Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best technical analysis book on F1 cars
I've collected a number of formula 1 books, covering the technical side of the F1 cars, these include Formula 1 technology, The quest for speed, The anatomy & development of the formula one racing car, and The science of speed (also by David Tremayne, but a different book)
If you're interested in an introduction to the F1 cars, The science of Formula 1 design is by...
Published on 3 Aug 2004 by Mr P Baker

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic, but truthful
If you are new to the sport, this is a mighty book. It is very broad and the pictures are fantastic. The text is good and the editing sharp.
However, for those that already know the basics, there is nothing new here. Having followed F1 since the early 90s, it did not teach me anything, which was disappointing.
If you want a first step, this is a great book, but...
Published on 9 Sep 2004 by rainmeister2


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best technical analysis book on F1 cars, 3 Aug 2004
By 
Mr P Baker (Crewe, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I've collected a number of formula 1 books, covering the technical side of the F1 cars, these include Formula 1 technology, The quest for speed, The anatomy & development of the formula one racing car, and The science of speed (also by David Tremayne, but a different book)
If you're interested in an introduction to the F1 cars, The science of Formula 1 design is by far the best.
The chapters cover all the important areas like aerodynamics, chassis, engine, transmission, electronics, suspension & steering, brakes and tyres.
The aerodynamics chapter includes sections on front wings, noses (with Willaims latest "Walrus" nose covered), barge boards, sidepods, undertray, airboxes, rear wheel scallops, rear wings, diffuser, and gurney flaps, etc.
The book also goes through the manufacture process of the chassis, with lots of colour photographs, and the crash tests that it has to withstand.
In the suspension and steerng chapter, there are diagrams, that have enabled me to fully understand the difference between the "single-keel" chassis and the "twin-keel" chassis. Something I've heard about but could never find much information about.
Overall this book is BRILLIANT, has lots of colour photographs and diagrams (by Giogio Piola, who has a series of very good yearly technical analysis books) and is completely up-to-date, it has a section of the future of the sport and includes the transcript from the press briefing with FIA President Max Mosley at Monaco on 4th May 2004, plus the proposed new rules.
If your after a book on the history of the F1 car, look elsewhere.
If you want a book on the latest F1 cars, get this one, I would like to give it 6 stars as I am so impressed by it, plus for the price Amazon are selling it for, it is a true bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic, but truthful, 9 Sep 2004
If you are new to the sport, this is a mighty book. It is very broad and the pictures are fantastic. The text is good and the editing sharp.
However, for those that already know the basics, there is nothing new here. Having followed F1 since the early 90s, it did not teach me anything, which was disappointing.
If you want a first step, this is a great book, but more experienced fans will get more out of Giorgio Piolas books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great drawings and photos. The book gives some great insights into F1 design that I have not seen in other F1 technical books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for anyone doing Mech Eng, or just F1 fan, 16 Jan 2010
By 
J. Lee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read the book over the summer and found it really insightful. I didn't know much about F1 before and now, I have learned so much, not only about F1, but also about the way Manufacturing, Design, technology come together in F1, and I consequently mentioned it in my interview at Cambridge and got an offer. It is one of those books that just gives you a nice picture of engineering in context, and simultaneously prepares you for a Eng course.
The diagrams are really nice, and I recommend this book for anyone doing Mech Eng. It should give a flavour about the pinnacle of Automotive engineering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars below expectations, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For the price I was expecting a lot more. The book is more like a description of how amazing Formula 1 is and how much science is put into it. Hellooo, we know that so therefore some formulas would have helped or some examples of the processes or even some detailed drawings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New book for formula 1 lovers, 23 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. Gail J. Gray "SCHUMACHERGIRL1956" (Marlow, Buckinghamshire,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Science of Formula 1 Design: Expert Analysis of the Anatomy of the Modern Grand Prix Car (2nd edition) (Hardcover)
I have not read this book yet but i will certainly buy it, to go to my formula 1 book collections.It is nice to see more formula 1 books especially if it has my favourite driver involved which is Michael Schumacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Science of Formula 1 Design: Expert Analysis of the Anatomy of the Modern Grand Prix Car (2nd edition)
Used & New from: £23.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews