Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars! Horus Heresy #13
Two years had passed since the betrayal at Isstvan, the event that opened the way to Horus's insurrection against the Imperium and his father, the Emperor of Mankind. During that time Horus's forces had steadily crossed the galaxy and gathered momentum. His number of followers grew ever larger with every system that Horus passed. These systems either swore fealty to Horus...
Published on 17 Aug 2010 by Detra Fitch

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Heresy!
I think that the two star review written by Ben covers the major flaws but suffice to say it is a 500-page book that could have been condensed to a short story had you removed the extraneous characters and plot. I like james Swallow's work - the Blood Angels books were a great read, and this bad review I think comes down to the editor and Black Library in general that...
Published on 4 Jan 2012 by Obi-Dom-Kenobi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth a read, 30 Jan 2012
This review is from: Nemesis (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
i expected much less than what i got from a non astartes novel and i was pleasantly surprised aswell as it being released on my birthday not as strong as some of the collection but worth a read also it's nice to get a different perspective on all of the plot unfolding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Continues the best black library series, 16 Oct 2011
By 
C. Saville (Seaham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemesis (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
Exploring the Horus heresy has produced some fo the best stories published by the Black Library. This novel continues that run.

It does not reach the heights of the initial trilogy that started the Horus Heresy as it has little to say beyond exploring more of the Warhammer 40K universe, unlike the start of the series that used the setting to look at the possibilities of an agressively expansionist aethiest society and the future of a military caste in a situation where there are no more wars left to win. That being said it provides a new perspective on the Horus Heresy, making for one of the few non Space marine centred entries, giving a refreshing difference as a result.

James Swallows work here is far superior to that in the blood angel series so if the non-stop fighting with no real emotional connection in that series might have put you off, don't let it stop you picking this up. Here he provides an interesting page turner that partly substitutes its lack of depth with an excellent sense of pace and view into one of the cooler branches of the Imperuim of the 41st Millenium.

This book couldn't in good concience be recommended as a way to introduce readers to either the Horus Heresy or the wider 40K universe, but if you have read the initial trilogy I highly recommend continuing your reading here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 13 Oct 2011
This review is from: Nemesis (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
This has got to be one of the better volumes in the series, despite not being directly involved with Astartes. It has that distinct 40k flavour of sci-fi with a medieval twist. The characters were interesting enough for you to not want them to get slaughtered out of hand and the liberal bouts of killing suitably gruesome and vicious. All in all, a rivetting read for those interested in the history of the 40k universe and something new for the series to keep it fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, 10 Oct 2010
By 
Ng Vee Kee "kilkilkil" (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nemesis (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
Every W40k fan knows that Horus died in the hands of his father. The writer did a good job detailing every character and keep the story interesting despite the 'fixed' ending - Horus will survive in the end of his book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the shadows..., 24 Sep 2010
This review is from: Nemesis (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
This is outstanding, and while not directly concerned with any particular Chapter of Space Marines (as the back cover blurb indicates), provides more background and detail to the ever expanding 40K universe.
The events which unfold, despite their obvious and inevitable outcome, move along at a cracking pace with lots to involve the reader along the way.
Once minor issue, which I'll not go into in case it doesn't trouble you, meant I occasionally struggled to willingly suspend my disbelief. However, I would still award 5 stars without hesitation.
I haven't read much of Mr Swallow's work, having been mostly drawn to Dan Abnett and Ben Counter (etc), but this has certainly piqued my interest.
Great stuff. (pointing a finger, saying "...and die, and die, and die" as one by one, the surrounding gang members were struck down to their bloody deaths).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 5 Sep 2010
This review is from: Nemesis (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
This is an excellent addition to the already amazing Horus Heresy series.Didnt even realise had come out this soon until a work friend dropped it on my desk and said 'READ!!!'

It introduces a whole new side to the battle. Rarely before have we learnt and seen what the Assassins can do.

We learn all about the various elements and each of their specialities. It is also great to read that they are not 100% the good guys that we would expect. They are ruthless and efficient killing machines, and will saide with whoever pays the most.

The story is not too heavy on the build up to action, and also brings back some old favourite characters. Refreshing to read a Horus Heresy novel that doesnt focus entirely on the Space Marines and their superhuman nature etc.

Plenty of new and interesting characters introduced. Cant wait for the next installment in the excellent series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lets hope!, 16 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemesis (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
Lets hope the Heresy series can maintain such quality books as Nemesis. A Thousand Sons was excellent but this book was even better. Ok there were a few minor bug bears such as Imperial Assassins worrying about expending the populace etc but it was a great book that i finished very quickly and found myself re-reading parts again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different Take, 15 Aug 2010
This review is from: Nemesis (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
Nemesis takes the Horus Heresy series in a totally new direction. It's about a team of specialist killers, a pair of detectives and an individual killer. Each story is fascinating and it all cleverly comes together at the end. Following the detectives is an interesting insight in the lives of ordinary people on an imperial world and the assassin team exploits also keep you entertained.
At one point in the novel there is a cleverly written `Eh! WHAT! stop reading' moment that you will not see coming a mile off. Towards the end there is also another unexpected surprise.
Overall thoroughly enjoyed the book. Thankfully the quality of work in this series seems to be heading right back up to the top away from lows such as Fallen Angels. Next up is The First Heretic. Can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 Sep 2010
By 
Jane Macleod "japhenjam" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nemesis (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
I by these for my husband and always pre order them. He is a happy man!. Can't tell you anything about the story unfortunately as I don't read them myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fairly good interlude to the HH, 5 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemesis (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
Nemesis subject matter makes it feel like filler material to draw out the length of the HH series. So what does it add? We get to see some detail and the persona's of the various assassin houses and their operatives and inter house rivalry. The use of assassin's and whether or not their use conforms to the imperial code of honour is discussed by the main players, particularly by Dorn. Swallow has done a fairly good job, but the various revelations feel like they have been handed out sparingly in a piecemeal fashion; read only if a completist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nemesis (The Horus Heresy)
Nemesis (The Horus Heresy) by James Swallow (Paperback - 5 Aug 2010)
Used & New from: 24.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews