Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This has the makings of an instant classic.
Just received this book, fresh out from the Tank Museum. It has the makings of an instant classic.

The title (and cover) are a playful take on the Haynes Manual format (for non-Brits a long-standing publisher of under-the-bonnet car guides) but this is actually a lovingly written history of the Tiger with a particular focus on the well-known tank which was...
Published on 25 May 2011 by Tim S. C. Forster

versus
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down
The vast proportion of the book is a re-hash of other titles with a large proportion of pictures having been seen many times before though a small number are new and all of the restored tank both inside and outside there is also a very informative section on zimmerit.

If you are looking for technical information on how to remove a cylinder head or how to time...
Published on 27 Jun 2011 by Indecision


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This has the makings of an instant classic., 25 May 2011
By 
Tim S. C. Forster (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Tank Manual: Panzerkampfwagen VI Tiger 1 Ausf.E (Sdkfz 181) (Owner's Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
Just received this book, fresh out from the Tank Museum. It has the makings of an instant classic.

The title (and cover) are a playful take on the Haynes Manual format (for non-Brits a long-standing publisher of under-the-bonnet car guides) but this is actually a lovingly written history of the Tiger with a particular focus on the well-known tank which was captured intact in Tunisia and now resides in their collection - so literally an owners manual!

The photos alone are eye-popping: plenty of interior shots and others with the vehicle in various states of dis-assembly (some making it look for all the world like a half finished model). Of course, because this has been put out by the museum there were no restrictions with access.

If, like me, there are corners of the tank that you still haven't quite seen from the right angle or unresolved questions then there's likely to be an answer here. For example I wasn't quite sure how thick the internal rim of the loaders hatch should be - there's a great shot of it here. There's even a close up of one of the original padlocks from the stowage bin! [OK, so maybe that is getting a little close to rivet counting...]

There are also some fascinating side bars - e.g. how to paste zimmerit on to the real thing (a restored Stug III).

I cannot recommend this highly enough...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for all tank heads !!, 5 Jun 2011
By 
Machinehead (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Tank Manual: Panzerkampfwagen VI Tiger 1 Ausf.E (Sdkfz 181) (Owner's Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
Another title in the excellent Haynes pseudo manual series and a more than worthwhile addition.
Written ostensibly by the restorers of the Tank Museums Tiger the content is therefore convincingly accurate and detailed.
Although not an exhaustive volume on the subject it is non the less fascinating with many of the photos not seen before.
There is more than adequate detail on each aspect of the Tiger to make it a very informative read, much of the detail could not have been obtained without the strip and restore process having taken place, so this makes it exclusive in many ways.

Production and presentation is excellent for the money and endows the book with a highly recommended rating from me !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tiger Tank Manual, 12 Jun 2011
This review is from: Tiger Tank Manual: Panzerkampfwagen VI Tiger 1 Ausf.E (Sdkfz 181) (Owner's Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
All in all a very informative book with lots of colour pics and information, mainly about Tiger 131. The book has 162 pages covering everything from building the Tiger, to sections on firing the gun and even a page on Zimmerit.

Other sections cover driving and engine start up procedure, wheel and track maintenance, the engine and auxilaries, combat units, communications, tactics, mobility and surviving Tigers. All in all, a worthy addition to my book case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tiger Tank Owners' Workshop Manual, 26 Jun 2011
This review is from: Tiger Tank Manual: Panzerkampfwagen VI Tiger 1 Ausf.E (Sdkfz 181) (Owner's Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
I Well remember the day only a few days after arriving at Junior Leaders Regiment Royal Armoured Corps, my first visit to the Tank Museum and being awed by the Tiger, and I've been fascinated with it ever since.
Now we all know that this book is a bit of a "Wheeze" meant mainly for sale at the Bovington Tank Museum, but , in fact it really is a good read, and covers a number of things that even a a tank nut like me had not previously discovered.

It first starts with a full history of just how Tiger Tank 131 came to be captured from Schwere Panzer Abteilung 501 by Lieutenant Peter Gudgion of 48 Battalion the Royal Tank Regiment (48RTR) on the 21 April 1943. And how the two were to be connected for almost the whole of World War Two.
It then goes on to give a very good explanation of just why and how the Tiger Tank came into being and gives masses of information on all the various types, marks, and modifications of the Tiger 1, but when it gets to the anatomy of the tank this book comes into it's own the photographs, drawings and diagrams are quite something.
But when the boys at the Tank Museum explain just how and why they managed to rebuild such an iconic vehicle, I found it very interesting, they really had to overcome some problems what with the scarcity of spares and blowing a hole in the engine block.
The info on the Driving and Gunnery really got me going and I was surprised at just how the Manufactures managed to fit such a powerful gun when the British and American seemed incapable of doing the same, this is a book that although not over technical will appeal to all tank nuts and model makers as there is loads of information that no other book covers mainly because no one has tried to recreate a Tiger in the exact condition it was when it left the factory before, It even goes on to provide the reader with the locations of all surviving Tigers and even the replicas made for re-en-actor groups and films. The photographs of the reconditioned interior will be a must for model makers and I would recommend to any tank historian as Tiger 131 is one of a kind in the world and IMHO priceless

Jim24
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally infamous, totally compelling!, 14 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. A. Sands "Sandsman" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Tank Manual: Panzerkampfwagen VI Tiger 1 Ausf.E (Sdkfz 181) (Owner's Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
Bought this for my dad for Xmas, but spent over an hour reading it once it was delivered! A great insight into a true monster of the second world war, it ultimately tells the tale of a specific Panzer VI, Tiger 131. Captured by the British in Tunisia, used for valuable tank/anti-tank research for the allies, and then restored to full running condition, where it now roams the Bovington tank museum.

Loads of information, photos, and stories about Tigers in general, even a step-by-step guide on how to make a Tiger water-tight for deep-river fording, useful!

A must for any WW2 buff, they'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect companion for a tank enthusiast, 21 Jun 2014
By 
P. Morriss (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Tank Manual: Panzerkampfwagen VI Tiger 1 Ausf.E (Sdkfz 181) (Owner's Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
I brought this book after a visit to Bovington Tank Museum, Dorset. This book was recommended during a talk by one of the museum helpers and after reading it, I can understand why.

The book, in my option, is a little on the thin side at 160 pages, a lot is known about the Tiger 1 after Tiger 131 was captured during the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Haynes, 6 May 2014
By 
Bigcat (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Tank Manual: Panzerkampfwagen VI Tiger 1 Ausf.E (Sdkfz 181) (Owner's Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
I now know how to start a Tiger tank! Brilliant. These Haynes books are really great. Unless you're a real expert on Tigers, I think you'll find lots to interest you in this book. Really good clear pictures and technical explanations. A very complex vehicle. The complexity appears to have been its downfall!? Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good Manual, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Tank Manual: Panzerkampfwagen VI Tiger 1 Ausf.E (Sdkfz 181) (Owner's Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
This was another birthday gift,which the boy I bought if for really enjoyed,he is into all things military,so if you know someone like that,Iwould recommend it for them.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the One !!!, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Tank Manual: Panzerkampfwagen VI Tiger 1 Ausf.E (Sdkfz 181) (Owner's Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
This is also a must for anyone interested in the Tiger 1 and after many years of using various Haynes manuals, I found it much better than expected, well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book on rebuilding a Tiger, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Tank Manual: Panzerkampfwagen VI Tiger 1 Ausf.E (Sdkfz 181) (Owner's Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
Great book with lots of photos and details not seen before. I read it cover to cover on the first night
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tiger Tank Manual: Panzerkampfwagen VI Tiger 1 Ausf.E (Sdkfz 181) (Owner's Workshop Manual)
£17.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews