Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The perils of the Nightside
Imagine Harry Dresden loose in a Neil Gaiman-style world, and you'll have some idea of what's going on in the world of the Nightside.

And "Into the Nightside" introduces us to the first two fantasy-noir adventures of Simon R. Green's strange, creepy other-London. The first book in here starts a little shakily, but once Green finds his footing the story rolls...
Published on 26 Aug 2011 by E. A Solinas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and original but slightly derivative and not too well polished
(Review for first three books). Interesting and original but slightly derivative and not too well polished. This is worth a read but I kind of got a bit bored half way through the series. The whole Nightside concept is pretty cool but the narrative seems repetitive, with too may non-contiguous ideas thrown at the wall in the hope that some of them stick. It kind of feels...
Published on 11 July 2012 by captain scapegoat


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The perils of the Nightside, 26 Aug 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Into the Nightside (Nightside Series) (Paperback)
Imagine Harry Dresden loose in a Neil Gaiman-style world, and you'll have some idea of what's going on in the world of the Nightside.

And "Into the Nightside" introduces us to the first two fantasy-noir adventures of Simon R. Green's strange, creepy other-London. The first book in here starts a little shakily, but once Green finds his footing the story rolls along with a few slow spots, theological fast-and-looses, and the occasional moment that is just too weird for words.

John Taylor fled the Nightside years ago, and set up shop as a PI in London, using his special talent (finding things) to eke out a living. But when wealthy Joanna Barrett hires him to find her teenage daughter, Taylor finds himself leading her into the Nightside, and acquainting her with the terrifying, often gruesome chaos that dwells inside it.

Then they accidentally step into a timeslip, and John finds himself facing a ruined, dead world. Worse, it turns out HE was the one who did it, many years in the past. Tormented by this possible future, John must find the girl who was lured into the Nightside -- and hope that the area doesn't get blown up first.

Amidst strange angel rumors, John Taylor is hired by the Pope's undercover representative, Father Jude. The Vatican wants to hire Taylor to find the Unholy Grail -- the cup that Judas drank from at the Last Supper. Think the One Ring in cup form. So John and Shotgun Suzie prowl through the Nightside, into devil S&M clubs and neo-Nazi halls -- but the angels and demons have landed in the nightside, and will rip it to shreds to find the Grail.

The first half of the first book is basically an introduction to the horrors and wonders of the Nightside. Even if Simon R. Green had no writing ability whatsoever, the world he conjures in the Nightside series would be worth the read -- dripping with darkness, eccentricity and utterly twisted fantasy-noir humor. And boy, is it fun.

But after that, Green's mystery stories get solidly entrenched into a nice noir groove, although it usually takes him awhile to get the plots moving. His writing has a dark, wry snappiness, with plenty of solid dialogue ("Suzie doesn't know the meaning of the word 'fear.' Other concepts she has trouble grasping are 'restraint,' 'mercy,' and 'self-preservation'") and tongue-in-cheek occurrences like the buried ghost of Merlin.

The generically-named John Taylor is a good noir hero too -- he's got a very mysterious past and a lot of people out for his blood. The first book unfolds a devastating possible future, and the following stories give more hints about who his unknown mother is, and how he could be such a threat to the entire world and everyone in it.

Some of the other characters are not quite what they seem, but Taylor bumps into some endearingly bloodthirsty characters (like Razor Eddie and Shotgun Suzie. Guess what they do for fun) and occasionally someone halfway normal like Taylor's teenage secretary.

"Into the Nightside" brings together the first two Nightside books, and takes readers into a grotesquely fascinating world full of everything you don't want to dream about. Despite a few bumps in the road, it's a nice, dark read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good urban fantasy series, 27 July 2010
This review is from: Into the Nightside (Nightside Series) (Paperback)
My first intro to the series - this is an omnibus edition that is actually the first 2 books in the series published under a new name and as 1 book. The series themselves are pretty good, and extremely similar to the Jim Butcher Dresden Files. If you've read those (And I'm a fan) you'll find yourself consistently getting confused cause you may forget which series/author you are reading. To me thats praise for the Nightside series. The differences lie in that that the Dresden series have better more fleshed out characterswith a consistent world with defined rules while teh Nightside revels in pushing more fantastical elements(Seriously very imaginative)and hence is more 1 note on the characters and the rulees, well they never really get locked down well in teh first few books atleast. Both are fun (Though I prefer the Dresden books more)and slightly different variations of coffee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First UK Nightside Omnibus, 2 Sep 2008
By 
D. T. Cooper - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Nightside (Nightside Series) (Paperback)
This volume collects the first two Nightside novels, 'Something from the Nightside' and 'Agents of Light and Darkness'.

They are dark fantasy romps - perhaps my only gripe is that John Taylor, the hero, is too powerful, some personal suffering along the lines of Harry Dresden or Felix Castor may have helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Into the nightside, 26 Aug 2012
By 
J. Lewin (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Nightside (Nightside Series) (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyable read. You really believe that The Nightside exists. An action packed romp with characters you buy into and like, despite their flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and original but slightly derivative and not too well polished, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Nightside (Nightside Series) (Paperback)
(Review for first three books). Interesting and original but slightly derivative and not too well polished. This is worth a read but I kind of got a bit bored half way through the series. The whole Nightside concept is pretty cool but the narrative seems repetitive, with too may non-contiguous ideas thrown at the wall in the hope that some of them stick. It kind of feels like EVERY myth and legend is thrown in with little thought of an over-riding flavour. The characterisation isn't bad, though I think the secondary characters are actually more interesting then the protagonist. And plot-wise it suffers a bit from Deus-ex-Machina-itis: suddenly the ideal solution becomes viable out of the blue cus it fits the plot. A good idea, but could have been executed better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas, horrible execution, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Nightside (Nightside Series) (Paperback)
I picked this up because I'm completely hooked on the "Dresden Files" by [author:Jim Butcher|10746] and found this recommended on several websites as similar. I found John Taylor to be a bit too similar to Harry Dresden but for some reason Taylor doesn't do it for me. It's overall a fun, quick read: the places descriptions and concepts were great but I found that the repeated use of "the Nightside" in every other sentence got on my nerves. I did a Word Occurence search on Word and "Nightside" is used 163 times. Holy crap D: Maybe it was made worse by the fact that I was listening to it on Audiobook (I also hated the accent/voice of the guy who narrated it). I'll probably read the rest of the series at some point but it didn't really have that gripping thing I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars into the nightside, 19 Aug 2008
By 
Mrs. M. Finney (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into the Nightside (Nightside Series) (Paperback)
this is a bits and pieces made up from three other nightside books of the series. dont buy it. buy the series instead. very disappointed and annoyed to have bought this thinking it the next new one. will be sending it back to amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into the Nightside (Nightside Series)
Into the Nightside (Nightside Series) by Simon R. Green (Paperback - 7 Aug 2008)
£6.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews