Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars10
3.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2008
I must admit this must be the fifth adventure focussed motorcycle book I have read in as many months. Unfortunately just prior to this book I was reading the fifth addition + ammendments of the Adventure Motorcycling Handbook (AMH) by Chris Scott. I've also been on the web sites of BMW, KTM, Touratech etc as I'm kitting out my bike at present. When reading this book I would say that it follows the exact format of the Adventure Motorcycling Handbook, the only thing that is different is the pages on papaerwork are a few sections later, other than that it is just a summary.....which bike you should choose, what extra bits do you need, tyres, how to ride on different surfaces and then moves on to a couple of trips. The problem is that it has 20% of the info that you get in AMH. It does have much bigger pictures, but then again the majority of the pictures come directly from the KTM or BMW brochures, look at the picture of the the two KTM 990's on the bridge, they are directly out of the marketing 2008 brochure, look at the two page spread of the picture of the BMW in the Contents section, it comes straight out of the 2008 BMW Brochure, lots of pictures from Touratech or Joe Pichler. So my conclusion is, if you want a book that is a summary of a very good book by Chris Scott, has some nice pictures 80% supplied by KTM and BMW Motorrad, Joe Pichler (KTM rider) and Touratech, then buy this book and stick it on your coffee table. If you are serious about Adventure Motorcycling then read other books at nearly half the list price.
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2008
It really is a first-class read, simplifying and de-mystifying Adventure Motorcycling. Sure there's a lot of BMW pictures, but I ride a KTM and still couldn't put it down!
There's something for everyone in this book, even non-motorcyclists can appreciate the quality of the photography. Seeing real people riding real bikes in real overland conditions really helped me focus on the trip I want to do, so much so that I've booked my ticket for next spring!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 November 2008
I bought this book a few months ago in the hope that I could learn a lot more about Adventure Motorcycling. I am a complete novice to bikes, riding and adventure motorcycling.

After reading a number of other books including Long Way Round and Way to Go: Two of the World's Great Motorcycle Journeys I deemed it more appropriate to get a more guide book rather than adventure story.

The attraction with this was the level of detail, not too techy and yet not too text driven.

The content of the book is extremely interesting and opens up many avenues to further explore. I found the large pictures extremely interesting, something which is often lacked in other books. The content within the book is very interesting and i found it to cover all of the basics which i might have questions about, and more importantly it gave me lots of information to look into including websites and books.

One part i found especially useful was the three stories in the last 40 pages which gave a diverse overview of three different groups of people's travels and many of the problems they had to overcome. This really gives you something to look into and think about.

I would definitely recommend this book to someone in a similar position to me. I don't know much, yet... so i'm not so sure how useful this would be in the future. But right now, it's a great first start, and the very large pictures are especially great!

One little comment about the book is that some of the text flows over the images in parts which make a little bit of the text hard to read. it's not completely annoying, just a litle irritating!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
A light read with lots of pictures, good book for the coffee table. Very good for basic info in digestible chunks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2009
This book provides an introduction to adventure motorcycling for the inexperienced rider. If you have a couple of trips under your belt, this book is unlikely to teach you anything new (and it does not have to be months-long trip though a Mongolian desert, a summer holiday in rural areas of Europe will do).
The book is excellent for giving you the urge to start traveling - heaps of high quality, inspiring photos from BMW, KTM and others is very inspiring. However, in terms of good, useful advice the book's offers are limited. For example: few people needs a book to explain that if traveling in remote areas where fuel and water is scarce, then it is wise to carry extra fuel and water. What would be useful, though would be good advise on how to actually carry this - how could you modify your bike to carry extra fuel, what to look out for, etc. But this kind of thing does not exist in the book.
Fine to stick on the coffee table.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2008
A brilliantly worded and laid out book detailing all you would ever need to know to get started and plan for a two wheeled trip. The author has managed to pass on his knowledge in a logical and easily readable way. Everything you could ever hope to be covered has been, from inoculations to bike modifications. A wealth of knowledge on every page with some great photography to top it off.

I would highly recommend this book for both the experienced motorcyclist looking for adventure and needing valuable advice regarding logistics and planning, as well as the armchair enthusiast who dreams of exploration.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
Brilliant present for an adventure biker
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
okay with piccies and that !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
Nice pictures
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2010
A great 'coffee table' book which certainly wets the appetite to reading and learning more about Adventure Motorcycling. This book covers all aspects and topics of this increasingly popular passtime. Highly recommended, even my partner enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)