Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2010
Ross Brawn is a very interesting and extremely talented person. I had hoped to learn more about his own background prior to Brawn GP being formed. About 75 pages are devoted to the first 54 years of his life. 241 pages are devoted to the year 2009, i.e. the focus is on the Brawn team, not the person.

We have quotations from each driver and Ross Brawn after virtually every practice/qualifying session and race in 2009. Most of these are in anodyne PR speak. What were their real feelings, how did Jenson psyche himself up for the penultimate GP of the year in Brazil, etc?

The author has forgotten that five British GPs took place at Aintree between 1955 and 1962. There are also a number of typos.

In summary I found this a disappointment.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2010
As an avid F1 fan, I followed the trials and tribulations of Jenson Button and the Brawn F1 team with great interest since the teams survival just before the 2009 season commenced, and couldn't wait to read this book when it was released.

However, like many of this author's other efforts, I found it very disappointing. If you like reading through tedious race by race detail, lap times etc., all of which was in the public domain during the course of the season, then this is the book for you.

If you are looking for an insight into the human stories behind the Brawn team, give this a miss.

I found myself skipping through the book once we got to the race by race stage, and ironically picked up Jenson Button's 'My Championship Year' which was a much more interesting read.

All in all the story behind the Brawn team was a fantastic tale, but in my opinion, this book is disappointing.

The author could have done a much better job of telling the story between Honda's withdrawal, and the birth of Brawn GP.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
THE BRAWN STORY. Surely it must be a biography of Ross Brawn, right? No, not really. It has a few notes about the life of the great man but only those that anyone could gather by an attentive reading of already published material. Nothing new, nothing substantial.

So it must be a book about the Brawn GP Team and its forebearers Honda and BAR. A book about the politics and financial muscle needed to avoid the outright closure of the team. That would have been a great book if it told the whole truth behind those teams, the real reasons for their relative failure. But no. There are a few highlights but again nothing new or really revealing.

And then the book assumes the form of a season review. That was the old hunting ground of Christopher Hilton so no surprise that this is the best part of the book. But in spite of Hilton being competent at it, there is nothing in it that a bloke that has `Autocourse' or `The Official Season Review' (and I have both) doesn't already know.

This is the kind of book that brought Haynes to its knees. A hastily written hack job to profit from the pre-Christmas rush, that was quickly remaindered and ultimately alienated the real motorsport readers for being unfulfilling. Not the best work from the late Mr. Hilton and a wasted opportunity to make a book on one of the most influential man (for better and for worse) on Formula One of the nineties and the noughties.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
I would recommend this book to anyone with more than a passing interest in the history of Formula One, it delves deep into that remarkable 2009 season which saw the world of F1 turned upside down by Brawn.

This is not a biography of Ross Brawn however so if you wish to discover more about that man then I am afraid we will all have to wait until he either releases an autobiography or someone comes along and pens his remarkable story (something that would be on my list of want books).

What it is though is the race by race account of a great season, one that has reached a nostalgia factor already with the current domination of Red Bull and Sebastian Vettel, charting the against the odds success of a team that didn't exist only a few months before the start of the racing year and the breakthrough of Jenson Button and final glory of the great Rubens Barrichelo.

I really can not fault it, except perhaps that it lacks a conclusion, it would have been a neater ending had it charted the evolution of Brawn into Mercedes and the moving on of Button to McLaren and Barrichelo to Williams, however definitely five stars and one for the collection (I literally could not wait to read it every opportunity I got).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2010
The story of Brawn GP was unique - a team that almost never made it to the grid, saved by the skin of its teeth, relying on a level of generosity not normally found in F1, and which defied the odds to roar to 8 race wins and both championships in its one and only season. The whole story is full of drama and intrigue....

...very little of which makes it into this book. Instead we get a brief skim through the team's creation; an overly long biography of Ross Brawn; and page after tedious page of race recaps - regardless of the fact that anyone with enough interest in F1 to buy the book will inevitably know 99% of what's described.

A hugely disappointing book, considering the wealth of material that Brawn GP offered.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
A very short section describing Ross's history, which is domonated by quotes about him, another very short section on how Honda morphed into Brawn, again dominated by quotes, the remainder of the book, about two thirds of it, is almost a lap by lap description of Jensons world champianship season. A big let down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
Absolutely loved this book. Superb read and great background of Brawn, the man, covering about 100 pages before telling the story of the season. Really enjoyed reading and found out some fascinating things I hadn't known. Definitely recommend this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
If you are an F1 "geek" and you loved the 2009 season - this is the book for you.

If you are a casual fan, you might find this a bit in depth.

I now realise that I'm not as much of a geek as I thought I was!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
From a F1 fan that reads everything to do with F1 this was hard going, I expected more information of turning around a failing team into a world championship winning team, but was full of figures of each race, not very exciting at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
The book starts well, but then lacks pace from about 2/3 onwards. Interesting to read about his early career, but not as interesting after the "Brawn" year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)