Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars User Friendly Star Stuff
Star stuff delivered in a easy-to-understand style with superb illustrations. A must-buy for anyone interested in the 'great out there' from beginners to the more advanced.
Thoroughly enjoyable, visually luxurious, a great addition to the reference shelf.
Well done Jane A Green and Haynes.
Published on 15 Oct 2010 by StarGazer

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looks good, but disappointing so far.
On having a quick glance of this book, and reading the reviews on here this seemed to be the perfect book for a complete beginner like me. The photos and diagrams are simply stunning, the best I've seen in many books. A further glance in the book has sections on telescopes and eyepieces which are invaluable for people like me wanting to know more about astronomy and...
Published on 14 Mar 2011 by Zane


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A most useful addition to any potential astronomers book case., 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astronomy Manual: The Practical Guide to the Night Sky (Hardcover)
This is a really great reference book, most significantly for the absolute the novice as well as the more experienced astronomer. The book provides clear advice with excellent explanations and useful pointers on how to get the best from any level of participation in this exciting science/hobby. Also provides very useful information on how, what and when to purchase equipment, how much to spend dependent on your experience, and once you are set up most importantly, where to look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars new to the stars, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astronomy Manual: The Practical Guide to the Night Sky (Hardcover)
This book was recomended to me as I am new to Astronomy. It has been a God send. The new telescope had no instructions, but this book helped me all the way. An absolute must for a beginner to get a good solid foundation of knowledge to build upon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haynes Astronomy Manual, 13 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astronomy Manual: The Practical Guide to the Night Sky (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book, well written and some superb pictures and diagrams.
While full of information for both beginners and old hands, it doesn't talk down to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Present, 11 Jan 2013
By 
C. Davison "ChrisD" (NE England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astronomy Manual: The Practical Guide to the Night Sky (Hardcover)
Bought as a Christmas present for my brother-in-law. he is happy with it.
(It is not one of my interests and it was delivered to his wife so I have not seen it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good item, 16 Dec 2011
This review is from: Astronomy Manual: The Practical Guide to the Night Sky (Hardcover)
I bought this for my dad who is new to astronomy and this book is an excellent way for him to learn more about what to look for and what it is you are seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great gift for budding astronomer, 14 Sep 2011
This review is from: Astronomy Manual: The Practical Guide to the Night Sky (Hardcover)
This book was bought as a gift for my father who, on retirement was presented with a great big telescope! He's never been far from a Haynes manual for the various cars hes had over the years, so i thought this book would be a great addition to the collection whilst at the same time guide him along his new hobby!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent pictures. Otherwise bad., 4 Oct 2011
By 
I. Tanner (Peterborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Astronomy Manual: The Practical Guide to the Night Sky (Hardcover)
I've only read the first 50 pages of this book but am appalled at how badly it has been written (by Jane Green; Patrick moore and Brian May have only written Introductions, presumably for money and without seeing the finished product!) I intend to struggle on, because the scope of the book is just what I'm after, but, if I didn't already own the book, I'd look elsewhere for something better.

Previous reviewers have, justifiably, been impressed with the photographs and, If you just want a picture book, you won't be disappointed. If, however, you intend to study the text and diagrams, the following should give you adequate warning of the failings in this book:-

1. Two other reviewers have cited examples of the numerous errors in the earlier pages of this book. I'm concerned as I read on to higher levels of complexity that the frequency of such errors will increase, whilst my ability to spot them will decrease.

2. In the text,up to page 27, the primary units of distance/speed given are miles and mph with conversions given to kilometers(km) and kph. One starts by questioning the wisdom of using miles over km in a scientific publication, as does the author who lapses, on p28 onwards, to using (in tabulations for each of the solar planets) units of km and kph (and no conversions!) How bad is that?

3. These same tabulations give temperatures in degrees Kelvin, and I can't remember any explanation of the Kelvin scale in the preceding text. It's certainly not in the Index or Glossary. Similarly other technical terms have been called up without any apparently available explanation.

4. Diagrams on p24 `explaining' eclipses are incomprehensible. (The conical surface, defining the outer edge of the penumbra, requires lines extrapolating to the Sun.)

5. The first 4 or so sentences under `Birth' p24 appear to tell me how the planets were formed. Great until I then read that it's one theory and that there's a newer one. Misleading or what?!

And so on. I don't recall ever having come across a more poorly written/edited book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good item, 31 July 2014
This review is from: Astronomy Manual: The Practical Guide to the Night Sky (Hardcover)
value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Astronomy Manual: The Practical Guide to the Night Sky
Astronomy Manual: The Practical Guide to the Night Sky by Jane A. Green (Hardcover - 7 Oct 2010)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews