Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Puns puns and more puns
This is the second book written about the ultra violent game of blood bowl and it's more of the same. This isn't a book you can really pick up with having read the first one, you miss out too much information about the game and the characters which are not included in this book.
During a terrible match many of the bad bay hackers, the team our hero plays...
Published on 8 Jan 2006 by Colin

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Losing the novelty factor !
If your into American football (and history of), football (soccer to those revolutionaries across the pond in USA), cable TV, real ale and Terry Pratchett then I am sure that you will enjoy this book - or at least the Puns in it - though readers in USA may not understand all the soccer puns.

In Brief - The Bad Bay Hackers need to replenish their team, from a...
Published on 16 Aug 2006 by Mr. R. Coleman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Losing the novelty factor !, 16 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. R. Coleman (Marlow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Ball (Blood Bowl) (Mass Market Paperback)
If your into American football (and history of), football (soccer to those revolutionaries across the pond in USA), cable TV, real ale and Terry Pratchett then I am sure that you will enjoy this book - or at least the Puns in it - though readers in USA may not understand all the soccer puns.

In Brief - The Bad Bay Hackers need to replenish their team, from a disastrous game in which they lose all but 5 of their players. As a result they travel to an Island to play in the FA Cup, recruiting on the way a bunch of dead guys (including Bavid Deckham), Edgar the treeman, Olsen the wizard and a mysterious cup.

I cannot say that I enjoyed this book as much as the first book in the series of three, and to be honest I felt just after half way that it started to drag on a bit.

There are some good lines and ideas in this book. I certainly enjoyed the pun of Manchester United Manager Alex Ferguson decked out in football gear and ready to face up to a team of Zombies enjoyable. Simon the VD, beer drenched mummy was great, and should have lasted longer.

I will read the third book in the series, but will take a break first. The novelty factor from the first book seems to be wearing thin, and I do not recommened reading all three of these books in a row.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Puns puns and more puns, 8 Jan 2006
This review is from: Dead Ball (Blood Bowl) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the second book written about the ultra violent game of blood bowl and it's more of the same. This isn't a book you can really pick up with having read the first one, you miss out too much information about the game and the characters which are not included in this book.
During a terrible match many of the bad bay hackers, the team our hero plays for, are killed leaving a huge gap in the teams line up. After recruiting the team travels to the distant land of Albion to hone their skills. Albion is the Warhammer worlds version or Britain and as you read this you'll find more puns than you can shake a large sticky object at, check out the new members of the team (Bavid Deckham). As amusing as this is it does start to wear a little thin after a while but with more action than the first your gridiron urges should be satisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The game continues., 8 Jun 2007
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Ball (Blood Bowl) (Mass Market Paperback)
Dunk Hoffnung, with the Bad Bay Hackers, returns for a starring role in Book Two of the Blood Bowl Trilogy.

Without enough teammates to continue playing the sport of Blood Bowl, Coach Pegleg's team sets sail for Far Albion. Spike! Magazine sends reporter Lästiges Weibchen with them to make a documentary of anything special that may occur; after all, chaos just seems to follow this particular team around more than any other. Pegleg wants to hunt down the location of the legendary Far Albion Cup trophy and retrieve it in hopes that the myth surrounding it is true. The legend states that the team with this cup in its possession will be unbeatable.

Olsen Merlin (an elf) is a former team wizard of the Notting Knights. His own fate is linked with the Far Albion Cup, so of course Olsen steps forward to help the Hackers get the cup. While doing so, Dunk and the (few) teammates left run into trouble. Bandits, a diseased cult, and even a treeman (which are all but extinct) are just the beginning of the mess the legendary cup gets them into.

***** Not as many Blood Bowl games in this, the second book of the trilogy, than the first. However, author Matt Forbeck keeps things entertaining with his twisted imagination, funny dialogue, and lots of action. I can hardly wait to dive into the third installment. BRAVO! *****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Childish stereotypes and puns combined with a poor plot line, 12 Oct 2013
This review is from: Dead Ball (Blood Bowl) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have an awesome sense of humour and really like Blood Bowl, even to the point where I have a rather nerdy model collection that is quite literally worth thousands in any currency (in my defence it's partly because I enjoy painting them if I ever find the time... if that can be seen as a defence). Sadly though this book constantly made me want to put it down and often left me teetering on the edge of just giving up the struggle to finish it.

Blood Bowl is always a good subject to draw in the geeky crowds, but the ridiculous jokes and stupid stereotypes strewn throughout this story seriously made me lose respect for Matt Forbeck and anyone else responsible for creating the fictional backdrop. It lead me to the conclusion that they live in an isolated location that they have never left, probably learning everything they know from the magic moving picture box they discovered at a very young age in the living room. There is so much cheese and predictive humour present in this book that after fighting to read each chapter I had to play 70's music and twirl about on an under lit dance floor while drinking cheap booze, just to 'de-cheese' and have a gentle progression back to reality... trust me when I say this is not a good thing.

As mentioned, I have an extremely comprehensive Blood Bowl collection and actually considered buying two copies of this book; one for reading and one to keep pristine and add to my collection. However, after experiencing the first couple of chapters I quickly decided not to bother and also not to ever lend this book to anyone I like or even resell it. In all probability it will end up on a bonfire, at least then it might not be a complete waste of money and may keep me warm for a few minutes during the coming winter.

By far the most upsetting aspect of this whole sorry affair is that some people actually gave it good reviews. I can only hope this was a misguided choice after the first book gave such a promising start, otherwise it is my sincerest wish that I never have to forfeit any of my life talking with or being "entertained" by any of these people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cliche mania mixed with the prose of a five year old, 26 May 2006
This review is from: Dead Ball (Blood Bowl) (Mass Market Paperback)
Having read 'Blood bowl' I was not too hopeful about Dead ball, the former being distinctly average. Unfortunately the 2nd book takes the cliched tripe - 'his eyes were grey like the sky, but burdened with knowledge of ages' and the like and drives the book away from its main draw for the average reader, the game of blood bowl. Quite why Forbeck felt the need to send the characters overseas to meet such as Robin and Wee Johnson (oh please) is beyond me. The writing is labourious, the descriptions childlike and the conservations scripted like a 1st Year pantomine. Avoid, avoid, avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slow start but a good end, 22 Feb 2007
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Ball (Blood Bowl) (Mass Market Paperback)
Dead Ball follows on from Matt Forbecks book Blood Bowl and continues the story of Dunk Hoffnung and his team, the Bad Bay Hackers. The book begins with the Hackers suffering a terrible loss of players during the Spike Magazine Tournament. This loss causes the team to sail to Albion in search of the mythical Far Albion Cup, a trophy lost for centuries that is said to grant the team who holds it the ability to never lose another match.

Dead ball is written in a rather tongue-in-cheek style, pocking fun at many football clubs and players. The main disappointment with the book is that the first half has very little in the way of Blood Bowl but is entertaining none the less, but the second half is more on the form of the previous book and makes up for the rather lacklustre beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Ball (Blood Bowl)
Dead Ball (Blood Bowl) by Matt Forbeck (Mass Market Paperback - 20 Oct 2005)
Used & New from: £11.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews