Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haynes Enterprise Manual
Okay, let's get it out of the way: this is not a 'workshop manual' in the style of the traditional Haynes car manuals. It's full of colour artwork, background info and technical descriptions of what's inside each Enterprise and how certain things work (such as impulse engines, warp engines and transporters). Also, and perhaps rather obviously, it is not based on a...
Published on 3 Nov 2010 by DR

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Enterprise Service Manual review
This certainly does not boldly go where no man has gone before.This is basically a rehash of the Star Trek Fact Files section on the Enterprise.Not surprisingly as the same people were involved in both productions.Even the style has been copied across,it doesn't even look like a Haynes manual except for the cover.
It is not as good as other books on this subject...
Published on 6 Dec 2010 by Ringer


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Just amazing, 10 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: U.S.S. Enterprise Manual (Haynes Owners Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
We bought this for a laugh for my son for xmas and although we had a good giggle about the fact you could get a Haynes manual for the USS Enterprise. The usual things to my son "I want an Enterprise built by the new year, etc" The book is very well presented and well written and a must have for all Trekkies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fix this ship, 20 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. R. Wolfe "U.N.E.D.O" (RUTLAND UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: U.S.S. Enterprise Manual (Haynes Owners Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
What a great book all those questions you wonderd if your into star trek want to change a fuse on the warp core well get this book boldley going foreward as unable to find reverse well you can now great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal Present, 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: U.S.S. Enterprise Manual (Haynes Owners Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
Was bought as a present went down very well with the "trekie" even though he says he is not one. Has info he didnt know which suprised me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun!, 21 Jan 2011
By 
Roy (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: U.S.S. Enterprise Manual (Haynes Owners Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
OK so none of it is real but if you enjoy Star-trek and want a bit of fun reading up on the Enterprise and its technical variations then this is the book for you. Not to be taken too seriously!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enthusiastically received stocking filler, 13 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: U.S.S. Enterprise Manual (Haynes Owners Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
I bought this for my son (he is over 20) at Christmas as a stocking fillerand he was over the moon with it.

The illustrations and the way that the book is put together with the chronological development of the "Enterprise" is great.

The explanation of the principles of the"warp drive" engine and the development of the weapons systems were really interesting. The book is a must, for potential Star fleet recruits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Treccys delight, 6 Jan 2011
By 
A. D. Manton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: U.S.S. Enterprise Manual (Haynes Owners Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
This was a phesent for a treccy fan who has everything. He had not seen it before and was delghted with it, proclaiming, "this is a keeper". Job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very fun and infomative, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: U.S.S. Enterprise Manual (Haynes Owners Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
Very informative and engaging. Amazing amount of research and obvious love has gone into this publication. Easy to follow and concise information. A must for any serious fan of any of the Star Trek films or television series. Note that this book does not give information on Deep Space 9 or the Voyager spaceship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enterprise in detail, 4 Dec 2010
This review is from: U.S.S. Enterprise Manual (Haynes Owners Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
It's great to see how much fun the authors must have had making this book.
It's got the style of the Haynes Manuals but the in-depth details only true Star Trek fans poseses.
Since it's a compact book the info is good to oversee and it gives you both in time line and at some technical aspects a good overview.

The most striking feeling I've got was the amount of thoughs which must have given to all the vessels. Even the position of the warp nescelles is discussed and a theory has been formulated. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The USS Enterprise Owner's Workshop Manual, 30 Oct 2010
By 
Jd Bluestone "J.D.B." (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: U.S.S. Enterprise Manual (Haynes Owners Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
I awaited the publication of the USS Enterprise Haynes Owner Workshop Manual with bated breath, expecting at least for the authors to attempt to provide at least a reasonable discussion, commentary and breakdown of each of the six craft plus their auxiliaries, but what I got for my money, is best described by paraphrasing Montgomery Scott: "Sure its got fine intentions, but I think this book was put together by monkeys!" The book at the time of publication cost almost twenty pounds in the United Kingdom and was written by Ben Robinson and Marcus Riley, both veterans we are told of such publications as the Star Trek Fact Files and Star Trek: The Magazine which were at the time of their publication very worthy publications.

However, I am sorry to say this book was not. The USS Enterprise Owner Workshop Manual is 159 pages filled with diagrams, most of which do not examine or discuss the various craft in any sort of depth. There is no index page. Worst still although it promises much, it delivers very little to the purchaser, including those new to Star Trek: while veterans familiar with Star Trek in all its incarnations will find the book of little use at all. Many of the illustrations have their roots in work that was done for the aforementioned magazines: but in all fairness there are a few new pieces of artwork, which sadly contradict existing canon information. For example, the NX-01 now has seven decks - not the five established in the show. The U.S.S. Enterprise 1701-A is stated to have been renamed from the U.S.S. Yorktown, when it has already been firmly established that she was originally the U.S.S. Ti-Ho (Mr. Scott's Guide to The Enterprise).

The book is littered with examples of contradictions, pointless and often inaccurate commentary, including contradictory technical descriptions, some of which looks as if it was written as if it was aimed at small children, such is its simplicity of comment. An example: "The viewscreen could also display a `red alert' status in case the loud alarm and flashing red lights were not enough." I would have thought this was blatantly obvious. In fact, in reading this book I often got the impression that the authors were quoting heavily from other publications on the franchise. This book contains among other things, one of the most bizarre cockamamie warp drive descriptions that defies both logic and understanding.

Although the book is a nice edition to any serious collection of Star Trek media, it is not as advertised nor does it satisfy. It is for example, a pale `technical' volume when compared to detailed publications such as Star Trek: Star Fleet Technical Manual (1975) by Franz Joseph: Star Trek: Mr. Scott's Guide to the Enterprise (1987) by Shane Johnson: Star Trek: The Next Generation Officers Manual (1988) FASA Corporation: Star Trek: The Next Generation Technical Manual (1991) by Rick Sternbach & Michael Okuda. And the Star Trek: Deep Space Nine Technical Manual (1998) by Herman Zimmerman / Rick Sternbach & Doug Drexler.

That said, I realize of course that this was never intended to be a 'serious' attempt at cataloging the technical and operational aspects of one fictional starship, let alone six, but the authors in publishing this work have offered the potential purchaser very little in the way of new information, I'm sorry to say.

J. Bluestone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promised a lot, delivered very little, 2 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: U.S.S. Enterprise Manual (Haynes Owners Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
I pre-ordered this item and eagerly awaited its arrival however I was very disappointed: much of the information directly contradicts earlier publications, and rather than exploring the technicalities of the ships it meanders on being a poor episode guide. The only positive point is that it tackles the 'reboot' of the Trek franchise, although the explanation isn't really up to much.

Maybe a good book for a newcomer, but there is nothing in here that isn't published in other better books such as Franz Joseph's Starfleet Technical Manual, Mr Scott's Guide To The Enterprise, and the NCC-1701-D Technical Manual, and which is covered more extensively and satisfactorily than this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

U.S.S. Enterprise Manual (Haynes Owners Workshop Manual)
U.S.S. Enterprise Manual (Haynes Owners Workshop Manual) by Michael Okuda (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2010)
14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews