Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different approach
This book is great.

It has many interesting photos not present in The Concorde Story: 21 Years in Service (Civil aircraft) neither on the internet!
Technical details in incredible quantity, explaining why G-BOAG had a different battery system from the other BA Concordes, for example.

Highly recommended for Concorde hardcore fans and also for...
Published on 22 Aug 2010 by L. Azevedo

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars UTTER RUBBISH.....
Grossly disappointing:

As an engineer, I expected the content of this book to be more along the lines of the Haynes Manual I have for my Mk2 Ford Cortina - nuts & bolts & electrics etc. - even if only 25% of it due to the size & complexity of Concorde.

But boy was I down-hearted to see this is just another recollection of past tales and basic...
Published 3 months ago by hector holbrook


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its only an insight.not a manual., 4 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concorde Manual: An insight into flying, operating and maintaining the world's first supersonic passenger jet (Haynes Owners' Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
This is a great book for the aircraft enthusiast, lots of good pictures of the Concorde and its flight deck and instruments.There are also some good technical drawings and photographs of some of the components and the anatomy of the aircraft. But dont expect to learn any in depth knowledge of its systems or components. Hydraulics for instance,the life blood of the aircraft as the authors state,gets only half a dozen paragraphs, three quarters of a page.So like most of the book,its an interesting read, but even if you were ever lucky enouth to own a Concord, you would never be able to carry out any,even simple, servicing on it not even as a static showpiece.And this, even if like me, you have spent years as an aircraft engineer, both in the RAF and in the commercial world.In other words this is not really a technical manual but worth buying and reading all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars UTTER RUBBISH....., 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concorde Manual: An insight into flying, operating and maintaining the world's first supersonic passenger jet (Haynes Owners' Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
Grossly disappointing:

As an engineer, I expected the content of this book to be more along the lines of the Haynes Manual I have for my Mk2 Ford Cortina - nuts & bolts & electrics etc. - even if only 25% of it due to the size & complexity of Concorde.

But boy was I down-hearted to see this is just another recollection of past tales and basic construction hurdles etc etc which we all know about already anyway.

I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concorde technical manual, 13 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concorde Manual: An insight into flying, operating and maintaining the world's first supersonic passenger jet (Haynes Owners' Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
If you're an aviation enthusiast or just someone who admires an aircraft that defined elegance and technology ahead of its time this is book is a perfect gift as well as a permanent fixture on one's book shelf.
The book is well laid out with great pictures of the history of Concorde, in depth descriptions of the aircraft's systems, structure and technical cutaway drawings and diagrams labelled so that you can easily follow the text of the book when it refers to specific systems and components of the aircraft. Haynes have found a good formula on how to layout manuals on cars and that has translated itself to aircraft as well. Looking forward to adding other aircraft manuals like the Vulcan and Avro Lancaster and hopefully many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Concorde Books, 7 Dec 2010
By 
Gary J. Hunter "Family Hunter" (Malta, EU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concorde Manual: An insight into flying, operating and maintaining the world's first supersonic passenger jet (Haynes Owners' Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
The new "Haynes manual" approach to aviation is a novel one and one to be applauded, as some of these publications bring together aspects that many people would have overlooked or missed in other publications. This one, "Aerospatiale/BAC CONCORDE 1969 onwards (all models)" gives a wonderful insight into the background and workings of a 20th century icon - Concorde. While it does much to explain the fundamental principles behind the aircraft, many enthusiasts will be left wondering why they didn't go further to explain the fine details behind this amazing piece of engineering. For example, many of the close up photos of the instruments (many of the photographs used are by Jonathan Falconer) say what the instrument is in general but leave a lot to be desired when it comes to explaining precisely what they display or why. Some instruments are merely labeled (ie "instrument transfer switches") and if you do not have a flight manual you would not know what they do or why.
I recommend this book for its photographs but not so much for the information it provides which is too often inadequate (especially if this is really supposed to be equivalent to a Haynes manual - would you use this paucity of information to maintain your car - I think not!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Haynes Manual I've ever bought, 22 Sep 2014
This review is from: Concorde Manual: An insight into flying, operating and maintaining the world's first supersonic passenger jet (Haynes Owners' Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
Worst Haynes Manual I've ever bought. I was expecting a nuts & bolts / electronics book along the lines of their vehicle manuals, although obviously nowhere near as comprehensive. This is just YET ANOTHER Concorde story book of the aircraft's evolution & demise. Enthusiasts beware - you have probably (like me) read it all before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars haynes manual, 30 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Concorde Manual: An insight into flying, operating and maintaining the world's first supersonic passenger jet (Haynes Owners' Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
Brilliant additon to this unmatched range of books. I have used their car repair manuals for years, and this Concorde one is up to the great standard of Haynes. Although I am unlikely to be an owner of this iconic plane, I at least will know my elevator from my altimeter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stan, 31 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Concorde Manual: An insight into flying, operating and maintaining the world's first supersonic passenger jet (Haynes Owners' Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
The Manual gives an accurate insight into the operation of the most important systems on this wonderful aircraft, without being too difficult to understand for anyone who has never worked on an aircraft, it also leaves the reader in no doubt as to what a great technical achievement Concorde was for the aircraft manufacturers of the United Kingdom and France
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concorde Manual: An insight into flying, operating and maintaining the world's first supersonic passenger jet (Haynes Owners' Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
A must for any Concorde fan. Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews