The enigmatic but evil Dr Grief is trying to destroy the world; he is close to succeeding! Can Alex alert the world before it is too late?

I really liked the humour in the book, for example when the evil clone shot at the gas pipe and killed himself in the process!

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone, especially people with a good sense of humour. I can't wait till the next book comes out - I hope it's as good as this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Point blanc, 26 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Point Blanc (Alex Rider) (Paperback)
This is a great book it is the book after “Stormbreaker”. P.B is about Alex Rider who is 14 years old and both of his parents are dead and he was living with his uncle but he dies. When his uncle dies Alex soon finds out that his uncle was a MI6 agent and died on a mission. All Alex’s life he has been lied to because he has been being trained up to be a spy but he didn’t know this. He is good at rock-climbing, scuba diving, karate, skiing/ snowboarding and is a fit athlete. Alex goes on a mission to a school at France the school is designed for badly behaved rich kids. When he is there he finds out that the rich kids are being cloned so he has to rescue them and doing so he nearly gets killed. This book is very exciting and I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes! Yes! Yes!, 22 Aug. 2006
This review is from: Point Blanc (Alex Rider) (Paperback)
This is an amazing book which takes the power and excitement of Stormbreaker to another level because there is no need to spend time setting things up. Not that the setting up was dull, it's just that in this book we already know the character and the situation so the book can get on with the mission.

The cold mountain setting means Alex Rider is more isolated and there is plenty of scope for different types of action - like how he gets down a mountain very very fast. This book also contains one of the best villains in any of the Alex Rider books and some truly chilling scenes when you realise what he's doing to the kids... I won't give away anything more.

This is a great book, probably one of the best Alex Rider books except they're all amazing.

I also recommend Joe Craig's books, called the Jimmy Coates Series, and Robert Muchamore's Cherub series. Those and Alex Rider are the three best action book series.

So READ THIS BOOK!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 2 of the amazing Alex Rider, 22 Aug. 2006
This review is from: Point Blanc (Alex Rider) (Paperback)
This is a sequel that is probably even better than the original. Stormbreakeris one of the best childrens books ever, but Point Blanc is more sinister and creepy. The writing is excellent as always and the action is brilliant. Robert Muchamore and Joe Craig are also writing excellent action books of the same type now but Anthony Horowitz was first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best in the series, 15 July 2012
This review is from: Point Blanc (Alex Rider) (Paperback)
This book is certainly one of the best in the whole series, what I like best about it is that you think you have the whole book figured out but you only have part of it figured out. I must admit there are certain pages where I read more than once VOLUNTARILY because it was so intoxicating. If you are thinking of buying this book don't think twice... JUST BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My 1st book reviewed, 4 July 2012
This review is from: Point Blanc (Alex Rider) (Paperback)
At first the book had quite a few turns and took quite a lot of time to understand what was happening. Further through the book it made more sense and started to get smoother through the book. Further through, it got tenser and you could not stop to read the next bit. At the end I wanted to read the story again as it was very tense and I could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Stormbreaker - some fascinating storylines, 17 July 2007
This review is from: Point Blanc (Alex Rider) (Paperback)
Point Blanc is certainly not what I'd call an average book, mainly because of it's fluently descriptive text. Not only that, it is informative and Anthony Horowitz never leaves you wondering how something happened ... it's all explained clearly and with wit.

Alex Rider's second mission from Alan Blunt & Co. is to pretend to be rebel Alex Friend, whose sister is one Fiona Friend, and is transported to Point Blanc, an academy for spoilt and rich kids, high in the Alps. Alex Friend (A.R.) discovers not only that this is an eerily strange school, but that Dr. Hugo Grief is performing cloning acts on the students and dormitories.

Everything about this book makes you want to find out what happens next, with most of the text being action packed. There are no properly boring scenes, but some of the chapters take a longer while to dip into than others.
I have to admit that I couldn't put this book down once I had started reading it, and that's a promise. At points it's just such a good read that you're superglued, or you could argue 'sticky-tacked', to the pages wanting to find out what happens, and you end up (not knowing) reading the book for about two hours.

This is a fantastic book, as is the rest of the A.R. series - it more than deserves a clean five star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Point Blanc (Alex Rider)
Point Blanc (Alex Rider) by Anthony Horowitz (Paperback - 1 April 2005)
£6.99
Usually dispatched within 6 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews