Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but occationally lacks detail
I've had many Haynes manuals before. They do cover pretty much everything about the car, but in some instances, there is too little detail for some fiddly jobs. Wouldn't do without one though.
Published on 14 Aug. 2009 by G. Lean

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Look elsewhere!
As someone else has said, this book covers too many models and it misses out a lot of steps. A half hour job is often condensed into a one line statement with a poor photograph to support it. Ultimately, it depends on how much you want to play with your car. This is OK for the absolute basics but I'd recommend a diffenrent publisher for more detailed steps on these...
Published on 15 Aug. 2009 by C. Boyce


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Look elsewhere!, 15 Aug. 2009
By 
C. Boyce (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: VW Golf and Bora 4-cyl Petrol and Diesel Service and Repair Manual: 2001-2003 (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
As someone else has said, this book covers too many models and it misses out a lot of steps. A half hour job is often condensed into a one line statement with a poor photograph to support it. Ultimately, it depends on how much you want to play with your car. This is OK for the absolute basics but I'd recommend a diffenrent publisher for more detailed steps on these vehicles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but occationally lacks detail, 14 Aug. 2009
By 
G. Lean (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: VW Golf and Bora 4-cyl Petrol and Diesel Service and Repair Manual: 2001-2003 (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
I've had many Haynes manuals before. They do cover pretty much everything about the car, but in some instances, there is too little detail for some fiddly jobs. Wouldn't do without one though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough detail specific my car, 22 April 2009
By 
T. Mohammed "Than" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VW Golf and Bora 4-cyl Petrol and Diesel Service and Repair Manual: 2001-2003 (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
I purchased this product in order to replace a faulty cabin ventilation air blower motor. This is a tricky motor to locate as it requires the removal of various bits of cabin trim in order to get to the ventilation system. I found the photos in the manual not as helpful as I would have good quality, expanded, schematic diagrams. As for other repairs, servicing, or maintenance issues. The book tries to cover too many different types of Golf/Bora to give the reader enough detailed information on any specific one. For example, you could not rely on the instructions for something like a timing belt change without having some prior knowledge about your specific engine type. As for simpler things like routine servicing the manual is a reasonably good point of reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money!, 26 Nov. 2008
By 
Sunil Chauhan (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: VW Golf and Bora 4-cyl Petrol and Diesel Service and Repair Manual: 2001-2003 (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
I've used this book once and I've already saved twice the cost of the book by fixing something myself that VW would have charged me a ridiculous amount for. Worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to your toolbox, 30 April 2011
By 
James Mackay (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: VW Golf and Bora 4-cyl Petrol and Diesel Service and Repair Manual: 2001-2003 (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
Just what I was expecting from a Haynes Manual, very detailed and covers the differences between the different engines. I have a 1.8T Golf GTi and also a Seat Leon PD150 Diesel and it is great for both (no manual for Leon for some reason), found it very helpful.

It includes detailed descriptions, photographs and also exploded diagrams.

I found the price on Amazon to be the cheapest delivered too, great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Golf manual, 6 April 2010
This review is from: VW Golf and Bora 4-cyl Petrol and Diesel Service and Repair Manual: 2001-2003 (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
Not as good as the Haynes books of old. Pictures and diagrams are quite poor but where else can you go for information these days ?.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VW Golf and Bora Workshop Manual 2001 - 2003, 27 April 2010
By 
This review is from: VW Golf and Bora 4-cyl Petrol and Diesel Service and Repair Manual: 2001-2003 (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
I had a problem with the wiring on my wifes golf in respect of the CD player.

I purchased this manaul form Amazon. It arrived in good condition, I found the wiring diagram and solved the problem.

So, it was a very good value buy.

Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Haynes are still king, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VW Golf and Bora 4-cyl Petrol and Diesel Service and Repair Manual: 2001-2003 (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
It seems that there are good Haynes manuals and there are excellent Haynes manuals. Having used 3 other excellent Haynes manuals I consider this is an essential purchase. Unfortunately, due to the huge number of models and variables I found this guide was good but not excellent. For example, I found my copy was lacking the pages for exchanging spark plugs. I wrote to Haynes for more help and they kindly sent me a diagram and procedure as the procedure for engine codes AZD, BAD, BCA and BCB were missed in the original manual. This manual is huge, worth every penny and the content is excellent, but it seems that it could be three times bigger. Essential and excellent still, but it would have been better if it had been split into several more complete guides with more images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars almost there, 16 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VW Golf and Bora 4-cyl Petrol and Diesel Service and Repair Manual: 2001-2003 (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
Amazons price and delivery were five star. Haynes need to bring their manuals into the 21st century i.e.colour photos,paperback and specific to your vehicle.The manual is a great help but is not exact enough for my liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haynes VW golf & Bora - service & repair manual, 16 July 2011
This review is from: VW Golf and Bora 4-cyl Petrol and Diesel Service and Repair Manual: 2001-2003 (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
I bought the book to help me with my Golf MK4. If you want to know something about Haynes manuals, you should know that they do not only tell you what to do on your car, but the correct order to do it in. More important they tell you what not to do, keeping you from making costly mistakes.

The book is a great help for the weekend mechanic trying to keep his car 'above the water line', and also for the professional mechanic, as it provides allot of useful data, about the tools and the degrees of difficulty of each operation. The pictures are of the actual car parts the article is about, not just a lookalike.

Good book, can't wait to see the movie :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews