Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
33
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
28
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2009
James Whitham provides an honest, humorous account of his racing career. Whilst you wouldn't expect this to be a literary work, Whitham writes with a self-depreciating honesty that makes a good read. Always well liked by fans, this will add to his popularity. The book outlines how Whitham's upbringing contributed to his character. Also, he is open about his feelings from nerves on the grid to leaving racing. However, his writing about difficulties in his life off the track, such as miscarriage and cancer, is matter of fact. (Unlike Lance Armstrong's writing, for example.) It would have been nice to have read about Whitham the person, as well as Whitham the racer. Nonetheless: What a Good Do, what a good read!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2009
Anyone who has followed the career of James Whitham lke me will love this book, it tells the story of how he got started in racing, all the way from a Honda MT125 to finishing his career on the R6 with Belgarda Yamaha.
I can't recommend this book enough.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2009
Not knowing James Whitham that well, apart from his tv series and commentating, this book did what a Racer's biography should and had me coming away liking the guy more for having read the book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
A thoroughly entertaining and engaging read,including not only recollections of racing days ; but an insight into who Whitham the man is; and the family life he so obviously enjoys.Well worth a read,it's written almost as if you can actually hear him speaking the words in that brash,dry,"witty" true Yorkshire man's way! BRILLIANT BOOK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2009
I have followed James's racing for many years and have been very pleased to find his humour and story telling at the top level in this book . First rate !
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2009
Enjoyable entertaining read from the riders point of view. Especially if you have followed whithams career and watched the races he writes about. The book was worth every penny and would like to hope he writes another !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
The book reads as he speaks! It's a real insight to the real Jammie his hopes triumphs and he real life fight with cancer, if you are a biker or like motor bike racing its a good read, the friendship between him and Carl Foggty is surprising.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2012
Let's get one thing straight right from the start: James Whitam is a Looney - First Class . You've got to be at least mildly detached in order to go through what he's put himself through over the years . But what a story ...
This is not your run of the mill sporting auto-biography - it is not full of all the usual boring, unnecessary filler that seems to pad out these type of things . There are plenty of references to early home life and school days, but only the bits that might be interesting and entertaining . It is also not a highly technical analysis that might only appeal to the anoraks of the sport ( no insult intended - but you know what I mean ) . It is merely what it should be - a highly entertaining, sometimes moving and predominantly very funny account of a very eventful career that will appeal to all those people who, like myself, share a love of motorbike racing . Those who are familiar with his commentary style on Eurosport will recognise the self-affacing style in which it is written and his trade-mark humour runs all the way through it . So, to all you folks who share my Sunday afternoons watching WSB and BSB, listening to James ( and Jack ), I can thoroughly recommend this book . It is, as it says, " A Good Do " .
The only negative comment I can make is with reference to the cover - surely they could have done better than that . It looks like the kind of photo that is usually accompanied with the tag line: " Do not approach . May be considered dangerous " ( which may not be all that wide of the mark ! ) . A real " helping police with their enquires " type ....... ! But as they say - Don't judge a book by it's cover - especially not this one !
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2010
I thought this would be a good read as I've listened to Jamie commentating on Eurosport and have always found him entertaining.
I wasn't disappointed, for a sporting autobiography it was very thoughtful and thought-provoking, a realistic portrayal of the highs and lows of top class bike racing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2011
Whithams dry whit and Yorkshire charm shine through a funny, heaartwarming and occasionally sad book. Yes I'm a biker but theres more than bikes and racing to this guy and its well worth a read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)