Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When's the continuation book coming out?
Hands up. I'd never heard of Perry McCarthy before. I stumbled over this book whilst searching for something else on Amazon.
It's a stumble I was very happy to make because I simply love his book. It's extremely well written - from the heart.
From the moment I had read the first few pages, I knew I'd have trouble putting it down. It's a terrific tale of one...
Published on 14 Nov. 2002 by Tracy Pfaff

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars He could have been a contender, but instead he was an idiot
Perry McCarthy would have you believe that the reason he wasn't a Formula 1 world champion was due to bad luck, fate and other people conspiring against him. In reality he was extremely lucky to get to where he did in the world of Motor racing, and he could have gone further if he was much less of an idiot.

His story is undeniably gripping, his determination to...
Published on 13 Sept. 2011 by Mr. K. J. Santi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 April 2006
By 
Trevor Waldock (Maldon, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flat Out, Flat Broke: Formula 1 The Hard Way (Paperback)
Im not usually much of a book reader but as most parts of my life revolve around motorsport i thought id give it a try.
really amazing book which show just how hard it is to get in and stay in formula 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pole Position, 16 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flat Out, Flat Broke: Formula 1 The Hard Way (Paperback)
What a great read . Perry McCarthy seems the type of bloke you would love to spend the evening down the pub talking too. Love his stories about how to get sponsorship and seats in racing cars . He definatley has a sense of humour , i suppose you have to with the amount of knock backs he has had , and still have the drive to suceed.
It could have turned in to a moan and rant but he is realistic about the turn of events in his career . Makes apleasant change to that winge moan feast 'THE PITS' by Beverly Turner .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flat Out, Flat Broke: Formula 1 The Hard Way (Paperback)
Enjoyable book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Flat Out, Flat Broke: Formula 1 The Hard Way (Paperback)
A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flat Out, Flat Broke, 22 Feb. 2010
By 
Mihajlo Zahorodni "Espoo" (Bosna i Hercegovina, RS, Gradiska) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flat Out, Flat Broke: Formula 1 The Hard Way (Paperback)
This book is wonderful! I love it from the first page. As I live in BiH delivery took seven days. I recommend it to every F1 fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Spoilt by McCarthy's idiocy, 21 Sept. 2007
By 
This review is from: Flat Out, Flat Broke: Formula 1 The Hard Way (Paperback)
This book came highly recommended, though I'm pleased to say I got my copy for nothing - there was a box full of them in my local Audi dealership and they gave me a copy.

While Perry's trials and tribulations during his search for an F1 drive are mildly amusing, his alarming recourse to physical violence when someone says something he doesn't like makes him out to be a complete idiot. I counted numerous occasions where someone said something which got to him, and his response was fisticuffs.

To say he does for motorsport writing what Bill Bryson does for travel writing is, I'm afraid, not the case. Bill Bryson is in another class - several above Perry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flat Out, Flat Broke: Formula 1 The Hard Way
Flat Out, Flat Broke: Formula 1 The Hard Way by Perry McCarthy (Paperback - 1 Jan. 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews