Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ideal blend
This hymn book contains much of what is best of 'traditional' hymns together with the best of current 'modern' hymns - and without the resort to 'inclusive language'.

My only concern is the slightly thin paper for the pages - but this is an understandable compromise when compiling 858 hymns into a single manageable book!

Overall - the best there is!
Published on 5 Dec 2010 by LesWillow

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet another Mayhew hymnbook
Have bought one copy of the music edition after a priest received a free words only edition. Might have considered to for my local church. It is not as bad as the big orange book "Complete Anglican Hymnns Old and New", which is far too large to be useful, with too many recent compositions by selected authors. The Music Edition is cumbersome and falls to pieces soon...
Published on 7 Jun 2011 by otmoorbc


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet another Mayhew hymnbook, 7 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anglican Hymns Old and New: Full Music (Hardcover)
Have bought one copy of the music edition after a priest received a free words only edition. Might have considered to for my local church. It is not as bad as the big orange book "Complete Anglican Hymnns Old and New", which is far too large to be useful, with too many recent compositions by selected authors. The Music Edition is cumbersome and falls to pieces soon.

The new blue book under this present review is not as bad as the latter and its comprehensiveness is commendable. However it suffers from too much re-writing of traditional hymn words. I know hymns have always been partly re-written but this situation is getting out of hand now. Not all new hymn books editors feel obliged to rewrite hymns to make them politically correct etc. When we sing a hymn we know it was written in the past and is to some degree poetic so we do not take the words literally or examine their theology and political correctness.

The paper of the blue book is too thin to get a clean view of each page without show through of what is on the page's other side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay if you're a bass!, 30 Dec 2012
This review is from: Anglican Hymns Old and New: Full Music (Hardcover)
This book is okay despite the fact that some of the words and harmonies have been changed from previous versions in other hymnbooks. The only problem with this book is that many of the tunes are pitched about 2 tones lower than in other books and so sound more dreary when sung. And while having less high notes in the tunes might be okay for the congregation, for choirs who sing in harmony it's terrible because you have to sing in your lower register most of the time which isn't good for the voice! Had we realised this before we purchased numerous copies of this book, we wouldn't have bought it. Now we're stuck with it for the next few decades until such times as the need is felt to spend more money looking for a half-decent hymnbook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ideal blend, 5 Dec 2010
This review is from: Anglican Hymns Old and New: Full Music (Hardcover)
This hymn book contains much of what is best of 'traditional' hymns together with the best of current 'modern' hymns - and without the resort to 'inclusive language'.

My only concern is the slightly thin paper for the pages - but this is an understandable compromise when compiling 858 hymns into a single manageable book!

Overall - the best there is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars cost/ printing/font size, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anglican Hymns Old and New: Full Music (Hardcover)
I knew what I was there fore there was not a choice buying.i think the print is to small and light for most people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Hymnbook, 4 Feb 2013
By 
V. Gagen "Poppy" (East Anglia, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anglican Hymns Old and New: Full Music (Hardcover)
Excellent selection of hymns for congregations of all shapes and sizes, young and old, newly baptised or those more older in their Christian journey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anglican Hymns Old and New: Full Music
Anglican Hymns Old and New: Full Music by Kevin Mayhew (Hardcover - 1 May 2008)
Used & New from: 24.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews