Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed and enjoyable book
My first impression was that it was going to be just like the old Haynes Manuals - full of technical explanations and cutaways - which indeed it is - however this is much more. Very well written and illustrated throughout this book goes much further in discussion the Spitfire and contains many interesting stories and excellent photographs. Going to buy the Lancaster one...
Published on 19 Sept. 2009

versus
49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting
I received this book as a free gift as part of a magazine subscription so I can't really complain too much. The book is well produced and relatively interesting as it tells the Spitfire story from a different point of view (that of a restorer). But I must say I am disappointed as I had built a mental picture of what the book was going to be like and in reality it is...
Published on 10 Nov. 2008 by Nigel Heather


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed and enjoyable book, 19 Sept. 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Supermarine Spitfire: Owners' Workshop Manual (An Insight into Owning, Restoring, Servicing and Flying Britain's Legendary World War 2 Fighter) (Hardcover)
My first impression was that it was going to be just like the old Haynes Manuals - full of technical explanations and cutaways - which indeed it is - however this is much more. Very well written and illustrated throughout this book goes much further in discussion the Spitfire and contains many interesting stories and excellent photographs. Going to buy the Lancaster one next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting, 10 Nov. 2008
By 
Nigel Heather (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supermarine Spitfire: Owners' Workshop Manual (An Insight into Owning, Restoring, Servicing and Flying Britain's Legendary World War 2 Fighter) (Hardcover)
I received this book as a free gift as part of a magazine subscription so I can't really complain too much. The book is well produced and relatively interesting as it tells the Spitfire story from a different point of view (that of a restorer). But I must say I am disappointed as I had built a mental picture of what the book was going to be like and in reality it is very different. Being a Haynes manual I expected it to be similar to their car workshop manuals but for a Spitfire. That is it would tell you had to strip down, replace, repair and service your spitfire with lots of detailed exploded diagrams and photos. I don't own a Spitfire so it wouldn't have been of practical value but all the same, would have been quite interesting. In reality the only thing common to the Haynes car workshop manual is the layout and look of the front cover. Instead the book is largely anecdotal about spitfires that have been found and restored. It's still okay but I'd have been disappointed with it if I had paid for it and would have considered seeking a refund. My advice would be not to dismiss it outright on the basis of my review but please try and look at it before purchase to see if it is what you'd expect and want.

Cheers, Nigel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have for Spitfire fans..., 12 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Supermarine Spitfire: Owners' Workshop Manual (An Insight into Owning, Restoring, Servicing and Flying Britain's Legendary World War 2 Fighter) (Hardcover)
It's not a 'Haynes Manual' but it's an excellent blend of images, technical detail and history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supermarine Spitfire, 29 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Supermarine Spitfire: Owners' Workshop Manual (An Insight into Owning, Restoring, Servicing and Flying Britain's Legendary World War 2 Fighter) (Hardcover)
This was purchased as a Christmas present along with the book of the Lancaster Bomber for my husband. They were given to him on Christmas Day he's devouring both books which he says are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spitfire Manual - does the job!, 11 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Supermarine Spitfire: Owners' Workshop Manual (An Insight into Owning, Restoring, Servicing and Flying Britain's Legendary World War 2 Fighter) (Hardcover)
Bought this as a gift for a friend, who was very impressed. As an aviation enthusiast, he was delighted at both the engineering and historical side of the manual. The need for step by step directions as per the original car manuals is unnecessary in this case as the majority of us will never be able to own these amazing aircraft and the amount of detailed engineering photos and diagrams adequately complement the historical side. Not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spitfire Owners Manual, 25 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supermarine Spitfire: Owners' Workshop Manual (An Insight into Owning, Restoring, Servicing and Flying Britain's Legendary World War 2 Fighter) (Hardcover)
Bought for a friend who is a Spitfire Nutcase. Having read it cover to cover he pronounced it "the best read, sexiest book I have ever owned". Go figure... :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great intro, 10 Oct. 2010
By 
F. S. Lujan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supermarine Spitfire: Owners' Workshop Manual (An Insight into Owning, Restoring, Servicing and Flying Britain's Legendary World War 2 Fighter) (Hardcover)
I got a lot of enjoyment from this book and ordered the Hurricane one straight away. Very addictive good quality hardback. Very well researched and accessible to the non-Spit expert like me. Excellent stories that intrigued me to research further: I'm now reading my way through BOB pilot biographies to get the fuller story. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modellers must, 17 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. P. Phillips (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supermarine Spitfire: Owners' Workshop Manual (An Insight into Owning, Restoring, Servicing and Flying Britain's Legendary World War 2 Fighter) (Hardcover)
Great item, the essential guide for anyone interested in this iconic aircraft. i purchased as a valuable aid to assist me with scale modelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars useful & fun !!, 28 April 2008
By 
Machinehead (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supermarine Spitfire: Owners' Workshop Manual (An Insight into Owning, Restoring, Servicing and Flying Britain's Legendary World War 2 Fighter) (Hardcover)
Although not an exhaustive technical chronology of this iconic plane this book is a very revealing perspective from various angles. Especially appealing to the non expert it exposes information that would normally be difficult to aquire.
Particularly interesting are the practical issues of flying the Spit today , respect is due to those with the wallet & fortitude to provide the vast majority with the joy of watching it in action !!
Refreshing and worth it's place on the bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not to be missedas, 7 April 2009
By 
Peter White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supermarine Spitfire: Owners' Workshop Manual (An Insight into Owning, Restoring, Servicing and Flying Britain's Legendary World War 2 Fighter) (Hardcover)
as an aircraft museum restorer presently building a spitfire, this book is invalueable i would reccomend it to anyone with an interest in aircraft,a well presented book worthy of any book shelf.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews