Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Motorcycle Race Engines: Expert Technical Analysis of the World's Great Power Units (Hardcover)
This book is a 'must read' for a true motorcycle enthusiast. It wasn't till i read it fully and spent time re-reading it that i realised how important this book is. Many years ago i began to listen to interviews with Jerry Burgess and wondered what he meant, upon reading Kevin's book i began to understand.The inclusion of Cosworth and reference to Curtis and Pratt and Whitney in this thesis are essential.If you truly want to know where inovation and genius dwell, read this book.Be it Vincent's cantilever swing arm or the adoption of harmonic expansion chambers in two strokes to the inevitable steep inclines to Cosworth valve angles this book has it all. Only recently when Valentino rejoined Yamaha did i have to listen to a Yamaha engineer re-qoute the myth of 'after the war we could not make airoplanes, so we built bikes. That is why we are the best.' If you read this book you will 'beg to differ.' In a world where myth becomes reality this book is a cognotive and lateral sensibility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Dec 2012
By 
M. Watkins "cbxmel" (North Wales.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Motorcycle Race Engines: Expert Technical Analysis of the World's Great Power Units (Hardcover)
This weighty tome by an author who knows his subect is a very interesting read. Excellent photographs with plenty of interesting facts and the chapter of the V8 Cosworth engine in relation to motorcycle engine development is an excellent read. Well worth adding to any motorcycle buffs library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dream book, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Motorcycle Race Engines: Expert Technical Analysis of the World's Great Power Units (Hardcover)
I only got this book on Christmas Eve so havent read it all and like Camerons book on the history of GP Motorbikes its excellent, although the layout is different to that book with a lot more text and a lot less artwork. Some of the photos could ve been a little clearer but thats my only gripe.

The book covers 53 bike engines ranging from the Guzzi singles of the 20s right up to Lorenzos 2011 Yamaha, but dont be put off if you have little interest in the older machines because all eras are well represented but as you would expect the writer concentrates on the post 60s explosion in technology. 28 of the 53 engines covered are either Ducati, Honda, Kawa, Suzuki or Yamaha but most everyone else that I can think of, bar BMW and Aprilia, has one or more engines covered.

I liked the little subheadings to each chapter which nicely summed up each engine. For example Kawaski H2-R 750 Triple.....it outgrew its cooling.
Honda NR500.....but we learned so much, or
Ducati 3- cam 125....reaching for unlimited revs.

The writing is great, clear and highly informative. You do of course need some background knowledge of engines to appreciate the main and the finer points but anyone interested in the book in the first place will follow it with no problems.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant a superb read, 14 Feb 2014
By 
C. M. H. Flood "Flood C" (Exeter Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Motorcycle Race Engines: Expert Technical Analysis of the World's Great Power Units (Hardcover)
After reading previous reviews I decided to purchase this book and I have not been disappointed, the way the author describes the engines and their characteristic's is so accurate as the first chapter I turned to was about the six cylinder Honda and in Kevin Cameron's words"anyone who has heard it being warmed up will never forget it, like a dog barking" I was fortunate enough to have experienced this when it was being ridden by the greatest Mike Hailwood and being used as it was meant to be used its neck being wrung to within a inch of its life, standing right behind it and being mesmerized by how instantly the revs rose and fell,( I still have the tinitus to prove it) Yes Kevin Cameron's writing captures this and the on going technical struggle takes place between manufacturers.
This is just one of the many vivid and highly descriptive chapters and do not do this book justice, in fact I have read this volume from cover to cover a number of times since it was delivered and am in the process of tracking down any other books written by the author
Whilst I have books that are more technical in their description of various engines and development nothing comes close to the highly readable sometimes humorous writing of Kevin Cameron
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good survey of important racing engines, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Motorcycle Race Engines: Expert Technical Analysis of the World's Great Power Units (Hardcover)
You get a very good overall review of engines of historic importance and a good explanation of the modern technology. But You don't get a detailed technical description of the engines. The technical data are scattered all over the text - no dimension and data tables - and there are very few drawings and photographs of the internals. Mostly You get only a photograph of the outside of the engine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Motorcycle Race Engines: Expert Technical Analysis of the World's Great Power Units (Hardcover)
Very interesting book .Written in quite technical language .I would have preferred the chapters to be in chronological order rather than alphabetical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone interested in motorcycle race engines, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Motorcycle Race Engines: Expert Technical Analysis of the World's Great Power Units (Hardcover)
Comprehensive volume covering motorcycle race engines, certainly a good read for anyone interested in this area of motorsport covering a wide range of manufacturers and racing eras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely interesting, entertaining and factual, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Motorcycle Race Engines: Expert Technical Analysis of the World's Great Power Units (Hardcover)
This is a great book and will remain a valued addition to my library.. books of this type and accuracy are rare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic motorcycle race engines, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Motorcycle Race Engines: Expert Technical Analysis of the World's Great Power Units (Hardcover)
ive always enjoyed Kevins books and this one is no exeption, but his obvious efforts to downplay the work of Walter Kaden and MZ left a bad taste in my mouth,
i think that most of us who where around through the late 50s early 60s will agree
that walters work brought two stoke technoligy out of the dark ages and made them
GP winners, he was clearly the first person to understand and utilise the resonant
exaust systym, had he had the resorces to obtain top quality matierials and hire
top riders they would certainly have won many world chamionships, Degners actions
in defecting to Suzuki not only gave them the knowledge to start building competitive bikes but also virtualy ended MZs GP hopes as they where hardly allowed out of the country afterwards, one only has to look at suzuki results before and after 1961 to find the truth.
You may have made Suzuki feel a little better about themselves Kevin, and i feel
that was the aim, but its wrong to try to change history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Motorcycle Race Engines: Expert Technical Analysis of the World's Great Power Units (Hardcover)
A most informative gift especially as a gift for a friend who is a motor bike fiend..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic Motorcycle Race Engines: Expert Technical Analysis of the World's Great Power Units
Used & New from: £24.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews