Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 747 Manual
I had eagerly awaited this title following its initial announcement earlier in the year. I have not been disappointed as it is a well presented and informative look at the 747. Considering its 40year history this book was never going to cover every variant in depth but Chris Wood has found a good balance and keeps the book readable whilst packing a a large amount of...
Published on 28 Sep 2012 by R Scopwick

versus
8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars avoid it like the plague
This is extremely ambitious, trying to cover all 747 makes from the -100 and -200 classics through the -400 to the -8.
For one small volume it's too much to expect and it shows.
Unless you never heard of the 747 you will learn nothing. Certainly nothing you could not have gleaned from using Google constructively.
After a long wait of almost a year between...
Published on 10 Sep 2012 by Gary J. Hunter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 747 Manual, 28 Sep 2012
This review is from: Boeing 747 Manual: An Insight into Owning, Flying and Maintaining the Iconic Jumbo Jet (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
I had eagerly awaited this title following its initial announcement earlier in the year. I have not been disappointed as it is a well presented and informative look at the 747. Considering its 40year history this book was never going to cover every variant in depth but Chris Wood has found a good balance and keeps the book readable whilst packing a a large amount of information into a relatively small 168 pages. The photographs have been well chosen and are relevant. I intend buying a couple more copies as Christmas presents and look forward to further titles by this author. How about a Boeing 707 Manual?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read giving a history of how the 747 was developed and a more in depth insight into its systems., 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boeing 747 Manual: An Insight into Owning, Flying and Maintaining the Iconic Jumbo Jet (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
I bought this book to bolster my limited knowledge of this aircraft type having recently been employed on Boeing 747, 767 & 777 maintenance. Whilst such a book is a 'tongue in cheek' attempt at letting aircraft enthusiasts and the wider public interested in this sort of book have access to more information, I have found it a useful to aid to increasing my knowledge more quickly. You cannot of course replace manufacturer's official maintenance manuals with this book or use it as reference material but it does give you a brief introduction into how the aircraft and its systems work. It is also a lot more interesting and informative than sitting at a computer reading a manual!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Read this with Joe Sutter's book, 16 Jun 2014
By 
Cloud watcher (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boeing 747 Manual: An Insight into Owning, Flying and Maintaining the Iconic Jumbo Jet (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
A very interesting book with highlights of every aspect of the 747 and a good companion to other 747 books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must if you are into aviation!, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boeing 747 Manual: An Insight into Owning, Flying and Maintaining the Iconic Jumbo Jet (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
16 year old son - wants to be an aero engineer. He's read it cover to cover - more than once! Well pitched and informative!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for curious kids, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boeing 747 Manual: An Insight into Owning, Flying and Maintaining the Iconic Jumbo Jet (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
I bought this for my godson who loves planes, trains and anything mechanical. It's aimed at adults and some if it is very technical as you'd expect but it's got some great pictures and diagrams and I'm a big believer in giving children books that challenge them. He's 9 but he absolutely loves it. Best thing he got for Christmas (I bet his mother is thrilled by that after she spent so much money on him)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very amusing, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boeing 747 Manual: An Insight into Owning, Flying and Maintaining the Iconic Jumbo Jet (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
Informative with lots of diagrams, line drawings and pictures.

Plane spotters and ex pilots will both like and enjoy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boeing 747 Manual: An Insight into Owning, Flying and Maintaining the Iconic Jumbo Jet (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
these books are really good, loads of pictures and information, they are fascinating. they are not actual workshop manuals for the aircraft as that would be like several telephone directories worth of information but they highlight some of the technical advances relevant to each aircraft in simple terms. I like these books so much that i've decided to start collecting them. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hubby loved it, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boeing 747 Manual: An Insight into Owning, Flying and Maintaining the Iconic Jumbo Jet (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
Not my sort of thing, but my husband loved this along with all the other 'Haynes' books that he has - one for the enthusiast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boeing 747, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boeing 747 Manual: An Insight into Owning, Flying and Maintaining the Iconic Jumbo Jet (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
Hubby can't put this one down!!!
He said it was the best Xmas present he had.
Highly recommendable. :0) x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars impressive, 21 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boeing 747 Manual: An Insight into Owning, Flying and Maintaining the Iconic Jumbo Jet (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
almost every detail I want to know. shame it's mostly on the -400 though, hardly anything about the all new 747-8 :/

still an amazing book. I suggest a buy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews