Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good beginner book
good book for rookie campers, explains lots and tips good. written with a sense of humour too!
Published on 15 July 2007 by camping gal

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better
I've rated this book with 3 stars, but if i was new to camping it might of got 4 stars. I bought the book hoping it could teach an experienced camper some new tricks, it didn't! I disagree with some of the authors conclusions, for example he doesn't think catalogues etc should include floor plans, because he thinks you should always see a tent up before you purchase. So...
Published on 13 Nov 2008 by J. Teppin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good beginner book, 15 July 2007
This review is from: The Camping Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Camping for All the Family (Hardcover)
good book for rookie campers, explains lots and tips good. written with a sense of humour too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for the 'newby' camper, 30 Jan 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Camping Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Camping for All the Family (Hardcover)
Having not camped since childhood, I was a bit nervous about camping again, as an adult with children. I was looking for something that would give me a few hints and tips about what to expect, about what to take and what would be best left at home. This book was great, it went through the basics, and gave me the confidence to introduce my own children to camping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 13 Nov 2008
By 
J. Teppin "teppin" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Camping Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Camping for All the Family (Hardcover)
I've rated this book with 3 stars, but if i was new to camping it might of got 4 stars. I bought the book hoping it could teach an experienced camper some new tricks, it didn't! I disagree with some of the authors conclusions, for example he doesn't think catalogues etc should include floor plans, because he thinks you should always see a tent up before you purchase. So what happens if you see an Internet bargain and you are good at maths and interpreting plans? So long as you know what you're after with regards to porch area and spec etc and don't take berth sizes seriously, it's hard to go wrong.

The author doesn't really stress the importance of types of camping and how that should effect your purchases. For example weekend camping, holiday camping etc. Your tent and equipment should reflect how much time you intend spending in your tent and how many meals you will cook yourself. For example if you only go away for a few odd weekends a year, what's wrong with gas canisters and battery operated lanterns?

The author obviously loves traditional camping with camp fires and canvas tents and to be honest i miss scout camps too. But if you're a group of lads planning a weekend of camping and beer or a family after convenience, this isn't a book for you. You'd be better off talking to an experienced "camper", so to speak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous manual, 23 July 2011
By 
Mims (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Camping Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Camping for All the Family (Hardcover)
I like to have books in the house which reflect my hobbies - manuals which I can dip into if I want to make a purchase and need some advice, or have to revise some technique or procedure which I haven't practiced for a while. The Camping Manual fulfills these purposes exactly. I also enjoy re-reading it, just for the sheer pleasure of reliving past camping experiences through it's pages. It describes itself as a guide to family camping, so there are certain areas which it does not cover, but I am very satisfied with it. I haven't come across a "how to camp" book which I have enjoyed so much, and it is lavishly illustrated throughout. I would recommend it highly if you want an informative book about a very enjoyable pastime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good beginner guide, 5 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Camping Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Camping for All the Family (Hardcover)
I bought this and read it before heading to the camping shop to buy my first tent and associated equipment. The book means you can ask intelligent questions about what you want to buy but I'd still recommend visiting a shop where the people there can also offer advice.

This book is more about demystifying the jargon and equipment of camping rather than a guide you'll come back to time and time again. I'm not knocking that but for a book to cover so many things it has to skim the surface of certain things.

If like me you think camping is something you'll be investing in soon, you will find this book a good first step to working out what to buy, how not to destroy your tent the first time you use it and how to make the experience as pleasant as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Camping Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Camping for All the Family (Haynes Manual), 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A typical Haynes manual, an informative book which has helpful hints and tips and covers the equipment of camping rather than a guide. Ideal first time camping book to have on the book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for Beginners, 14 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Camping Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Camping for All the Family (Hardcover)
If you are just starting to camp then this is a very pleasant helpful read, however it is fast becoming a little dated and so once past the beginner stage for most of your querries I would visit []

SH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars and in very good condition, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Camping Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Camping for All the Family (Hardcover)
Very informative book, and in very good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Camping Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Camping for All the Family (Hardcover)
Excellent product, fast delivery, thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Camping manual, 9 July 2009
By 
B. Harrison "amazon junkie" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Camping Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Camping for All the Family (Hardcover)
Was a gift but had a look before handover and seemed to have some handy tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Camping Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Camping for All the Family
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews