Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truckers handbook....THE BIBLE
I CAN NOT RECOMMEND THIS BOOK ENOUGH.HAVING JUST PASSED MY CLASS 1 TEST AFTER HOLDING CLASS 2 FOR ONLY 6 MONTHS THIS BOOK IS FULL OF FANTASTIC TIPS IDEAS AND BASIC INFO ON ALL THE THINGS YOU WILL NEED TO LEARN...FROM HOW TO COUPLE UNCOUPLE OPEN CURTAINS ETC...A MUST FOR NEW DRIVERS...
Published on 22 May 2006 by Mr. G. K. Pass

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not all true
Most of the stuff is true but the bit about the tag axles is not about the truck stop at Lesmahagow is not . But still worth buying
Published on 1 Feb 2009 by Ms. J. M. Ford


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truckers handbook....THE BIBLE, 22 May 2006
By 
Mr. G. K. Pass (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I CAN NOT RECOMMEND THIS BOOK ENOUGH.HAVING JUST PASSED MY CLASS 1 TEST AFTER HOLDING CLASS 2 FOR ONLY 6 MONTHS THIS BOOK IS FULL OF FANTASTIC TIPS IDEAS AND BASIC INFO ON ALL THE THINGS YOU WILL NEED TO LEARN...FROM HOW TO COUPLE UNCOUPLE OPEN CURTAINS ETC...A MUST FOR NEW DRIVERS...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spend a little, get a LOAD of info., 19 Nov 2006
By 
Darren G. Farrell "happy trucker" (uk (somewhere)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
having been a hgv driver for qute a few years, i've read an awful lot of literature regarding every aspect of our difficult job.

it's good to see haynes bringing this book out as i feel it will be such a good tool for new drivers and also old hands alike.

what i am impressed with is the final section of the book giving truckstops and what services are available throughout the country (inc. ireland). well done haynes !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Fab Fantastic, 3 Nov 2007
By 
Rupert Loseby (Crawley, West Suusex, UK) - See all my reviews
Wow - I have just passed my "C" class exam and have not started driving yet as I can not find a job !!!!!
But this book is fantastic to read and the photo's / truckstops are really interesting to look at.
It also tells you about gears / Coupling and many other things.
This book is well worth the price.
Also a must is the "The AA Truckers close-up map" Rather large and heavy.
Keep on Trucking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for all drivers, 17 Jan 2007
By 
A. Forrest "rooster769" (Midland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is great (and small enough to carry with you at all times). It has loads of info on the safe operation of your vehicle, various types of gearboxes, tacho's etc and offers advice on how all of these operate. Subjects like first aid, driving hours, accident management etc are also included and all together provides a very useful source of information for old and new drivers. Excellent section at the rear with info on truck stops. At this price, an absolute must for anyone in the driving profession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRUCKER HAND BOOK, 1 Mar 2009
This review is from: Truckers' Handbook (Paperback)
Truckers' Handbook
A must for all truckers new and old alike. It is full of useful info from The Law, tasks that need to be carried out coupling and uncoupling , fifth wheel curtain siders fridge units. cab lay out between different makes of truck.
Drivers health tips, first aid . Govt bodies, contacts, foreign dictonary, and finally those all important feed stops . Overall a must have in every cab for todays busy trucker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 10 Mar 2011
This review is from: Truckers' Handbook (Paperback)
I am a recent member of the truckers profession having passed my class 2 and class 1 in the last few months. I have spent the last 21 years in the prison service and wanted a total contrast in my next job after taking early retirement. I was very naive thinking there was little to know once I had mastered the driving. How wrong could I be, the driving is a small part of the skills that truckers need to know to perform thier daily tasks. The Truckers Handbook is a must for the new driver, it is crammed with everything you need and much more. It is a book I will refer to many times in the coming months and beyond because no matter how much experience you have there will always be more to learn. I highly recommend this fountain of knowledge, it is well written and easy to find what you are looking for via the index pages. I would be very surprised if someone wanted to know about trucking, purchased this book and was not more than pleased with their choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book for Newbies and Old Hands alike, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truckers' Handbook (Paperback)
Excellent researched book by author, have the previous edition as well. I always like reading these books and when on agency work, I found it invaluable to carry with me, especially for all the tacho and gearbox configurations.

So many subjects covered but the important ones like tacho regulations are covered in depth but not like the actual regulation booklet, so clear and will keep you within the law.

Lots of tips on how to do parallel parking with a trailer/blind side reverses for example.

Excellent work by Lisa and we'll most probably see a third edition in the future as regulations change and if she is still driving by then!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truckers' Handbook (Paperback)
Covers most of what you will do within the 35 hours of Driver CPC.
Well worth buying as well if your new to trucking & learning the trade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive reference guide, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truckers' Handbook (Paperback)
An excellent handbook that encompasses a lot of very useful information. Covers virtually everything making it an excellent reference guide in addition to educational and useful companion on the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Handy Handbook, 26 Dec 2013
This review is from: Truckers' Handbook (Paperback)
This was bought for me as a present. It's not only a brilliant read but covers everything you could possibly need to know about truck driver!
Well worth it's price tag!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Truckers' Handbook
Truckers' Handbook by Lisa Marie Melbourne (Paperback - 31 July 2008)
Used & New from: 29.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews