Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adding To Others Reviews
Well I'm not going to retread other user's reviews, simply add to them to hopefully help others out.

Fallen Angels is another fine addition to this amazing series, there is far far more to it than what most people say BUT you have to really know and remember all that has gone before.

Take this for example - by the final chapters Luther and others...
Published on 17 Aug. 2009 by JD Draycott

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The missing part of the first novel
"Fallen Angels" picks up where "Descent of Angels" left us hanging. At the end of the latter novel the cousins Zahariel and Nemiel were sent their different ways. This book picks up their separate stories some fifty years later.

I won't spoil the plot, but basically Zahariel is investigating some strange events on Caliban and Nemiel is involved in a desperate...
Published on 27 Jun. 2009 by Me


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The missing part of the first novel, 27 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Fallen Angels (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
"Fallen Angels" picks up where "Descent of Angels" left us hanging. At the end of the latter novel the cousins Zahariel and Nemiel were sent their different ways. This book picks up their separate stories some fifty years later.

I won't spoil the plot, but basically Zahariel is investigating some strange events on Caliban and Nemiel is involved in a desperate bid to stop the traitor legions getting their hands on an important forge world.
The style is a bit odd, jumping from one thread to another in each chapter without ever linking them together. The plot and characterisation are okay, nothing special but nothing wrong either (most readers are probably familiar with space marine novels by now: gory violence, deadpan jokes about missing limbs, heroic feats of arms ('scuse the puns) and so on).

The real reason I've given this three stars is because it should have been part of the previous book. A well-edited 800-page epic on the Dark Angels could have got five stars. Instead I'm left feeling that the Black Library cheated me out of some money. Come on, try it, give us a big novel to get our teeth into! We can handle it.

I should probably add that this book doesn't advance the central plot of the Heresy series nor tie off all the threads. However, it does give us a good idea of what really happened to the Dark Angels and why. It also has quite an amusing twist at the end which made me laugh out loud.

In summary, it's worth buying to find out about the history of this mysterious but famous chapter. And when you're finished you can tie it to Descent with an elastic band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adding To Others Reviews, 17 Aug. 2009
By 
JD Draycott (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fallen Angels (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
Well I'm not going to retread other user's reviews, simply add to them to hopefully help others out.

Fallen Angels is another fine addition to this amazing series, there is far far more to it than what most people say BUT you have to really know and remember all that has gone before.

Take this for example - by the final chapters Luther and others have comitted an outright act of rebellion against the Emperor, but in the text and from how they act, they don't even realise it, so badly warped are their views of what is happening.

There is also a lot of scene setting for future books in this story, with the Primarch of the Dark Angels, and hints at what will happen to Caliban, not to mention some amazing information on "Cypher" who has long been part of the 40K game Dark Angel background.

Fallen Angels really makes the reader question what the Dark Angels are.

Finally, touching on a comment made elsewhere about Mechanicum - do not let this put you off the book, Mechanicum is VITAL to the story and to the current 40K universe, it is abstract but the information is essential to understanding the current background story. Those unfamiliar with 40K won't get much from Mechanicum.

Roll on the Space Wolves/Thousand Sons stories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fallen Angels (it's ok), 29 Dec. 2009
By 
D. Dass "kalivar" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fallen Angels (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
It's ok bit slow and doesn't really gather much pace but does answer some interesting questions about the chapter but leaves other questions still unanswered so don't expect it to be the be all and end all. Worth a read for the chapter history but if your not interested in chapter lore then its no biggie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book and actually makes the previous book a better read too, 26 Sept. 2010
By 
The Lunatic Dreyfus (In your loft, poking small holes in the ceiling.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fallen Angels (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
I didn't much care for Descent of Angels the first time round, but having read this instalment it made me go back a re-read it and then re-read this. As a pair the story of The Dark Angels works really well and you can watch another Primarch reveal his terrible flaws and see the consequences of these unfold on everyone around him.

I think the Emperor may need to look through his cloning manual again sometime. He did a terrible job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well writen second book, 28 Aug. 2010
By 
T. Leckie "Technowolf" (Moray, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fallen Angels (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
Fallen Angels is really the second book in what could be a Dark Angles collection of its own. Well written it holds the readers attention. Most readers will already know of the split nature of the Dark angels and this book shows how the chapter was pulled apart without letting the reader really see which way the outcome would go until the last few chapters. For those who are looking for reasons why many of the chapters failed to live up to their ideals, fallen angels goes a long way to showing the fallibilities of the marines, the primarchs and the Emperor himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It started off so well!!, 28 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Fallen Angels (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
So, the sequel to Descent of Angels.... In a nutshell this is set some time after the first book and the legion has been split. Some are off with Lion El'Johnson battling across the galaxy on Diamat. And the rest, along with Luther, had been packed off to Caliban to oversee training. Hence lots of tension, taint and throw in the Heresy, treachery etc etc. The chapters switch between those on Caliban and those on Diamat. Both have the Dark Angels investigating treachery and betrayal. Johnson is trying to stave off the heretics on Diamat and figure out exactly what is going on, whilst Caliban teeters on civil war. Some of the battles on Diamat are really exciting, and a good counter to the intrigue on Caliban.

I was really enjoying this, much more than the first one. I was especially glad they get to the Heresy in this! Its got plenty of action and is a real page turner. So much so, I realised I was really near the end of the book and there was not much space to get it all wrapped up in.....it felt rather rushed towards the end. There were a few moments on Caliban with Zahariel where I was just muttering "idiot!!" as I was reading. Some really strange decisions are made, that ultimately cause the split of the legion. I would have given this 4 stars, if not for the hurried ending.

There is good shock at the end though. I am wondering if there will be another book out of this, as I found the ending on Caliban somewhat wanting. Its not truly the whole "Fall,"
more a revealing of secrets, and a hint at what is to come...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should've been a FIVE!, 29 July 2009
By 
PureSymmetry (london) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fallen Angels (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
The book is well written and the narrative is good, thing is I fel that the plot was a little on the weak side regarding the Angels descent into general badness.. Its worth reading simply due to the continuation of the Dark Angels chapter and it has some great twists in it. However, being a book about the Angels, I think that the plot should've been thought through a bit more, and stronger reasons should have been given for Luthers wayward behavior..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic conclusion, 28 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Fallen Angels (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
Fallen Angels is the book Dark Angels fans have been waiting for, far superior to "Descent of Angels" really these two should have been produced as one larger volume. Dark relevations await the main characters and desperate battles against impossible odds for the heroes. Really what more could any fan want? For me the best part was seeing how flawed and limited the Primarch was, a genius in battle but completely lacking in people skills, which could well explain why he sent away anyone who questioned him...

The last page of the book is truly epic for fans who already know how the Heresy will end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book - but not a classic, 18 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Fallen Angels (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
Fallen Angels picks up almost immediately where Descent of Angels ended and really, both books should have been one. It takes place between the events of Istvaan III and Istvaan V with the Primarch Lion El'Jonson taking a small strike team to a planet to prevent experimental weapons falling into Horus' hands. At the same time, it picks up events on Caliban after the return of Luthar and this is how the book continues throughout, with two stories running in parallel to each other. Many of the first book's characters return and there's lots of plot twists and turns keeping you in suspence until then end. But that's where the problem arrises again. Whilst there's an excellent twist at the end for the Lion, the final ending on Caliban is one of confusion and like the first book, it seems to end too soon with no coverage of the catastrophic events leading to Caliban's destruction, instead ending at some undefined point before hand. This is frustraiting because it makes the ending feels rushed, as if the author either ran out of ideas or ran out of time and feels like a missed opportunity to turn Fallen Angels in to potentially the best book in the series so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first few books but still a good book, 1 July 2009
By 
Mr. E. Smith "Campin' ain't easy" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fallen Angels (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
The latest Horus Heresy book is a direct sequel to Descent of Angels and folows the two cousins from the previous book in their new lives as Dark Angels. If you're hoping for the story of the actual split of the legion and the destruction of Caliban then you'll be disappointed as this book instead follows the disgraced Dark Angels putting down a rebelion on their homeworld while a small group of the others go and capture a forge world from Horus's rebels. The story of the actual legion split will no doubt make the third in the series at a later date.

This latest installment in the series is not nearly as good as any of the first five books and as with all the books since Descent of Angels, suffers from being far too short. The great thing about the inital trilogy and Fulgrim especially is that plenty of time is given to get to know the characters and expand the story whereas the later installments have all seemed rather rushed, with many of the characters coming across as a little one dimensional and seeming to jump to conclusions and chage their opinions really, really quickly.

In the same way that Battle for the Abyss missed a trick by conclusively failing to explore any of the reasons for the Word Bearers' treachery, so this book does little more than skirt the surface of how Luthor eventually turns to the dark side. Yes, it's written out and explained but so much more could have been made out of this story and it'd be nice to have a bit more depth of character for the people involved. Explaining the entirity of the plot in an internal monologue across two paragraphs at the end of the book is no substitute for slowly developing it over a decent length book.

The Dark Angels attacking the forge world are slightly better realised but there seem to be slightly shoe-horned in characters, as in we've previously had an apothicary, so now let's have a techmarine. This half of the book is the better half in my opinion though, perhaps because it's dealing with less reasoning and plotting and more direct action, so the brevity isn't as noticeable. Someone should probably have told Mike Lee that the Sons of Horus painted their armour green before Istvaan too but that's a minor, pedantic nerd point.

Overall though it was an enjoyable read, not as good as the first five but better certainly than Abyss and the abysmal Mechanicum. I actually quite enjoyed Descent of Angels and this is a good sequel. I only hope that when they come to round off the series, they allow the authors plenty of space to do so and don't impose a restrictive maximum word count as I'm sure was the case with a few of the more recent books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fallen Angels (The Horus Heresy)
Fallen Angels (The Horus Heresy) by Mike Lee (Paperback - 6 July 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews