Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars17
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2010
It's a great little book that will help you get done with some basic maintenance on your bike even if you are a newbie. It contains loads of pictures illustrating step by step procedures in doing various tasks. The hints and tips ("Don't do this..." and "Remember to to that...") are just like having old grandpa sitting behind you reminding not to screw up. These can save you some oops moments before it's too late :)
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2011
I keep coming back to this book as it so useful. If you have a motorbike and you have any interest in doing any work on it yourself then definitely get this book. It is not aimed at any one type of bike, and it may take a bit of trial and error (which the author tries their best to compensate for different manufacturers) but with this books help I was able to service my bike for the last few years.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Very good book with easy to understand explanations and photos.

Covers most of the basic/intermediate topics needed and is quite useful.

Would've given it a 5 star rating if it included some more up to date photos and topics (more modern bikes). Having said that, mostly all that is taught in the book applies to both modern and older bikes.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
I bought this book because I wanted to learn more about how my bike works, and how to maintain it. It has lots of colour photos and explains how to carry out many tasks in easy to follow step by step instructions. It is not written about any specific bike, but covers each task on a typical bike. I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to know more about their bike and how to look after it.

I also have the 'Haynes Motorcycle Basics Techbook' and this is also an excellent book for understanding how all the systems and parts on your bike function.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
An easy to follow reference book for DIY bike mechanics and those wanting to learn the basics.
Covers all aspects; mechanical, electrical and body/fame etc
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
was good to have this book while doing level 2 city and guild in mc reapir
also used it while doing level 3 city and guild in m/c reapair
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
well written and illustrated.. my bike really deserves a book like this. The best book I have found so far. Thanks
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2012
Although this book concerns itself primarily with pre-injection motorcycles there is enough information to give anyone the confidence to undertake routine maintenance on any machine. The functions and principles behind each component are fully explained in simple language and the book is set out in a logical order, dealing individually with the tasks which need to be carried out on the engine, fuel system, brakes, wheels, suspension etc. There is sound advice on how to create service data sheets and service records as well as the basic tools which are needed. Throughout the book there are handy hints which are designed to make the job easier. The book is worth buying even if you don't intend to carry out your own servicing because you will learn so much about how your machine works and what your dealer is supposed to be doing for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
If you've got the required tools then you can do your own simple maintenance from this book. It's easy to follow and understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2012
A very comprehensive & helpfull publication. This will assist with my servicing of my own bike & those of friends & family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)