Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent Read
I found this book a really good read!
Reading the previous reviews, I wonder if they were general garden railwayer's or specifically narrowgauge? Me, I'm specifically narrow gauge and this book suited me perfectly.
The book has plenty of bright, large and colourful pictures to wet the pallet and give food for thought. The chapters are clear, consise and simple...
Published on 21 Mar 2011 by Daniel

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the book I was expecting.....
I pre-ordered this book before publication, and was looking forward to receiving it. However, I'm disappointed; this book is NOT what I expected it to be. From its title and description, I had assumed it would be another general how-to guide on garden railway building and operating, probably with the emphasis on live steam but with a bit of track-powered stuff in there...
Published on 23 Feb 2011 by JonT


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the book I was expecting....., 23 Feb 2011
This review is from: Garden Railway Manual: A step-by-step Guide to Narrow-gauge Garden Railway Projects (Hardcover)
I pre-ordered this book before publication, and was looking forward to receiving it. However, I'm disappointed; this book is NOT what I expected it to be. From its title and description, I had assumed it would be another general how-to guide on garden railway building and operating, probably with the emphasis on live steam but with a bit of track-powered stuff in there too. Yes, there are several good books of that sort around already, and I think I've got almost all of them, but I'm a bit of a completist and thought this would make another nice addition to my bookshelf.
That is not what this book is at all. It's actually a collection of plans and instructions for building a variety of garden railway structures, and even some rolling stock, primarily out of wood. It seems to be exclusively 16mm, mostly for the live steam fraternity with a token nod to battery electrics. The projects themselves are largely applicable to all garden gauges and scales, of course, being mainly lineside stuff - loco sheds, stations, bridges etc; there is also a good section on assembling a live steam loco kit (though this appears to be taken straight from a manufacturer's website), and a rather cursory chapter on tracklaying, but the wooden structure projects form the bulk of the book. I can't help feeling that the title (and Amazon's description of the book's contents) is more than a little misleading; if it had been called "building garden railway structures in wood", that would have been much more accurate - and I wouldn't have bought a copy!
Overall view? A nice book, well-produced with lots of colour, and if you are into 16mm, live steam and/or making your own buildings, a useful read. Not, however, of much more than passing interest if you're primarily into G scale and track power, or want a good how-to book on building a garden railway layout. Check it out carefully before you buy, to make sure you know what you're getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Garden Railway Maual review, 25 April 2011
This review is from: Garden Railway Manual: A step-by-step Guide to Narrow-gauge Garden Railway Projects (Hardcover)
Thought a Haynes manual would have been informative. Unfortunately this book is just a account of a collection of wooden buildings for outdoor use, and bears little resemblance to a maunal for Garden railways. Nice little project for the budding joiner, but not recommended for the serious garden railway builder, novice or expert. Really gives little information on actual building of a garden railway, the problems you will encounter and how to solve them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent Read, 21 Mar 2011
This review is from: Garden Railway Manual: A step-by-step Guide to Narrow-gauge Garden Railway Projects (Hardcover)
I found this book a really good read!
Reading the previous reviews, I wonder if they were general garden railwayer's or specifically narrowgauge? Me, I'm specifically narrow gauge and this book suited me perfectly.
The book has plenty of bright, large and colourful pictures to wet the pallet and give food for thought. The chapters are clear, consise and simple to follow. This book gives advice on how to do the basic tasks such as laying track but then goes onto describe different projects. These projects are mainly lineside buildings or accessories, mainly made out of wood but are waterproof if using marine plywood.
The projects are nicely rates by signals, the more signals highlighted, the more difficult the task at hand.
I regards to the proects, it has a table of items needed giving metric and imperial sizing aswell as the type of material (EG marine plywood, brass copper etc). The projects are nicely illustrated and each image is number and corrolates to the text nearby.

All in all an excelent book which will be a nice addition to your collection.
Concluding thoughts are that it may not be for every garden railway owner as it is specifically aimed at narrow gauge garden railway's and furthermore, those who want to embark on the wooden building frontier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's not what the title says!, 27 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Railway Manual: A step-by-step Guide to Narrow-gauge Garden Railway Projects (Hardcover)
I was very disappointed with the content and the book's title is quite misleading.
This is a book largely about how to make plywood buildings and a turntable for your layout. There is a little on laying track, not enough detail on building a model steam locomotive kit and some on track laying.
Even the finished plywood buildings and turntable are quite "toy like" and not at all realistic.
I could not advise a serious garden railway modeller to purchase this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars !6mm railways, 10 Dec 2011
This review is from: Garden Railway Manual: A step-by-step Guide to Narrow-gauge Garden Railway Projects (Hardcover)
I was disappointed with this book. It is mainly a collection of woodworking projects designed to enhance one person's garden railway. Even the track laying section shows only one system and gives few alternative ideas. To achieve even the most basic of the projects illustrated one would need a good wood work workshop. When it comes to constructing a roundhouse locomotive kit the illustarations are interesting but better descriptions appear in most of the specialsit magazines. The author keeps referring the reader to the manufacturers instructions and at the crucial point of setting up the timing he says that he sent his model back to the manufacturer so gives no insight into this. A real disappointment. The manual provided by the 16mm society contains far more useful material. If I you want a book of ideas for 16mm railway buildings made from wood I would recommend this book - if you want to learn about garden railways do not buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very basic...boring..., 31 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. K. johnson (Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Railway Manual: A step-by-step Guide to Narrow-gauge Garden Railway Projects (Hardcover)
I did get one or two tips but glad I didnt pay full whack. A book for the novice making plywood buildings. no detailing sections. All seemed very amataurish. Stick with Peter Jones or Jack Verducci!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blizzard does it again.., 7 Nov 2011
This review is from: Garden Railway Manual: A step-by-step Guide to Narrow-gauge Garden Railway Projects (Hardcover)
great book again from Richard Blizzard written in his own style which makes it easy to read and follow plans which are also diverse from simple lineside buildings to rollingstock,also the building of a live steam engine from a kit.really recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PC65, 15 Mar 2011
By 
Paul Carter "MrPooks" (Banbury,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Garden Railway Manual: A step-by-step Guide to Narrow-gauge Garden Railway Projects (Hardcover)
Very disappointed in this. Nothing much to help me - too general/ sparse content in most chapters. I cannot recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MANUAL, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Railway Manual: A step-by-step Guide to Narrow-gauge Garden Railway Projects (Hardcover)
THIS GARDEN RAILWAY MANUAL IS EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY AND AN INTERESTING SOURCE OF INFORMATION.CAN RECOMMEND TO OTHER MODEL RAILWAY ENTHUSIASTS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Garden Railway Handbook, 17 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Railway Manual: A step-by-step Guide to Narrow-gauge Garden Railway Projects (Hardcover)
A well written book which gives a good flavour of preparing the garden and building locomotives, rolling stock and various buildings. Plenty of photographs, material lists and text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Garden Railway Manual: A step-by-step Guide to Narrow-gauge Garden Railway Projects
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews