Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow start but still a gripping story
I thoroughly enjoyed reading the first two instalment but wasn't quite sure what to expect from the third one. After all, the war against Jared the Usurper and the Blood Mage was over and Tris won his kingdom back. Well, Martin surprised me again with an interesting twist of the tale.

Dark Haven started a bit slow for me with the focus on preparations to the...
Published on 18 Nov 2010 by M. Waller

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good
After the second book, blood king, i thought the story was over, but nope it continues at a few months after the end of book two. You should review that second book before starting this third one if you dont remember all that was going on. Its a bit confusing to figure out who the enemy was after all king jarod was dead and so was anatola and the obsidian king, so whos...
Published on 20 Feb 2009 by E. Toom


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow start but still a gripping story, 18 Nov 2010
By 
M. Waller (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Haven (Chronicles of the Necromancer) (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading the first two instalment but wasn't quite sure what to expect from the third one. After all, the war against Jared the Usurper and the Blood Mage was over and Tris won his kingdom back. Well, Martin surprised me again with an interesting twist of the tale.

Dark Haven started a bit slow for me with the focus on preparations to the wedding of Tris and Kiara. Hence, it lost a star in the rating. However, with a great deal of excitement I learnt more about different clans of vayash moru (vampires) and the unstable Truce between them and the mortals. After I finished reading The Blood King, I realised the healer Carina emerged as my favourite female character in the story. I was shocked as Part Three ended with a cliff hanger leaving Carina in grave danger.

Martin's debut with The Chronicles of the Necromancer is better than I expected. In my opinion, she is climbing to the top of the female authors league in the world of Fantasy. Her writing style is soft and clear without being too simplistic. I much prefer Gail Martin to Robin Hobb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent third book!, 8 Mar 2009
By 
Scott Magee "Book Addict" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Haven (Chronicles of the Necromancer) (Paperback)
I really thought that after the second book had finished there would be little for Gail Z. Martin to write about and the third book would lack the artistic genious supported by the plot in the first two books.
I'm so glad I was wrong, Martin is becoming one of the greatest fantsy novelist of our time.
The end of the book left me gutted, I wanted to know what happens next, i wanted to keep reading.
Can't wait for the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book three of five, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Haven (Chronicles of the Necromancer) (Paperback)
half way through and just as good a story as the previous 2 . the story goes on and will be on book 3 in no time. its just one of those stories which you can't put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Haven, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent series, well worth reading and very hard to stop ! I throughly recommend it to all fantasy and adventure lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was brilliant. The characters kept on developing and the reading style very smooth. Read book in two days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This remarkable magical tale that is full of intense drama and action is such an absorbing read!!, 3 Jan 2013
This review is from: Dark Haven (Chronicles of the Necromancer) (Paperback)
I am so impressed by Gail Z Martin's extraordinary `The chronicles of the Necromancer' series, which has become a firm favorite of mine that stands proudly at the top of the bookshelf alongside other `greats' within this genre - for example JRR Tolkien, Robin Hobb, Raymond E Feist and Terry Brooks. The epic scope of creativity and imaginative fantasy world is mind-blowing to the extreme, in which you are left breathless at the sheer genius and masterful writing that is so extraordinary. This has to be one of the most exciting, nail-bitingly intense adventures set within the most fascinating world where you are not always sure of whom you can trust and where danger lurks beneath every surface. It is fast-paced and thrilling, in which the author cleverly combines exquisite detail and action as to make it so believable and `real'. I felt a PART of this series, as I truly lost myself within the Winter Kingdoms and fell in love with the distinctive, compelling characters that brought such depth to this wonderful tale.

Book 3: Dark Haven continues the saga that began with The Summoner and its sequel The Blood King, as Martris Drayke rules the kingdom with an Iron fist now that he is King. The once great kingdom of Margolan now lies in ruin and it is up to the new ruler to rebuild this once mighty realm and restore it to its former glory- piece by piece. But another battle looms on the horizon and the King must be prepared for continuation of heated conflict. Meanwhile Jonmarc Vahanian is now the Lord of the Dark Haven, and there is defiance from the Vampires of the Vayash Moru at the prospect of a mortal leader. But, can he earn their trust and at what cost? Those thrilling adventures that one discovers in book 1 & 2 are continued, as rivalry and enmity rages across the lands and magical beings rule supreme...

This epic fantasy tale is a labyrinth of interconnecting threads that are delicately interwoven and layered on top of one another, making this something so interesting and detailed as to astonish and amaze! I was really able to `stick my teeth' into this series and loose myself within a fantastic world where you constantly are learning more about the different creatures and characters, and the magic that holds such sway over the direction of each individuals' future. As an avid reader of this genre I was so impressed by Gail Z Martin's writing, which typifies everything you desire within great, masterful fantasy - such as bloodthirsty brilliant battles, raging rifts between mighty realms and a concoction of cleverly crafted characters and creatures that bring this tale to life!

This is a unique, epic and totally addictive read that will leave you breathless, and render you speechless...as all I can say is WOW! The phenomenal characterization combined with exquisite detail really makes the story come alive, and the extensive world-building and its history is fascinating. It is a tale of courage and bravery as one fight for all that they hold most dear, it is also a tale of those of mortal flesh in opposition to those eternal beings. If you love the fantasy genre then I strongly urge that you read this book and discover this series!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Avid for more, 5 Dec 2012
By 
Mrs. S. M. Skinner "super-nan" (Swaffham, Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Slightly different but very enjoyable - you have to admire the goodies and actively dislike the baddies - but never quite sure if the evil ones will get their comeuppance until nearly at the end of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark Haven, 3 Jan 2010
This review is from: Dark Haven (Chronicles of the Necromancer) (Paperback)
I adore the Chronicles of the Necromancer but i have had to drop a star down because it doesnt have any conclusion as such. It does leave you hanging but the fourth book is out now so i am happy again. Apart from that its an excellent storyline and the characters are so believable and likable (the good guys). With alot of books by the 3rd or 4th they tend to drag on abit but im happy to say that this is not the case with The Chronicles of the Necromancer.

Enjoy! : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark Haven ... Its not over yet !, 23 Feb 2009
By 
D Librarian (North east ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dark Haven (Chronicles of the Necromancer) (Paperback)
I have enjoyed reading the three books in this series. The characters are very easy to connect with . The plot moves along quickly and keeps you engaged and the third book is obviously the scene setter for more to come .
The trouble is remembering everything by the time the next book is released ! All in all a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Half a book, 2 Mar 2009
This review is from: Dark Haven (Chronicles of the Necromancer) (Paperback)
I made the same mistake with this book as I did with the summoner. Dark Haven has no conclusion. There is no end to the story. You have to wait probably for another year to buy the second part of the this book. Why do publishers and authors do this.
With the complaint over, if you enjoyed the first two books then you will love this one. The author is a master story teller and I would have given this 5 stars if they mentioned somewere on the cover that this was not a standalone book. No conclusion and just leaving the story hanging for the next book has left me very frustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5bfd234)

This product

Dark Haven (Chronicles of the Necromancer)
Dark Haven (Chronicles of the Necromancer) by Gail Martin (Paperback - 2 Feb 2009)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews