Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book! Almost perfect., 12 Feb. 2010
This review is from: When Football Was Football: Spurs: A Nostalgic Look at a Century of the Club (Hardcover)
Great Spurs book. Packed full of great photos and good commentary from Adam Powley. I spotted the odd mistake, like referring to Les Medley as an inside-left, when he always played at outside-left and saying the club's 1967 FA Cup post-match reception was at the Hilton, when it was at the Savoy (Morris Keston's was at the Hilton), but apart from that top notch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glory, Glory!, 24 Nov. 2009
This review is from: When Football Was Football: Spurs: A Nostalgic Look at a Century of the Club (Hardcover)
Brilliant. I picked up a copy the other week and if, like me, you loved football in the `good old days' then this is right up your street. It's full of great photographs, stories and info about proper players and games, and there's plenty on the fans down the years as well as well as stuff behind the scenes. There are some fantastic shots of the European games, the Double side and the 1980s - my favourite era when Spurs were one of the most successful sides in the country, not just the top club in London. I still enjoy football now but it's not a patch on what it used to be and this book is a superb reminder of the glory days for Spurs and football in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Spurs book for years, 9 Dec. 2009
By 
J. Duggan (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When Football Was Football: Spurs: A Nostalgic Look at a Century of the Club (Hardcover)
This book is just astonishingly good.
A real pager turner with plenty of surprises and lots of new images and will surely be up there with the classic Spurs books in time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars he loved it, 18 Oct. 2011
This review is from: When Football Was Football: Spurs: A Nostalgic Look at a Century of the Club (Hardcover)
bought this last month for father in laws birthday best present iv bought him as a big spurs fan wanted to get him something different well he loves it and had even got the wife nagging to put it down for 5mins , prompt delivery and fair price , the detail in the book is amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calling All Spurs Fans, 27 July 2010
By 
Mr. C. Bravey "Referee" (Reading UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Football Was Football: Spurs: A Nostalgic Look at a Century of the Club (Hardcover)
Being a member of the older generation of Spurs fans (almost 50 years), I think you can never have enough history of the Club you love. This book brings it all back and I was pleasantly surprised to see many photos which I had not seen before. If I had any regrets, it was that it was not long enough. A pleasant sunny afternoon in the garden was all it took but rest assured, it will be read again (and again). Well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haynes Spurs football book, 20 Jan. 2010
By 
Barks (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When Football Was Football: Spurs: A Nostalgic Look at a Century of the Club (Hardcover)
I bought this for an older neighbour who is a Spurs fan - he was thoroughly pleased with it. Good book with lots of quality photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When Football Was Football: Spurs: A Nostalgic Look at a Century of the Club, 10 Jan. 2012
This review is from: When Football Was Football: Spurs: A Nostalgic Look at a Century of the Club (Hardcover)
Brought this for my Grandson, a big Spurs fan, for Christmas and he really enjoyed it. I also found it a nice walk down memory lane remembering all the players that have graced the white shirt over the years. Does need updating as it stops around the mid 90's, but a really good present for any Spurs fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great present, 27 Feb. 2011
By 
Ms. E. E. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When Football Was Football: Spurs: A Nostalgic Look at a Century of the Club (Hardcover)
I brought this for my dad's 60th Birthday which is in March so he hasn't had it yet. I really hope he enjoys reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Football Was Football: Spurs: A Nostalgic Look at a Century of the Club (Hardcover)
Bought for a Spurs fan who loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Football Was Football: Spurs: A Nostalgic Look at a Century of the Club (Hardcover)
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When Football Was Football: Spurs: A Nostalgic Look at a Century of the Club
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews