Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, 14 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Colin Chapman: Inside the Innovator (Hardcover)
At last a book that captures Chapman as an engineer. Karl Ludvigsen has done what no one else had managed to, and portrayed him as he was: genius, faults and all. I was lucky enough to have worked closely with Chapman for 9 years, and reading this book brought back so many wonderful memories of those years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Research Team, 13 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Colin Chapman: Inside the Innovator (Hardcover)
This book is a readable and detailed account of the achievements and failures of the working life of Colin Chapman. The methodology of chapter organisation is particularly friendly as it allows reading them out of sequence if, for example, you are more interested in aerodynamics or personalities rather than transmissions or engines. I have to add that I am the "team of researchers/helpers" speculated by Mr Millar in his review of 17 August. Karl Ludvigsen is supremely hard working and he himself uses the resources he has collected over many years. My less than 200 hours a year, mostly spent keeping documents in an accessible order, have minimal influence on the quality or volume of his output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs an Editor, 17 Aug. 2010
By 
John G. Millar (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colin Chapman: Inside the Innovator (Hardcover)
This book deals with Colin Chapman's contributions to automotive technology by way of a series of themed chapters - concepts, engines, transmissions, suspensions, structures, aerodynamics etc. The book is very comprehensive as you'd expect from Karl Ludvigsen and initially I was very impressed. But as the book wore on (and it is a big book)I felt that the same ground was being covered again and again, albeit with a slightly different focus each time around. I don't know how Karl writes so many big books but I suspect that he has a team of researchers/helpers on hand to get all the material marshalled together. I felt that the book could have been improved with a bit of editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colin Chapman - Inside the Innovator, 22 Jun. 2010
By 
This review is from: Colin Chapman: Inside the Innovator (Hardcover)
For anybody who is interested in the ideas and technology behind the greatest innovations in motor sport, this book is for you. Packed full of images and technical drawings, this is a masterpiece of the highest calibre. The insight into the origin of aerodynamics for one is unparalleled. This combined with many other fascinating areas of racing car design makes this book 400 pages of essential reading.

Carl Gilkeson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detailed and fascinating, 15 Aug. 2011
By 
Ben Edwards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Colin Chapman: Inside the Innovator (Hardcover)
An in depth look at Chapman's creative brilliance and engineering legacy. Split into chapters looking at his ideas as developed in different areas of car design. Very much about Chapman the engineer and the technical achievements of Lotus as a whole, not so much of the human side. Great read from cover to cover or as a valuable reference tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good item, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colin Chapman: Inside the Innovator (Hardcover)
highly technical, and good value for money some item on the first cars made the book a good read, so all in all brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colin Chapman: Inside the Innovator (Hardcover)
Exhaustively researched and it shows have read the Chapman book by Jabby Crombac and this is as good text and drawings are excellent and explain his concepts well. Pictures are all superb lots that were new to me. The book is well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for any older motoracing fan., 6 May 2015
By 
Mrs. J. Bebb "Jude5197" (Bampton, Oxfordshire, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colin Chapman: Inside the Innovator (Hardcover)
Perfect for my husband. He works in the industry and Colin was an inspiration for him. Was a great gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colin Chapman: Inside the Innovator (Hardcover)
Bought as a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delivery of order, 30 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Colin Chapman: Inside the Innovator (Hardcover)
Gave them a bad review before have now changed to 4 but stiil waiting for order maybe still in post
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colin Chapman: Inside the Innovator
Colin Chapman: Inside the Innovator by Karl Ludvigsen (Hardcover - 4 Mar. 2010)
£35.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews