Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alas, no guidance for a flawless free return trajectory.......
...... but excellent all the same. Well done Mssrs Riley and Dolling. This book is an excellent reference on the development and design of the various Apollo crafts in line with other recent (tongue-in-cheek) Haynes Manuals. I was really excited when I saw news of this manual being published as I've been waiting for 40 years for something like this. In truth, it is not...
Published on 7 Jun. 2009 by Digger

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Apollo 11.
This is an interesting overview of not just the Apollo 11 moonshot, but of all the work that led up to it. Obviously, it's not a workshop manual - it couldn't possibly be - and it's not highly technical. For someone who actually saw that "one small step" on TV in July 1969, it is a readable book, with plenty of illustrations, to have on the bookshelf. I just hope that...
Published on 31 Aug. 2009 by G. J. Jeffery


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alas, no guidance for a flawless free return trajectory......., 7 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Apollo 11 Manual: An Insight into the Hardware from the First Manned Mission to Land on the Moon (Hardcover)
...... but excellent all the same. Well done Mssrs Riley and Dolling. This book is an excellent reference on the development and design of the various Apollo crafts in line with other recent (tongue-in-cheek) Haynes Manuals. I was really excited when I saw news of this manual being published as I've been waiting for 40 years for something like this. In truth, it is not a 'workshop manual' and I wish it gave more detail on what all the dials and buttons on the CSM dashboard are there for (some of the drawings are too small to decipher), but you do get information to help you steer through the roll and yaw and point the craft for a successful translunar injection.....so no more ossilating orbits between Pluto and Mars for me! There is also some useful information deriving from the later Apollo 13 debacle. It won't help you fix the defective main bus B undervolt but at least you'll understand the relationship between the fuel cells and oxygen tanks! Also contains useful information on how to use the urine dump properly. What a relief!

Check out Moon Landing by Richard Platt and David Hawlock as a great accompaniment for young and/or young at heart readers. Poptastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Apollo books ever published., 11 Jun. 2009
By 
P. White (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apollo 11 Manual: An Insight into the Hardware from the First Manned Mission to Land on the Moon (Hardcover)
This is a superb book. If you were lucky enough to the see the Discovery channel's 'Moon Machines' series then you'll have an idea what to expect. This is a history of the Apollo programme (and to a lesser extent the manned spaceflight programme) presented with excellent illustrations (original technical drawings, extremely rare photographs, great diagrams etc) and accompanied by well written and informative prose. If you appreciate Apollo or have any interest in spaceflight engineering then I would urge you to buy this book. It's VERY good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book hugely popular at Cheltenham Science Fair 2009, 12 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Apollo 11 Manual: An Insight into the Hardware from the First Manned Mission to Land on the Moon (Hardcover)
Co-Author Chris Riley gave a great lecture on Apollo 11 and introducing this superb Haynes manual at Cheltenham Science Fair 2009. Of course it was an immediate sell-out at the fair, and is a real joy to read. I was at City University, London studying control engineering when I followed the whole mission to the moon. As Chris says, it was a huge inspiration to many millions including technologists. Making this a Haynes manual is a wise choice, validating the Haynes attention to accuracy and fine detail and at the same time making a host of the fascinating Apollo technology and mission very accessible. The book is both an adventure in itself and is of great value to the aspiring engineer and student who wants to get to grips with one of the very real and most exciting adventures of the 20th century and beyond. 'Don't try this at home' at least unless you are a professional rocket scientist with a huge respect for safety, but as teenagers my college friend and I took great interest in how firework rockets and toy water-propelled rockets performed, while we eagerly followed each Apollo mission. This book and the detail of the moon landing bring back all of this excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lunar Module hypergolic propellant problems?, 19 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Apollo 11 Manual: An Insight into the Hardware from the First Manned Mission to Land on the Moon (Hardcover)
This is a fascinating book from Haynes, the publisher's of the well-known car workshop manuals.

Rather than read exactly like a workshop manual, the book is more like a slim-line encyclopaedia style volume that covers most of the aspects of the Apollo missions in sufficient detail and in plain English terms.

In its 196 pages, the book includes full colour photographs, cut-away diagrams, flow charts and explanations of everything from: space suit developments, the lunar module, fuel systems, rocket stages, instrument panels and more. The book also includes mini-biographies and pictures of the astronauts and key personnel involved in this astounding and inspiring endeavour together with the historical perspective of the space program.

What I liked about this book more than many others on the same subject is that it combined both the human interest side and practicalities of the space program, as well as the technology side of things which many of us find a bit baffling.

I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone interested in the subject and with the 40th Anniversary of the Apollo landings being commemorated; it helps explain the staggering achievements of the moon landings in an accessible format, for either the avid enthusiast or the more casual reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of: APOLLO 11 OWNERS WORKSHOP MANUAL published by HAYNES, 10 Sept. 2009
By 
Mikeo (hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Apollo 11 Manual: An Insight into the Hardware from the First Manned Mission to Land on the Moon (Hardcover)
If you think this book is going to be anything like that Haynes manual for your old Ford Cortina, you will be sadly mistaken. However If you are interested in the more technical aspects of Apollo/Saturn5 and its development, put in a way that practically anyone would understand, this is the book to buy. There is an excellent mix of text, illustrations and colour photos, many of which I have never seen before. Along with many snippets and little gems of information that you probably won't find elswhere (Detailed information on the LOL -'Little Old Ladies' painstakingly winding the cores for the primitive 'rope' guidance computer memory being just one example! )
Even once you have read through the book from cover to cover, it is the type of book that you can open at any page and easily read a single section or article again without having to start at page 1.
Please remember that if you really wanted the real owners workshop manual, the Saturn5 being so complex, I think that you would at least need a couple of warehouses to store it in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Apollo 11., 31 Aug. 2009
By 
G. J. Jeffery (Bristol, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apollo 11 Manual: An Insight into the Hardware from the First Manned Mission to Land on the Moon (Hardcover)
This is an interesting overview of not just the Apollo 11 moonshot, but of all the work that led up to it. Obviously, it's not a workshop manual - it couldn't possibly be - and it's not highly technical. For someone who actually saw that "one small step" on TV in July 1969, it is a readable book, with plenty of illustrations, to have on the bookshelf. I just hope that there will be a later edition with satellite photos of the actual landing sites, to silence the conspiracy theorists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Business, 4 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Apollo 11 Manual: An Insight into the Hardware from the First Manned Mission to Land on the Moon (Hardcover)
Just what I had been looking for. I was having problems with my retro thrusters and the local ford dealership just couldn't fix them.
With this manual, some double sided tape and some sticky backed plastic I now have a fully functioning moon module once again.
If you have the Apollo 11 at home you really must buy this.
(N.B. This is no good for the Apollo 13 version which had the exploding side panels fitted).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haynes goes ironic, 10 Aug. 2009
By 
Mr. Peter A. Wright "Pete" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apollo 11 Manual: An Insight into the Hardware from the First Manned Mission to Land on the Moon (Hardcover)
For those who were bought up in the era where car maintenance was changing a head gasket rather than adding a silly exhaust to the back of your car this is definitely not a Haynes Manual. The ones I owned were service procedures that gave disassembly processes and torques, this book is not any of that. So if you own a Saturn V and want to refit the Kerosene feed pipe to your first stage motor and were looking for the procedure and torque value of the fixings, sorry this book is not for you. If however you want an interesting book on Apollo with high levels of technical detail in areas you had not thought about previously; space suits for example, this is a really good buy. You can point and poke at the quality of a diagrams but for the price it is now really this is being a little silly. For anyone complaining about this not being a Haynes Manual you have missed the slightly ironic humour of using the familiar Haynes cover and thickness of book for something that took so many Engineers to create.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-entry is the reverse of lift off, 29 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apollo 11 Manual: An Insight into the Hardware from the First Manned Mission to Land on the Moon (Hardcover)
An excellent read - note that if you've seen the documentary series 'Moon Machines' then a lot of it isn't going to be completely new information to you, but that doesn't make it any less interesting. If you haven't seen that series... prepare to be fascinated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for Apollo aficionados, 13 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Apollo 11 Manual: An Insight into the Hardware from the First Manned Mission to Land on the Moon (Hardcover)
This is a rather good book. It goes into some nice technical detail, and uses some very nice drawings and photos from NASA's archives. There's some great descriptions about the hows and whys of the Saturn 5, the Lunar Excursion Module and the Command Module. It doesn't cover much of the history and leadup to the programme, but that's covered in a great many other books; that isn't the focus of this book.

A really worthwhile book to own. Plus it gets some good looks from people who think you have an actual Haynes manual for a Lunar module!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews