Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The God Machines Walk
Dan Abnett has worked wonders on the 40,000 universe. His concise yet evocative prose instantly lays a beautiful nightmare bare before your mind's eye as no one has done before. Every time one of his books arrives from amazon I get the shakes and have to clear my evening so I can read.
So I suppose it would be fair to say that I like Mr. Abnett's books; but this one...
Published on 15 Feb 2009 by Mr. J. S. Grounds

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flawed Gem
The scope of this book is vast, an attempt to describe a titanic sequence of events within the confines of a single novel.

In order to achieve this, several of the components which would normally comprise major elements of a novel are cut back to a minimum; detailed characterisation is missing replaced with stock stereotypes, development is neglected and the...
Published on 12 Jan 2011 by Asleep by Day


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The God Machines Walk, 15 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. J. S. Grounds "Freeside" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dan Abnett has worked wonders on the 40,000 universe. His concise yet evocative prose instantly lays a beautiful nightmare bare before your mind's eye as no one has done before. Every time one of his books arrives from amazon I get the shakes and have to clear my evening so I can read.
So I suppose it would be fair to say that I like Mr. Abnett's books; but this one really is a corker.

If you like playing 40,000 or just like the 40,000 world for it's deeply dark science fiction then let this book tell you it's tale. We are guided through what is a very rare war on a developing forge world, rare because so many titans are gathered in one place to duel each other. Hell is unleashed, titans walk in their hundreds, lives are forever altered, heros are made, hive cities are leveled, people die... a lot of people die; and it is all in magnificent technicolor thanks to a wonderful storyteller.

From a purists point of view Abnett's 40k books do have something that shouldn't be there: hope. There is an underlying feeling that however hellish and decrepit it may be new things are made, titans are repaired, worlds are saved and societies function (to a ghastly tune I admit). Personally I like this stance; it makes the 40,000 world seem much more believable and allows us to image ourselves as part of it. But Dan does go against the older more decaying canon set by Ian Watson's 'Inquisition war'.

Once you've read this book try 'Brothers of the Snake' and then Eisenhorn....oh hell, just read all his books. You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flawed Gem, 12 Jan 2011
This review is from: Titanicus (Warhammer 40000) (Paperback)
The scope of this book is vast, an attempt to describe a titanic sequence of events within the confines of a single novel.

In order to achieve this, several of the components which would normally comprise major elements of a novel are cut back to a minimum; detailed characterisation is missing replaced with stock stereotypes, development is neglected and the exposition required to make this accessible to an audience unfamiliar with the 40K universe is dropped entirely.

That said the novel remains engaging throughout, the varied subplots maintain a strong pace, tension builds progressively leading towards an apex; which never arrives.

The entire story goes from mid point to over in less than ten pages, imagine if the entire third lord of the rings film was compressed down into a 10 second montage and tacked onto the end of the second film and you're at about the right place.

As a result I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone.
Which is a shame as another two hundred pages or dropping a subplot or two in order to allow space for the warranted conclusion would have made this a truly great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now THIS is Warhammer!, 13 Jan 2009
By 
Flemming Nielsen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is very, very good. It is one of the very best Black Library books I've ever read. Dan Abnett really shows us, why he is one of the best selling authors of Warhammer-stories.
Some of Abnett's Titan battles are magnificently well-written; especially the smaller skirmishes. You are at the edge of your seat, feverishly flipping pages while the titanic war-machines shatter cityscapes and, not least, each other. You can almost smell the dust from collapsing buildings and hear the thunderous roar of their heavy weapons. At one point, I swear I felt the ground tremble from the tread of the massive war-machines - or perhaps it was the garbage-truck going by, who knows? This book is definitely worth buying, in fact, I would probably even classify it as a must for Warhammer 40K fans.
All this is high praise; however, the book is not without flaws. For one, it is not long. Not only, would I have liked to read more about the characters, but more seriously, some of the sub-plots are not explored all that thoroughly. Some of them are even a little unsatisfactory and, at the end, you're left feeling a little confused as to why Abnett even bothered putting that particular sub-plot in the novel, if he couldn't be bothered to explore it or even connect it very much with the rest of the story. I'm especially thinking about the story of `Activated 26', which doesn't appear to have much of a point. It's a good sub-plot, but what does it have to do with the rest of the novel? A far more serious flaw, though, is the weak ending of the novel. It seems as if Abnett was told to `wrap it up' and finish the story in a hurry. Many Black Library books could have used a few more chapters to fully complete their story-lines, but here, it is especially grating. This really great novel deserved a far more complete ending.
I have a sneaking suspicion, that Black Library doesn't want their customers to be overwhelmed by thick books. Stop cuddling us, we can read, for crying out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Titans walk to war, 20 Nov 2008
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Dan Abnett is easily one of the best Warhammer 40,000 writers around at the moment and while this book is not without its faults, Titanicus is a greatly enjoyable novel. The book is the story of the defence of the important supply world of Orestes as it comes under attack from a large force of Chaos Titans and the Adeptus Mechanicus mobilise their own Titan Legions in response.

Dan Abnett is a very talented author able to write some brilliantly cinematic battle scenes of every scale from minor skirmishes and shootouts to massive conflicts between legions of Titans. As well as this Abnett is also brilliant at bringing his characters to life with most of the cast of this book being interesting and well-defined characters. Having said that I do feel that in this case he has gone a bit too far which has lead to many of the Adeptus Mechanicus characters being far more humanized than is appropriate for that fraction. While I understand that this was probably somewhat necessary for a book that focuses so much on Mechanicus personnel, it is still something of a departure from how they have been depicted elsewhere.

The plot itself is good being both interesting and exciting in equal measure. The sub-plots of the book are also quite good although I do feel that a one or two could have been dropped without harming the novel itself while another could have been expanded to be an interesting standalone short story. I was slightly disappointed by the ending which while being good with some quite brilliant scenes to it, did have something of a rushed feel to it. Overall this was a very good book that is well worth reading despite its few flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the initial slog...., 3 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanicus (Warhammer 40000) (Paperback)
Starts off relatively hard going, I always struggle with the Mechanicus and no change in this instance. After the first 150 pages though the action really starts and Dan really captures the awe of the engine battles and adds another great book to the story of the Sabbat World campaign.

Loved the sub plot and development of the Mechanicus side of the 40k universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult for a first time Warhammer reader, 10 Oct 2008
By 
Mark Chitty (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When the vital forge world of Orestes comes under attack by a legion of Chaos Titans, the planet is forced to appeal for help. Titan Legio Invicta, although fresh from combat and in desperate need of refit and repair, responds, committing its own force of war engines to the battle. As the god-machines stride to war, the world trembles, for the devastation they unleash could destroy the very world they have pledged to save.

When I first saw some information on this novel I thought it sounded good - a full scale action novel set in universe that has so much history I wouldn't know where to begin. 40,000 years in the future humanity has spread from Earth and is locked in bitter wars to defend its outposts as well as trying to expand into new territory. The human race is now a war race, always fighting a battle on one front or another. These battles are fought with technology that is built to destroy, built to last and built for war. The Titans are such examples, varying in design but all heavy hitters when it comes to battle.

With Orestes under attack and Legio Invicta called in for back up the stage is set for a pretty amazing story. Dan Abnett does not disappoint with his story telling skills. Not only does he write some believable characters, but he can get a battle pictured in your mind with astonishing ease. Some of the better aspects of this were his character building stuff, like Cally , a civilian who moved to Orestes with her husband from another world and as part of the bargain had to sign on for the civilian reserves equivalent. She goes through some nice development and is enjoyable to read. Many of the other characters are given a nice depth and are believable in the situations they find themselves in.

The one thing about Titanicus that I struggled with is the fact that it is Warhammer and as such the universe has been going for a considerable time with many different contributors. I found myself going on the internet at times to find out a little more of the history as I found myself lost with different details emerging throughout. Dan Abnett clearly has no problem with all this vast history and does a masterful job in relaying it with bits of information scattered throughout the narrative.

Despite all this I found I couldn't get into the book as much as I hoped - all that history and detail that a newcomer doesn't know does disorientate in a way that is hard to push past. Although, on the other hand I may not see any glaring problems that die-hard fans of Warhammer might. I doubt this is the best place to start with this rich universe, but it sure has whetted my appetite for more. Now I just need to find an easier jumping on point...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It has titans, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanicus (Warhammer 40000) (Paperback)
At last a book solely about titans, a great story about these huge warmachines of the future, great battle scenes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Titsmivud, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanicus (Warhammer 40000) (Paperback)
Again DANIVERSE

Expanded lore - bring more depth and detail to the W40k universe
Love - GOD MAchines?
Love the mechanicus - those hooded screw bothers?
Love action with a schism - that could unravel the bond between the Imperium and mechanicus?
Then is book is for you

A well written - well paced actioned packed -
Various Viewpoints - sub-plots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Warhammer 40K reference?, 12 May 2013
By 
JPS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanicus (Warhammer 40000) (Paperback)
Titanicus by Dan Abnett is probably one of these books that set the standard with regards to Black Library and Warhammer 4000 publications, at least together with Mechanicum and as far as both the Adeptus Mechanicum and the Titans - those gigantic "God-machines" of the distant and war-torn future - are concerned.

Orestes is an Adeptus Mechanicum forge world well behind the war front. It is a supply base which is vital for the Imperial Crusade headed by Warmaster Macaroth against the forces of Chaos, especially since it is a major centre for producing and repairing Titan engines. As it comes under attack from a legion of Chaos Titans who threaten to overwhelm the few war machines left to defend it, Imperial Legio Invicta accepts to disobey direct orders to join the frontlines and the Warmaster and commits its forces to the rescue of Orestes.

This volume is for the 40K Empire what "Mechanicum" has become for the Horus Heresy (HH) set some 10000 years. Both are the references with regards to the Martian originated techs, adepts, mages and worshipers of the "God Machine". Both are also references with regards to Titans in action, with some rather superb "dogfights" and between machines where the victor is the brightest, the most experienced or the fastest, and not necessarily the most powerful or the most numerous. The other type of feature which is to some extent common to both volumes is the plots, intrigues and factional divisions within the Adeptus Mechanicum. One of the differences is the emphasis put on each component, with the gigantic war-machines definitely taking centre-stage in this volume whereas they are just one of the main components, among others, in the civil war that rakes Mars in Mechanicum.

There is, however, one little glitch with this volume and that some other reviewers seem to have mentioned already. There are a lot of characters but these are not mentioned in a "dramatis personae" list. As a result, and despite an exciting and well-told story, keeping track of "who's who" when reading this book can be somewhat distracting at times (no pun intended!). This was a superb read all the same and worth a solid four-star, but not quite five in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an excellent stand alone book.Mega bang for your buck, 15 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanicus (Warhammer 40000) (Paperback)
This book follows the path of a number of people on a planet which has been invaded by the dark mechanicus. There are epic god machine fights and lowly pdf survivors stories, planetary rebellion and thats just skimming the top. This book is awesome and should be read by all who love 40k. You do feel like a fly on the wall when the titans begin their walk to battle and those parts of the book are the best by far. This book is 600 pages or so and those will turn ..fast....as dan again sucks you in and leaves you gasping for more. Im a huge dan abnett 40k fan and i really love when it puts in little nods to his other books like for instants the mechanicus legio that come to the aid of the planet in the book were actually being sent to the sabbot worlds (gaunts ghosts). I liked it when the mechanicus said that warmaster maccaroth would be pi!!ed ! lol.
I did find it quite hard going at first but soon turned out to be (and will Stay) one of the most memorable books ive read. I rate 5 stars when i can think back at a book and recall an intense jaw dropping moment. Fives stars to me has a number of those. This is one book and my other 5 star books were all omnibuses ie 3 or more books in one. I can now see why the adeptus astartes give these machines a wide birth on the battlefield.
BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Titanicus (Warhammer 40000)
Titanicus (Warhammer 40000) by Dan Abnett (Paperback - 26 Nov 2009)
Used & New from: £3.18
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews