Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ogri rules, sample at his best, 5 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: The Ogri Collection: No. 3 (OGRI Collection) (Hardcover)
Got this for christmas, I have read it numerous times and seen new sub stories each time.. Great for motorcyclist and people who enjoy a laugh and a beer... Paul Sample doing what he does best since the 70s...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Own a Bike? You need to read this!, 11 Dec 2010
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ogri Collection: No. 3 (OGRI Collection) (Hardcover)
This third, and perhaps the best, Ogri collection shows how well Paul Sample has matured in his skills and gained great depth of subtlety in his drawings, and yet retained the intense magic. The whole book is in sumptuous full colour. It covers strip numbers 286 (1999) through to 349 (2005).

There is so much detail in some of the pages that a magnifier could be of great benefit! There is an excellent `introduction' by Rodney Reason and Prof Glumduck-Kolbenshlag telling us how Paul Sample got into the business.

If you have read Bike magazine, then you will be familiar with Ogri and his friends and enemies, the side-splitting humour, and the politically incorrect revenge, all glossing over an eternally true message "You are a soft vehicle, drive safely!" If you are a biker and do not know Ogri then this is a treat awaiting you. It is a most unusual Haynes Manual...

The scary part about these three collections is that I used to know people like the characters Paul Sample captures so well. From put-upon Malcolm, to ultra-normal Rodney Reason and his Volvo, to our cool and laid-back heroes Ogri and Kickstart, and the true star of the series, glamorous, independent Mitzi; I've met them all in their real-life guises. Or at least when looking at the living beings I could not but help thinking about Sample's larger than life characters and muttering, 'Ah-ha, this was the inspiration for ****'.

The detail in every page of drawings is wonderful; there is something new every time I look at them. If it were not impossible I'd have thought that the book has a life of its own, and the pages are changing day by day...

See also the first Ogri Collection, and the second Ogri Collection. And no, I have no connection with Paul Sample, but as a former biker with the scars to prove it I just appreciate the relevance of his excellent work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for bikers, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ogri Collection: No. 3 (OGRI Collection) (Hardcover)
If you have ever ridden a motor bike than you must read Ogri, the every day mishaps of biking, but I guess if you are a biker, then Ogri will already be known to you. The drawings have so much details with stories within stories, you will be finding things each time you look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ogri biker hero, 20 April 2013
This review is from: The Ogri Collection: No. 3 (OGRI Collection) (Hardcover)
An easy read for those days you want to lay back and have not have to think to much.
There's loads of detail within the pictures that you don't always see the first time of reading.
I'll be definitely getting books 1 & 2 .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant purchase, 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ogri Collection: No. 3 (OGRI Collection) (Hardcover)
I bought for my husband who is an OGRI fan. He likes it but but says that he prefers the oldies 1970 stories which are much better. Fast delivery, arrived in a acouple of days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: The Ogri Collection: No. 3 (OGRI Collection) (Hardcover)
got it as a present for my dad and he loved it. i've read it and i also love it. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First of many!, 7 July 2009
By 
This review is from: The Ogri Collection: No. 3 (OGRI Collection) (Hardcover)
Bought this as a birthday present for my partner,who's been a fan of Ogri for many years.He was thrilled with it and fascinated too with all the detail on each page.Now i know what to get him for Christmas,next birthday etc etc-this is definitely the first of many Ogri books in his collection!
Review by Cazj58, not R.Johnstone- for some reason Amazon keeps putting my daughters name instead of mine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uber Fan, 20 Nov 2013
By 
Chris L (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ogri Collection: No. 3 (OGRI Collection) (Hardcover)
Massive fan of Ogri and this annual does not disappoint. Paul Sample cartoon creation has been entertaining me for years and a pretty true refection of the average grief that a biker puts up with. This is a good quality collection that will keep you reading for hours. The only downer is that Paul Sample has stopped doing Ogri cartoons for Bike Magazine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars heart warming stuff, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ogri Collection: No. 3 (OGRI Collection) (Hardcover)
If ur a true experienced biker u will love everything from ogri. Buy this its great. Amongst the best of ogri.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just a Sample of Ogri, 4 Aug 2013
By 
Bored@Work (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ogri Collection: No. 3 (OGRI Collection) (Hardcover)
Like most fans, I got into Ogri when he appeared in Bike magazine for the early 70s onward. I have missed a lot of these strips so finding them in a nice sized full colour hardback collection it was time to re-aquaint myself with Ogri, Mal and all the other characters that populate Sample's world. Great art, funny stories and tons of incidental goings-on in each frame this is a cracking collection for any fan. I will search out others. If you like Ogri, bikes or comic strips then give it a whirl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9655330)

This product

The Ogri Collection: No. 3 (OGRI Collection)
The Ogri Collection: No. 3 (OGRI Collection) by Paul Sample (Hardcover - 8 Nov 2005)
Used & New from: 24.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews