Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A useful piece of kit, 24 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. S. R. Ward (Sheffield, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fender Bass Manual: How to Buy, Maintain and Set Up the Fender Bass Guitar (Hardcover)
Being the owner of a Fender (Squier) Jazz bass, I have been looking forward to this book coming out for several weeks. Features include a brief history of the Fender bass range, a buyer's guide ranging from budget models (like mine) to identifying authentic classics, profiles of some of the great players and a foreword by legendary session bassist Carol Kaye.

However, this is primarily a user's manual covering routine maintenance to replacing parts to full scale restoration projects. These are explained in plain English with step by step colour photos in a series of case studies featuring different Fender bass models. It is all attractively presented in the familiar Haynes manual format. This is a book I will dip into many times and refer to on a regular basis for practical tips. I would recommend it to any Fender bassist as a useful and attractive addition to their kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality, 11 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fender Bass Manual: How to Buy, Maintain and Set Up the Fender Bass Guitar (Hardcover)
I have the Telecaster book and this bass book is also of the same high quality. Some great reviews and not just only of expensive basses but also budget instruments are covered. If, like me, you are an enthusiastic guitar collector then this book has a wealth of solid informative data, well presented and not complicated. If you like to repair, update and set up your fender guitars then this is a must.Fender Bass Manual: How to Buy, Maintain and Set Up the Fender Bass Guitar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, even for people as impractical as me!, 26 July 2011
By 
theone&only (March, Cambs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fender Bass Manual: How to Buy, Maintain and Set Up the Fender Bass Guitar (Hardcover)
Recently bought myself a nice Fender bass and thought it might be useful to be able to get it exactly how I wanted, so I got this book to help me. Its very useful, even to someone as useless with their hands as I am! Usually i get someone else to set up my basses but now I can do a load of it myself like set up the intonation and truss rod and string height without lots of hassle. It has also served me well in giving me tips on how to maintain my bass, its not just a case of wiping it down once a week if you want your bass to stay in good condition if youre out gigging heavily! Well written, good diagrams, tons of tidbits of fender bass info makes this a must buy whether you own the bass or are a Fender nut. Not only that, but its made by the folks who do the car manuals - how cool is that??! : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent manual and reference for the Fender & Squier basses, 31 Mar 2011
By 
Paul Bowes (Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fender Bass Manual: How to Buy, Maintain and Set Up the Fender Bass Guitar (Hardcover)
The Fender Precision and Jazz basses and their Squier budget counterparts are some of the best-selling and most imitated instruments in the world. This manual - one of a series by Haynes dedicated to specific instruments - covers all aspects of set-up and maintenance. It offers a history of the instruments and key players, covers the most popular projects - installing different pickups, bridges or tuners and more complex electronics - and shows you what you can expect if you buy new or second-hand.

The book is illustrated throughout with full colour photographs that make it exceptionally easy to follow the author's instructions. This book would make an superb gift for anybody who owns or has just purchased a Fender or Squier bass, or one of the other brands who have copied these classic instruments. Purchase without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent manual, 26 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fender Bass Manual: How to Buy, Maintain and Set Up the Fender Bass Guitar (Hardcover)
I agree with all the 5 star reviews, in that Paul has covered all basses (ha ha pun intended) and it is great that there are as many case studies on Squier budget models as high end Fender collectables. The reason I only give 4 stars is the slight inconsistency with giving metric/imperial equivalents. But heh that could be just me being mean. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Room for some more content in a future edition, 27 Sep 2011
This review is from: Fender Bass Manual: How to Buy, Maintain and Set Up the Fender Bass Guitar (Hardcover)
I bought this book based on the Haynes name, which is always associated with thorough and in depth information. It's a good read, but does omit details. For instance, the bit about 'buying a fender bass' should ideally provide detail to allow you to determine the type of instrument you're buying , even when certain telltale decals have been carefully removed. It would have been interesting to compare and contrast the higher end offshoots of the jazz bass from the likes of modulus, sadowsky, lull, lakland, etc, so that the buyer can get a thorough idea of the differences, component-wise, before handing over 2000 for a new instrument.
Overall, a good effort. My friend has the telecaster book from the same series and I'm going to buy the strat one soon. Lots of useful tips when upgrading instruments too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fender Bass Manual - Indispensible!, 11 Aug 2011
This review is from: Fender Bass Manual: How to Buy, Maintain and Set Up the Fender Bass Guitar (Hardcover)
A wonderful maintenance guide to Fender bass guitars, from the very earliest. Excellent advice given in a clear, practical way. Whether you own a cheap Squier or a quazillion pound vintage special, this book will have something for you. Reading this book has given me the ability and confidence to do a lot more with my own instruments, and more importantly, what impact it will have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fender Bass Manual: How to Buy, Maintain and Set Up the Fender Bass Guitar (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift - he loved it. Beautiful illustrations - very clear. Altogether a book to recommend to other guitarists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good informative read, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fender Bass Manual: How to Buy, Maintain and Set Up the Fender Bass Guitar (Hardcover)
The guy who wrote this is obviously a big fan of the Precision Bass and makes no bones about it. So, although it focuses on the P it covers all Fender Bass guitars, from buying through to setting them up, fret repair and includes all the wiring diagrams in colour step by step stages. It also covers serial numbers and day to day work required to keep your bass playable and working.
I use a Fender Jazz Bass and I loved this book.
I recommend this to any player of any Fender Bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fender Bass Manual: How to Buy, Maintain and Set Up the Fender Bass Guitar (Hardcover)
Great reference book, lots of good technical and historic information, loads of good pictures, highly recommended if you own or are interested in any of the fender bass guitars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fender Bass Manual: How to Buy, Maintain and Set Up the Fender Bass Guitar
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews