Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was moved. Moved I say.
It has become of concern to me in recent years that I might have wandered into a rather low-brow, pubescant world of military/sci-fi pulp fiction. I suppose all of us sneer at something whether it be thrillers, chick-lit, sword and sorcery or what you will. Well this is certainly as nerdy and narrow a genre as ever you will find and Dan Abnett is aguably one of is most...
Published on 24 Nov 2010 by T. Brandon

versus
7 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A massively misleading con
I have never bothered to write a review before but the misleading description by Amazon has annoyed me that much. Do not buy this thinking it is a new novel it is a collection of Traitor General, His Last Command, The Armour of Contempt and Only in Death. You have been warned.
Published on 7 April 2010 by Groin Fistpunch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was moved. Moved I say., 24 Nov 2010
By 
T. Brandon "Mr Precocious" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost (Warhammer 40,000: Gaunt's Ghosts Omnibus) (Paperback)
It has become of concern to me in recent years that I might have wandered into a rather low-brow, pubescant world of military/sci-fi pulp fiction. I suppose all of us sneer at something whether it be thrillers, chick-lit, sword and sorcery or what you will. Well this is certainly as nerdy and narrow a genre as ever you will find and Dan Abnett is aguably one of is most prolific contributors.
But just let's pause to aknowledge that Mr Abnett is good at what he does. Gaunt's Ghosts has been building for a while as a massive story in a rich and well-fleshed gaming backdrop of Warhammer 40k. It is dark and brutal as I suppose all war must be and it is unrelenting. The charm in these stories, apart from the honest excitement and adrenaline involved in battlefront fiction is the triumph of the human spirit. It is the love for comrades in arms and the sacrifices that are made for friends. It is the unexpected gallows humour that has had me laughing hard and long. It is the tragedy of losing old familiar characters and the helplessness of seeing others killed when you barely have time to register their names.
The title of this Omnibus is apt. The First and Only endure but at a terrible toll. A tribute to the Lost.

So there you have it. "Birdsong" it ain't but that had me crying openly on public transport which is worrying to everyone. I have met Dan and shaken the boy's hand and next time I meet him I'll fething well shake it again. He really is very very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well that'll teach me, 1 April 2010
This review is from: The Lost (Warhammer 40,000: Gaunt's Ghosts Omnibus) (Paperback)
Thinking this was a NEW Gaunt's Ghosts book I eagerly awaited this new release from Mr Abnett. However upon its arrival I was shocked to discover it is in fact a compendium of past Gaunt's Ghosts books! Thank you for the misleading and vague product description Amazon. However, if you haven't read his last 4 Gaunt's Ghosts books this is still a fantastic slice of the 41st millennium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 July 2011
By 
A. Fox "generalist" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost (Warhammer 40,000: Gaunt's Ghosts Omnibus) (Paperback)
Dan Abnett is good. Very good. If you like military sci-fi, you'll love this series, whether you're a seasoned teenage Warhammer 40k aficionado or not (and I'm certainly not).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gold standard, 28 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Lost (Warhammer 40,000: Gaunt's Ghosts Omnibus) (Paperback)
Another omnibus from Dan Abnett about Gaunt's Ghosts... another "fething" good piece of work.
From the broadest overview of the atmosphere around the Imperial Guard in war40k down to the smallest detail in character definition, I believe this (and the previous chapters of the serie) is the gold standard of quality writing on warfare in war40k.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 4 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Lost (Warhammer 40,000: Gaunt's Ghosts Omnibus) (Paperback)
this omnibus was good and is worth the buy espically for the last book only in death as it keeps you glued to the padges and has an intresting story line that leaves alot to the imagination its definatly one of dan banett's best in the series of guants ghosts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Omnibus Gold, 11 April 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lost (Warhammer 40,000: Gaunt's Ghosts Omnibus) (Paperback)
Omnibus' are a cracking way to get multiple tales by the same author for a great price. Here in this latest offering in the Gaunt's Ghost series you get three top quality Abnett tales (Traitor General, His Last Command, The Armour of Contempt) for your money and a great way to keep all the titles to hand. Add to the mix the Abnett seal of quality, cracking combat, great descriptive prose and a way of tale spinning that make many authors weep and you know that you've got something special. That said, remember that this is part of an ongoing series (this being books 8-10 of the Gaunt's Ghosts series) so please read them up to this point to get the most out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars can it get any better than this?, 13 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost (Warhammer 40,000: Gaunt's Ghosts Omnibus) (Paperback)
Well dear reader if you are reading this i can tell you that the 3rd gaunts ghosts omnibus is amazing. If you have read my other reviews i have fallen for the sabbat worlds and adore reading about gaunt and his crew. The writing is about the charecters and how there may well be only war in the future but as human as they may be the guard can pull themselves up from the hell going on around them and sally forth so to speak. The founding (omnibus 1) sets the benchmark with new charecters. Omnibus 2 the saint builds on this with some fabulous stories and brings in new charecters and kills old ones off. This third omnibus shows gaunts ghosts true grit and determination with the best battles and stealth missions yet for the boys and girls of the tanith first and only. Like the saint you could just pick this up and get straight in but a knowledge of the men and women in these books really does improve the read. (spoiler alert- sorics story ends in the lost and it was quite emotional for me-damn the inquisiton to hell!).
Looking at other reviews i can see your point about chaos astartes being over matched by imperial guard is impossible. this happens early on in the first part of this omnibus 'the traitor general'.I do agree but it mixes it up a bit and does make for a good read so unless your one of those people that update wikipedia every day then this will not bother you. Infact if you can get past that battle then as far as im concerned that was the only daft bit in this otherwise awesome book. 'his last command' and 'only in death' are monumental reads for different reasons. his last command is a gaunt story in my opinion and leads well from the cliff hanger ending of traitor general. only in death had me glued to this book as it had the best battles so far (non stop litterally)and an ending that equalled trooper cuu's in the saint for that 'about time they explained that' and ' no really thats awesome' feeling.
The best gaunts ghosts so far and i just dont think only in death can be topped. Flippin mind blowin stuff....buy now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real tour de force!, 26 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost (Warhammer 40,000: Gaunt's Ghosts Omnibus) (Paperback)
I love the Tanith First novels, and this is my favourite trilogy. There are a lot of characters but all are really well fleshed out and you feel like you are reading about old friends.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 17 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Lost (Warhammer 40,000: Gaunt's Ghosts Omnibus) (Paperback)
A misleading title, by mixed bag I mean 4 distinct story telling methods, all highly enjoying and furthering the Tanith legend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great with one exception, 2 Jun 2010
By 
Davd Golden (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost (Warhammer 40,000: Gaunt's Ghosts Omnibus) (Paperback)
Amazing book, really really really good, not quite the best Omnibus in the series but my word Abnett is a stunning Guard writer.

One problem, binding, had a few prblems with Black Librarys shoddy binding and it hits hard in this book (mine anyway) 50 or so pages hanging in a loose clump at the back due to the gum not affixing it properly, annoying but not a deal breaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost (Warhammer 40,000: Gaunt's Ghosts Omnibus)
The Lost (Warhammer 40,000: Gaunt's Ghosts Omnibus) by Dan Abnett (Paperback - 1 April 2010)
Used & New from: 16.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews