Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
17
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2013
The book is a excellent reference book of british car circuits hill climbs ect. there are lots of info it is well written.
The only downside was that the book was poorly packed and arrived in a clear post office bag because the original packaging had come open resulting in slight damage to the dust cover. The company did say they would change it I did not take up this option
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
Ever been curious about past and present venues? This tells you everything you would want to know and some good photo's.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
A well researched volume which lists any venue of a motor sport event that has been held in the British Isles ( including the channel isles). Each venue has the dates of when it was first used, and if it is no longer in use, when was last used. a reasonable number photographs enhance the text, showing the diverse number of vehicles used over the years. I was personally intrigued to find out a section of road I use quite often was once used as a hill climb in 1911. A book more for enthusiasts with an interest in motor racing history, it's original price tag of £35 being a bit steep for the casual reader, but if can find one for the price I paid (£6 inc. P&P) it is a worthy addition to any enthusiasts library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
A very comprehensive and well researched book, covers the whole of the UK and Ireland, including Channel Islands and the Isle of Man. You will find out about a Motor sport venue need you did not know way used in the past.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
An excellent book. The author is to be highly commended on his diligence and research and producing a very enjoyable book and an excellent dip in when you intend to visit parts of the country for the first time. Buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
A fantastic work,well written, and comprehensive, some great photos. So far I have found only one ommission, not bad for such a study!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
This is a different and very interesting book. It was purchased for my husband and he is very pleased with it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2012
This book was really going to be just another source of information for magazine articles but it has been a gem which deserves much greater acclaim. There are so many snippets about motorsport - mainly hillclimbs - which make such interesting reading. Of course, the first dip into the book always begins with the local area and I was engrossed to find places around the district which had been used for motoring competitions. Even if a place was only used once, it is recorded. It was amazing, too, when I discovered that some hillclimbs were taking place 110 years ago ( though as expected, the cars took minutes rather than seconds to complete the course ).
This book is a good read, well-written and illustrated with many photographs which have not been available to the public until now. Though the author, Julian Hunt, says it is his first and possibly only book, I would like to think that he could pick up his pen again to write more books on a motoring theme.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
Fills admirably a Gap in this Area. Will be of great use to Researchers and Enthusiasts alike. Nothing else like it. Congratulations to the efforts and perseverance of the Author.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
Arrived in 2 days - Wow, - my goodness that is impressive far exceeded what I expected hardback, big ,thick, heavy, good quality art paper lovely photographs 450 pages - and astonishingly comprehensive it must have taken many years to compile a fantastic reference work as well as a fascinating read. A must for the motor sport enthusiast or historian
Very pleased I bought it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse