Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality Colour Photo Guides
Was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the guides in this book!

It is written in a plain easy-to-follow way for readers of any proficiency from non-mechanically minded to the more competent.
Really you'll want to buy this book if you plan on doing a few jobs yourself including changing the cambelt, starter motor, driveshaft, dampers, brakes, repairing...
Published on 14 Aug 2007 by Reinvent

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok... but could be better
Well... the book is an easy read... but I question the profile of the target reader!

If you are buying the book to find out more about the MX5 model history, then it will provide some of that information, but probably leave you looking for more detail.

If you are buying the book to help with routine maintenance, then it hits the spot for someone who...
Published on 26 April 2010 by BestGear


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality Colour Photo Guides, 14 Aug 2007
This review is from: Do It Up: Mazda MX-5: A Practical Guide to Renovation on a Budget (Hardcover)
Was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the guides in this book!

It is written in a plain easy-to-follow way for readers of any proficiency from non-mechanically minded to the more competent.
Really you'll want to buy this book if you plan on doing a few jobs yourself including changing the cambelt, starter motor, driveshaft, dampers, brakes, repairing electric windows.

The guides are really excellent with brilliant colour photos, tools required, etc. Though not as thorough as Rod's workshop manuals, the quality of the pictures make the guides in this book much easier to follow and the little boxes containing tips are really good.
The routine maintenance section is quality too especially for the novice.
There are some great guides to hood fitting & instrument dial face changing too.
This book also has a good list of part suppliers and websites at the back of the book.
Please note that this book is not really designed to help with fault-finding for which I would highly recommend Rod's workshop manuals (also available on Amazon).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good and lives up to its title!, 12 Jun 2010
By 
Tin Tactoo "Tin Tactoo" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Do It Up: Mazda MX-5: A Practical Guide to Renovation on a Budget (Hardcover)
I brought this based on reviews within this section and I wasn't disappointed although it does not cover everything such as the hood section like renewing one etc., but as a basic no frills book about 'the basics', its worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, covers all the basics.., 11 Feb 2009
By 
A. Warren (Mars) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Do It Up: Mazda MX-5: A Practical Guide to Renovation on a Budget (Hardcover)
If you've got an MX5 then I'm sure you'll find something in it that's useful.. this was recommended by one of the owners clubs and I bought it for my Dad.. He's used it on quite a few occasions to do little bit's on his car..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MX 5 for the first timer, 11 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. R. Crowley (S. Staffordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Do It Up: Mazda MX-5: A Practical Guide to Renovation on a Budget (Hardcover)
I bought an MX5 as a hobby with no previous experience. This book is the ideal companion, allowing me to maintain an repair it myself at minimal cost. It's a bit like having an expert on hand in the garage to guide you step by step. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MX5 REVIEW, 17 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do It Up: Mazda MX-5: A Practical Guide to Renovation on a Budget (Hardcover)
IT WAS JUST WHAT I WAS EXPECTING FULL OF ALL THE INFORMATION IN SIMPLE TERMS. RECOMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok... but could be better, 26 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do It Up: Mazda MX-5: A Practical Guide to Renovation on a Budget (Hardcover)
Well... the book is an easy read... but I question the profile of the target reader!

If you are buying the book to find out more about the MX5 model history, then it will provide some of that information, but probably leave you looking for more detail.

If you are buying the book to help with routine maintenance, then it hits the spot for someone who has done little work on vehicles and needs a push and some confidence. It is however much more user friendly than a Haynes Workshop manual, so ideal for the "new" home mechanic.

If you are buying the book to provide an insight into the various tasks of restoration of an early example, then, I would guess the generic vehicle basics you already have knowledge of so its the detailed stuff you need... and that is what is book is sadly missing!

This book could be vastly improved by having more real world examples and solutions for the many issues found when working on the MX5.

For example, rust on sills - a brief mention, but no work shown on the rectification approach. Common faults like the rear number plate light brackets turning into dust on UK cars... water ingress into the cabin.... how to deal with rusted fastners in locations you cannot easily reach, replacement of the gear shift boots, de-tango-ing the lights, - all of this leaves the reader with zero or little guidance. I would have also liked more narration on some jobs - such as the nose cone removal - when it does not go to plan if the fastners have all seized up, what is plan B? Same goes for many of the jobs you will do with restoring an older example.

One plus point with the book is that the pictures are helpful - many more than the B&W pictures you normally find in a Haynes Workshop manual plus they are in colour.

In summary, I feel that the authors should have spent more time either with the cars they write about or do more extensive research on the many MX5 websites to find out what the issues are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do It Up: Mazda MX-5: A Practical Guide to Renovation on a Budget (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book though sadly I no longer have a Mk 1 I've had to give it away. Could have done with a section in the Mk2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mazda MX5 Do It Up, 28 Dec 2009
This review is from: Do It Up: Mazda MX-5: A Practical Guide to Renovation on a Budget (Hardcover)
Useful value publication. Good for beginners I would think being an amateur starter myself !.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy DIY!, 6 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do It Up: Mazda MX-5: A Practical Guide to Renovation on a Budget (Hardcover)
This book provides very clear and easy to use instructions. Have already replaced original lights for halogen ones using the book and couldn't have been easier. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Do It Up: Mazda MX-5: A Practical Guide to Renovation on a Budget
Used & New from: £12.30
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews