Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An exciting addition to the Heresy saga, told from a unique perspective.
By the end of 'Galaxy in Flames', the first blood has been spilt in the Horus Heresy, and the first blow has been struck as the insurrection begins.

'The Flight of The Eistenstein' rewinds events slightly, beginning as the orbital bombardment of Istvaan 3, described at the end of 'Flames', is about to take place.

Although this narrative choice...
Published on 7 Mar 2009 by S. James

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Naked man found in your mothers basement
I thought it was decent, but I felt it lacked the juicy flavour of other titles like betrayer. Not bland but comparatively plain I guess. A decent enough read.
Published 2 months ago by Martyn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid addition to the Horus Heresy, 12 Jan 2011
By 
A. L. Rutter "Floor to Ceiling Books" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Flight of the Eisenstein (The Horus Heresy) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Flight of the Eisenstein by James Swallow is the fourth book in the long-running Horus Heresy series by the Black Library. It follows the Death Guard Captain Nathaniel Garro as he witnesses the massacre of his brother legions on Isstvan III and his struggle to pass the message of Horus' treachery to the Emperor. It is a sister novel in some ways to Galaxy in Flames, as it shows the events on Isstvan III from a more distant perspective, and from the point of view of an Astartes warrior who has not been party to the changes in Horus and his turn to the forces of Chaos.

By the nature of the story, The Flight of the Eisenstein was never going to be a happy book, but much of the humour and moments of levity from the previous three novels in the Horus Heresy is absent here. Brother betrays brother; Chaos is on the rise; and Garro finds himself questioning everything in which he once believed. It is a dark, grim testimony of the darkness growing within the forces of the Astartes.

Swallow does an admirable job in taking the events covered by Ben Counter in 'Galaxy in Flames', and providing us with the alternative view - in fact, the scenes in which Garro watches in disbelief as Isstvan III is destroyed far beneath him are some of the most powerful and moving in the series to date.

There is also a nice turn in discussing the nature of new vs. old traditions within the Death Guard Legion, which echoes the over-riding theme of Lodges and following a new belief shown in the whole Horus Heresy series. Garro is one of the oldest-serving within the Death Guard, one who was born on Terra unlike many of his battle brothers. He adheres to many of the old traditions and finds himself somewhat outcast within his own Legion.

I also enjoyed (although I'm not sure "enjoyed" is quite the word!) the portrayal of warriors who are unable to fight any longer. Here we have Garro, defiant in the face of injury; Voyen, unable to face the idea of being part of war anymore; and Decius, who chooses a very different path. In each case, Swallow shows how a fighter might respond to the idea that he can play no part in the role that he was born to. All three storylines were written incredibly well.

In The Flight of the Eisenstein, the massive and far-reaching events covered in the first three novels are brought down to a much more micro level. Much of the novel takes place on the Eisenstein itself, and has an incredibly creepy and claustrophobic atmosphere because of it. Adding in a glimpse of the Warp and how Chaos affects the Astartes only increases this.

My main issue with the novel is a matter of characterisation. The Death Guard Legion is not the most charismatic, and they feel a little mundane on the pages. Compare this to the Luna Wolves/Sons of Horus, and the novel becomes somewhat dry. I don't think this is necessarily a fault of Swallow - in fact, I think he portrays these Marines well.

What is a fault of Swallow's is the fact that at times there was little to differentiate the individual characters within the Legion. Apart from Garro himself, Decius and Grulgor - all of whom have a large role to play in the novel - the rest of the Marines are interchangeable and difficult to identify.

All in all, though, this is a very solid entry into the series - dark, forbidding and challenging to read for all the right reasons. Good effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The missing link!, 20 Oct 2007
By 
Daniel J. Burns "willymcdougal" (North West) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Flight of the Eisenstein (The Horus Heresy) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is more of a stand alone book to the original trilogy, starting before Isstvan III, over-lapping and ending just after it.
It reveals the events during "The Flight of the Eisenstein" and links the horus heresy up-with Warhammer 40k with far more of a feel of 40k to it than any of the others previously.
A fantastic little bonus is the massive secret revealed at the end about a very misterious organisation in the warhammer 40k universe.

The only volume to date that has left me with a happy feeling afterwards! In my opinion a very good read in a very different format to the original trilogy. 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 Mar 2008
By 
Honorius (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Flight of the Eisenstein (The Horus Heresy) (Mass Market Paperback)
I was nervous about this book at the outset. It is the first of the heresy books which is not about Loken and i was concerned about how the change would be pulled off. It turns out that i was needlessly worried and the book excellenty melds new caractors with old the first half of the book being the Last half of the previous book from the point of veiw of Garro. this creats a sense of unity so when the book moves on the story a peice of the trilogy of Loken seems to be taken with the story. A great read that realy amps up the potential of the following books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Naked man found in your mothers basement, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought it was decent, but I felt it lacked the juicy flavour of other titles like betrayer. Not bland but comparatively plain I guess. A decent enough read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely loved this book. The backdrop of the Horus Heresy is of course an added bonus, but the writing is excellent, this is the best book in the Horus Heresy series this far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flight of the Eisenstein (The Horus Heresy) (Mass Market Paperback)
good seris must read you will get hocked like I have got so give it a go and see what you think
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars more information, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another book in the background information needed for the avid war hammer player to enable knowledge from the begining of the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is incredible. The astonishing, and at the same time terrifying, change in the Death Guard legion is very fun to read. It's also going to make you very, very angry if you are a Loyalist. We see how Horus' treachery slowly turns into a galactic conflict. We also get to know Mortarion a little better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good...wasnt expecting that., 11 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: The Flight of the Eisenstein (The Horus Heresy) (Mass Market Paperback)
I tend to jump from book to book. I'l have a guard book then a chaos book and then a heresy book.I dont follow a pattern i just read what i like when i want it and i pay attention to the reviews...if its got 3 or less i move on to something else and those that have 3 and a half are vetted by me because i dont want a stinker. I can safely say ive only read one stinker thus far (reviewed all on amazon) and that was dead men walking by steve lyons...it was only ok.... barley. Now i know what i like and the heresy books havent been them say for one or two that expand on the story i.e the first three but book 3 was a bit rough, a thousand sons and the epic first heretic.Some others have been good but they arnt needed. flight of the Eisenstein i missed but have come back to and it is book 4 in the heresy and dare i say it a must read if you like the horus betrayal. Garro the main character is a fine main star as you learn about him and how he was placed on the Eisenstein and how events unravel and how he saves a particular remembrancer (follows on eventually from book 3). Its all good stuff and i lapped it up.not a standalone read but if you have read 1 to 3 in the heresy and havent tried this then i would recommend this as a must read. I was entertained throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flight of the Eisenstein (The Horus Heresy) (Mass Market Paperback)
While i had hoped it would carry on from the last part this book doesnt deny the great horus heresy read. With a great plot of betrayls and blood shed it is deff a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Flight of the Eisenstein (The Horus Heresy)
The Flight of the Eisenstein (The Horus Heresy) by James Swallow (Mass Market Paperback - 5 Mar 2007)
£6.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews