Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Excellent
This is the first time I've felt inclined to write a book review, but I found this book so utterly enjoyable it would be rude not to spread the word.
I have read several/many/most bike racers' biographies (the one's I want to anyway)and I have to say Takin' the Mick tops the lot. From an interesting background of Mick's eventful upbringing and early exploits the book...
Published on 19 Jan. 2011 by Gary and Helen

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a disapointment
I have been a big follower of bike racing from the mid 70s when Mick Grant was a big name in the sport. I purchased this book hoping for an insight into the characters of motorcycling in the 7os, 80,s 90s stc. You dont get this, I found the book hard work and lacking insight,, Steve Hislops book is far better and a lot more in depth.
Published on 12 Feb. 2012 by Doz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Excellent, 19 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Mick Grant: Takin' the Mick (Hardcover)
This is the first time I've felt inclined to write a book review, but I found this book so utterly enjoyable it would be rude not to spread the word.
I have read several/many/most bike racers' biographies (the one's I want to anyway)and I have to say Takin' the Mick tops the lot. From an interesting background of Mick's eventful upbringing and early exploits the book goes on to rekindle so many memories of road racing through the 70's and 80's involving Mick and many others around him, and fills in many details where before, to Joe Public at least, there were only media snippets. The book relates countless events, results, personalities and racing incidents, and all the way through it is riddled with brilliantly dry humour and wit.
I can not recommend this book highly enough as an excellent read in its own right, and for those with a bike racing interest it is a definite "must read"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takin the mick, 30 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Mick Grant: Takin' the Mick (Hardcover)
I have read many Motorcycle racing biographies. The book Takin the Mick is a very good read. I found Mick Grant to be a straight talking man the his story is very interesting. Some of the tales he tells about fellow riders are very amusing. His technical insight is very informative about Racing motorcycle set-up. Moick comes over as a man who calls a spade a spade and in some of his dealing with other people he appears a little blunt. I would recommend this book highly,a must for all road race fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 31 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Mick Grant: Takin' the Mick (Hardcover)
bought this as a present for my husband who was even more delighted when he realised I had managed to get Mick Grant to sign it for him. One very happy husband!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into BSB GP's and TT from the recent past, 26 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mick Grant: Takin' the Mick (Hardcover)
Well written giving a great insight into the men and times that Mick Grant plied his trade as Rider and subsequently as Manager. The many interesting anecdotes reveal a window into the nature and character of his contemporaries as well as himself. The struggles and pleasures from novice to International star are a real revelation. Overall He does a great job of communicting the down to earth man in the street person without overplaying the cartoon northerner that is sometimes so much a feature of other retired bike racer books I have read. A thouroughly good read would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read., 26 Mar. 2011
By 
Jan (West yorks.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mick Grant: Takin' the Mick (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my husband, he is really enjoying reading this book, its funny and written in true yorkshireman style. He has already recommended it to a friend, and they too have purchased it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mick Grant: Takin' the Mick, 9 Sept. 2011
By 
A. C. Farrer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mick Grant: Takin' the Mick (Hardcover)
Well written, it makes a change to read a book on motorcycle racing that is factually correct. Combines northern wit and humour along with a fantastic insight into motorcycle racing through the 1970's to the 1990's. Probably the best account of Honda's oval pistoned NR500 project that will ever be relayed to the public, though some class this project as a failure I wonder how much technology introduced into it has improved current materials.
If you have ever seen Mick race, read on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is great for those nostalgic about motorcyle racing in the seventies ..., 29 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Mick Grant: Takin' the Mick (Hardcover)
This book is great for those nostalgic about motorcyle racing in the seventies & eighties. If you enjoyed the sport then, you'll probably enjoy this book. There is insight, anecdote & humour aplenty here making it the most readable of the racing (auto)biographies I've read. What surprises is Grant's background: his family had no involvement in motorcycle sport at all (most top racers seem to have parents who nurture their early careers...); one would expect a teenage racing fan to learn a technical trade but Grant was an art student! It's a credit to him that he made a successful career from such a beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real eye oppener, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mick Grant: Takin' the Mick (Hardcover)
have been a mick grant fan since the seventys this book is one not to be missed really great thanks mick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mick grant. the name says it all., 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mick Grant: Takin' the Mick (Hardcover)
great down to earth bloke, great rider, great book. a must have if anyone saw him race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mick Grant: Takin' the Mick (Hardcover)
if you were ever a fan back in the 70s / 80s its interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mick Grant: Takin' the Mick
Mick Grant: Takin' the Mick by Mac McDiarmid (Hardcover - 2 Sept. 2010)
Used & New from: £9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews