Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dads Have Feelings Too
The format - a baby book laid out like a car maintenance book - might seem trite and shallow. It might even seem like a jokey gift to give to a new dad, but there is much more than that to this book.

The author, Dr Ian Banks, is a medic and father with a flowing and matey line in narrative about children. His no-nonsense style about conception and the first two...
Published on 28 Oct 2007 by Lewis Graham

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on the original
We bought the original edition and it was exactly like a Haynes car manual. Most baby books are aimed at mothers, few if any, with photos of dads. The original edition was very amusing, but particularly designed to appeal to dads to be. Format and layout was exactly like a car workshop manual, but the vehicles were prams and buggies. Feeding and nappies were approached...
Published on 7 Dec 2010 by anndon


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dads Have Feelings Too, 28 Oct 2007
By 
Lewis Graham "lewisgraham" (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The format - a baby book laid out like a car maintenance book - might seem trite and shallow. It might even seem like a jokey gift to give to a new dad, but there is much more than that to this book.

The author, Dr Ian Banks, is a medic and father with a flowing and matey line in narrative about children. His no-nonsense style about conception and the first two years of life are a refreshing alternative to the earnest earth-mother style that pervades this kind of literature. Not only is the text spot-on, but the illustrations spell out just what you need to know at the right moment.

What makes this book special is that it discusses the emotions men experience. Speaking as a man, emotion is something other people display, but this book lets men know that it's OK to feel amazed/overwhelmed/torn all at once and not be a wuss.

For fathers-to-be and new fathers, this book should be compulsory reading. You might feel the need for more detail in parts, but for new fathers it's hard to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on the original, 7 Dec 2010
This review is from: Baby Manual: Conception to 2 Years (Haynes Owners Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
We bought the original edition and it was exactly like a Haynes car manual. Most baby books are aimed at mothers, few if any, with photos of dads. The original edition was very amusing, but particularly designed to appeal to dads to be. Format and layout was exactly like a car workshop manual, but the vehicles were prams and buggies. Feeding and nappies were approached like adding petrol or doing an oil change. The new edition probably contains the same invaluable information, including an essential first aid section, but the layout is nothing like a car manual and more like your average baby book. We have bought several copies over the last few years for friends who were about to be first time dads,and they loved it too, but having bought the newer edition a few weeks ago after a few years break, we won't be buying this as a gift again. Shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic stuff, 25 Aug 2003
This book was an inspiration.
For those fathers who want to learn a little more and did not know where to look then this is the answer.
It is well written and is also very funny! The author has managed a great mix of useful facts and humour to make it very readable.
I would heartily recommend it to my friends and would urge anyone reading this to place an order today for a great read!
Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic stuff, 25 Aug 2003
This book was an inspiration.
For those fathers who want to learn a little more and did not know where to look then this is the answer.
It is well written and is also very funny! The author has managed a great mix of useful facts and humour to make it very readable.
I would heartily recommend it to my friends and would urge anyone reading this to place an order today for a great read!
Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, wise and funny, 18 Jun 2003
By 
R. Munro "Robert Munro" (Tunbridge Wells) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
As someone eagerly awaiting the imminent delivery of a brand spanking new baby(2003 edition, male version), I found this latest offering from the marvellous Haynes a godsend.
All the practicalities of baby operating and maintenance are explained in the usual straightforward and thoroug manner we have come to expect form this foremost publisher of manuals.
I was particularly gratified by the absence of cod psychology and half-baked philosophising which dominates so much of the new parent market.
Facts: that's what we men need and there's plenty to get your teeth into here.
Excellent stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 7 April 2009
I bought this for my partner as he is an engineer and already has a few haynes manuals floating around the house. He has already read it from cover to cover and feels that it will be very helpful manual for once our new addition arrives. I have also read this and feel it gives practical advice in an amusing way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for fathers to be, 8 Mar 2011
By 
T. D. Blackwell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Baby Manual: Conception to 2 Years (Haynes Owners Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
I bought this book recently as a gift for my husband, as we are expecting our first baby.

He really likes it because it is written from a male point of view whereas most other books out there are aimed at the mum to be. Although it does seem to cover all the important bits, it does so in a lighthearted way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic stuff, 25 Aug 2003
This book was an inspiration.
For those fathers who want to learn a little more and did not know where to look then this is the answer.
It is well written and is also very funny! The author has managed a great mix of useful facts and humour to make it very readable.
I would heartily recommend it to my friends and would urge anyone reading this to place an order today for a great read!
Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars well presented, but with a few holes, 10 Oct 2003
By 
Gupster (Wilts, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is a great book aimed at blokes, with information provided in a factural to the point manner without lots of waffle. My only complaint, is that there are a few areas that seem to get missed. An example being it talks about conception and birth, but hardly meantions the 9 months of pregnancy.

The best bit I love is the facts and figures to hand easily, but then maybe that's because i'm an engineer.

I should now add (a few years later) that I came back to this when we had our second child and still found it a valuable resource. I've also given it to a few friends when they've had little ones on the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Feb 2004
By 
D Pine (Scotland, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Fantastic book - aimed to get dad's interest. The page on nappies (complete with colour photos) especially useful - saved a complete shock later.....
Could do with a section for 'other options' i.e. Twins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Baby Manual: Conception to 2 Years (Haynes Owners Workshop Manual)
11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews