Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thought that sequels were usually worse than their prequel
When i first read stormbreaker i read it in about half a day, i was addicted, i couldn't stop reading. When i finished i thought to myself that i probably wouldnt be gripped like that by a book in a long time to come. The next day, i bought Point Blanc and i found myself very mistaken. Point Blanc gripped me like a vice and i highly recommend it.
The book starts...
Published on 13 July 2002 by Emily

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Good story but make sure you check it is age appropriate for your children
I downloaded a sample to read to my 9 year old. This book would not have been simple enough for him to read himself but he was enjoying the sample with me reading it to him.

At the end of the sample he still had some reading time left so I downloaded the full book. 4 or so pages later AH introduced a character hanging around the school gates selling drugs. I...
Published 22 days ago by Ian Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thought that sequels were usually worse than their prequel, 13 July 2002
This review is from: Point Blanc (Paperback)
When i first read stormbreaker i read it in about half a day, i was addicted, i couldn't stop reading. When i finished i thought to myself that i probably wouldnt be gripped like that by a book in a long time to come. The next day, i bought Point Blanc and i found myself very mistaken. Point Blanc gripped me like a vice and i highly recommend it.
The book starts 2 weeks after Alex's first mission and to his surprise, M16 need him again, this time he is to go under cover to Point Blanc academy, an isolated bording school for rich rebel boys in the french Alps, to investigate two "accidental" deaths of rich men, both of whos son goes to Point Blanc academy. But can Alex figure out what's going on before it's too late?
Point Blanc is an excelent book that leaves you hanging and waiting for Alex's third adventure...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary but good, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Point Blanc (Alex Rider) (Paperback)
My son loves the Alex Rider books but said this one was the scariest so far. He still read it and loved it though! Great for 11+ readers and particularly getting boys to read. Just be sure to check the content if your kids are a bit on the nervous side as these books do involve a "james bond" style character getting into dangerous situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Talk about gripping!, 26 Jun 2004
This review is from: Point Blanc (Paperback)
This book is brilliant! On almost every page there is some kind of excitment or tension which makes this book so hard to put down! Several nights whilst reading I completely managed to ignore the time after straying into the book. You says to yourself "I'm going to stop at the end of this chapter" but there is such a cliff-hanger at the end of each chapter it is almost impossible to let go! A thoughrougly enjoyable and exciting book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Recommended, 3 Jan 2003
By 
In this book, the MI6 convinces Alex to help them again. Alex pretends to be the son of a very rich man named Sir David Friend, completely changing his appearance and attending a school called Point Blanc. The school is meant for misbehaved boys or problem children whose parents have the money. The deaths of two men are suspicious to the MI6, so it is Alex's job to investigate whether the deaths and the school are related. Strangely, the boys seem very different from normal kids, but they seem to have the same personalities and even look very slightly alike. If you liked Stormbreaker, you'll definitely like Point Blank, because it is filled with adventure and danger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 2 of the amazing Alex Rider, 22 Aug 2006
This review is from: Point Blanc (Alex Rider) (Paperback)
This is a sequel that is probably even better than the original. Stormbreakeris one of the best childrens books ever, but Point Blanc is more sinister and creepy. The writing is excellent as always and the action is brilliant. Robert Muchamore and Joe Craig are also writing excellent action books of the same type now but Anthony Horowitz was first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Point Blanc, 29 Sep 2001
This review is from: Point Blanc (Paperback)
Super spy Alex Rider is back in the great book Point Blanc.
Alex is a spy for Alan Blunt (Head of special operations, MI6). Michael Roscoe has just died and so has Ivanov, both are super rich and both sons go to the boys finishing school called Point Blanc. Alex is to go to this school as Alex Friend son of Sir Friend who owns supermarkets. While at the school he makes a friend and suddenly he changes from a lazy boy to a work-loving boy.
Anthony Horowitz has done very well with writing this action packed and exciting book. My favourite part is when Alex escapes and then comes back with a SAS unit to rescue the boys held hostage in the school.
My favourite character is Wolf (this is his code name) who is the leader of the SAS unit, he is tactical but also a very good soldier.
I recommend this book to 7-14 year olds who like action and detective books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 21 Sep 2006
By 
Jack Comrie "Jack" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great book. I got it for going on holiday to portugal and ended up reading it on the plane their. It is a great book with evrything a boy could want in a book. It has adventure, puzzle and even a bit of horror. I would deffinitly recomend this book to anyone age eight and above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than Strombreaker!, 10 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Point Blanc (Paperback)
The lonely private school, Point Blanc, is not all it seems, as Alex Rider will soon find out...
I tried not to like him, I really did, but I couldn't help it.
Alex is such a cool character. He's determined, adventurous, brave, funny and extremely reckless- the perfect hero, and at just 14! I liked the way he dealed with Fiona at the end of his stay at her house. She had it coming, hehe...
Anthony Horowitz is THE best author when it comes to action and adventure stories, and Point Blanc just proves this once again. The book is loaded with danger and excitement, but....it ends on a cliff hanger! Dun dun DUN!! When's the next one coming out, Anthony?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Point brillant......., 22 Dec 2004
By 
Point Blanc is the second is the alex rider series and it is as just as good as the first one if not better. The book is well written and it is full of suspense, drama and of course, loadz spy stuff.
Alex Rider, tennage spy, is back and better than ever before. Two important people are killed in suspsious circumstances and they have one thing in common, their sons both go to Point Blanc. Point Blanc is a school set in the French Alps for boys to learn how to be gentlmen. To find out what is going out there, Alex poses as a rich man's son. Alex finds both friends and foes there, but what is really going on?
Point Blanc is a must read. It is thrilling and the plot is very good.. The book is well written and well put across.
I have read the entire series of Alex Rider and hope that Anthony Horowitz will write another one. They are very good. If you are an Alex Rider fan then READ THIS BOOK. IF you just want something to read then READ IT !!
Have fun reading!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absoloutely mindgripping!, 19 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Point Blanc (Paperback)
I couldn't believe the quality of this teenage spy book. Alex Rider is a teenage spy working for MI6. He has to go into the French Alps to find out info about the two - accidentall - deaths. All he has got is a fake identity and a few excellent gadgets supplied by MI6. The best bit, by far, is the one where he gets all the MI6 troops with him to take down Point Blanc Academy. In the end - he saves the hostages lives, kills the bad guys and saves the day. Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Point Blanc (Alex Rider)
Point Blanc (Alex Rider) by Anthony Horowitz (Paperback - 1 April 2005)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews