Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2009
This book is wonderful. Simply wonderful. For anyone approaching 50 who has or had even a passing interest in motor racing this book will bring back so many evocative memories.
The cars are magnificent; stick thin tyres, mirrors you couldn't see to shave in and safety measures so poor that if they were doubled, it meant that somebody had put a second hay bale out.
I cannot allow the criticism of some of the photos for their lack of sharp detail. remenber, the cameras used then were of a design that had changed little from WW2-and as any schoolboy nows, blur = action.
Haynes-Amazon are to be congratulated on these books. You can actualy smell the burning rubber.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2006
Summary: Stunning visual record of Formula 1 racing in the 1960's.

This is an amazing book. It is exactly as the publishers synopsis indicates - a truly wonderful photographic account of Formula One racing during the 1960's. Some photo's are a bit on the blurry side - but these are made up in quantity and variety and there are some absolutely stunning photo's of the era. Most of the images are backed up with interesting anecdotes that provide highly entertaining and informative reading.

The book is very well laid out - each year is preceded with a short and concise summary of events that take place that year and is concluded with a page of data covering teams and drivers, results etc. Very concise and not overdone as is the case with so many books of this type.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who cherishes the memories of the Formula One era of the 1960's.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
If you are reading this review - you will probably love this book (which by the way is quite large)
I was born in 1954 - the drivers of the 60s were my heroes - but many magazines had mostly black and white pictures with just a few colour ones.
This book contains a good selection of colour pictures of F1 cars from each year. It includes the famous drivers but also some of the less well known drivers / cars. The picture captions point out some of the more relaxed attitudes of the 1960s (spectator access to pits etc) and lack of safety precautions - some of which now seem just reckless.
If you are not interested in this period this book will not interest you (so if your partner is into current F1, you will be taking a big risk buying this as a gift).
Good value at the price via Amazon - this could be a future collectors item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2011
This is a really good book. If you want in-depth facts and figures, this book will not provide that as it was not supposed to. The photos are good, but not as varied as the later books, but that may be down to camera technology.

It was good to see how the F1 cars changed between 1960-1969, and I liked some of the shots of the engines and mechanical hardware. Honda's car with its octopus-like exhuast (McLaren F1 call their current exhaust the octopus) showing outside the back of their car is impressive. I have the bookes covering the later years, and the 1950-59 on preorder. I recommend this and the other books, and hope to see an `F1 in Camera 1990-1999' book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
Bought as a gift for my formula 1 mad father at Christmas, along with other books from the series. He loves all of them; lots of interesting photos, statistics and notes. Particularly good that the books include minor drivers and teams, as well as those that are more well known.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2009
I have all three books in this series (1970-79 and 1980-89)and this one is the weakest. Having said that it is still a very enjoyable book and well worth having. In fairness the author explains the photographic shortcomings in the introduction. Basically a lack of colour images for the period as photographers shot mostly in black and white due to cost. (the book is full colour) Some photo's are a little on the grainy or blurry side but this can add to the sense of nostalgia. Compared to the other two it doesn't quite match their sense of style and artistry but this is more a case of praise for them than critisism for this one. The general layout follows the pattern of the other two.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
It's a photo book about Formula 1 included in a collection of 5 books. I've read many other books about formula 1 issued in italy but I think I'll buy the entire collection because it's very complete and full of details.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2008
This is just one from a great series of books on motor sport in years past (the exception being the BTCC).

Good use of images and informative extended captions mean it is easy to browse and you will learn something each time. Background details from a clearly knowledgeable and enthusiastic author bring the machines, personalities and period to life.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)