Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ave Dominus Nox
This book is not only great as a Warhammer 40.000 novel but generally good as Sience Fiction. I paints a picture of the Renegade Space Marines as Night Lord Commander Zso Sahaal is awakend to find that he has spent 10.000 years in imprisonment. His ship also carried an important item from the Founding of the Imperium. The book asks the question who betrayed who during the...
Published on 26 Jan 2005 by Gisli Jokull Gislason

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tight and twisty
Again this books serves to prove 4OK books are much better written and reflect the game stronger than the fantasy couterparts. Very pacy and unusual in that there is probably only a handful of 'good,' guys in it. I didn't feel that sympathetic towards either the two main charcters goals as such, mostly because one suddenly finds new phychic powers to escape a fatal...
Published on 9 Oct 2009 by Twelve


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ave Dominus Nox, 26 Jan 2005
By 
Gisli Jokull Gislason "Jokull" (Iceland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lord of the Night (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Chaos Space Marines) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is not only great as a Warhammer 40.000 novel but generally good as Sience Fiction. I paints a picture of the Renegade Space Marines as Night Lord Commander Zso Sahaal is awakend to find that he has spent 10.000 years in imprisonment. His ship also carried an important item from the Founding of the Imperium. The book asks the question who betrayed who during the great Heresy and portrays Konrad Cruze as a victim. With these great events in the background we are carried through an adventure where an interrogator is pitted against her Inquisitor Lord master in the search of a monster as ritual and apperently random killings occur in the Hive world as the ancient Night Hunter starts a campaign of fear and builds an army among the dispossed in the underhive, using fanatical Imperial Dogma to his own ends.
Easily among the 3 best Wh40K novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It was ok, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Night (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Chaos Space Marines) (Mass Market Paperback)
I probably started with my expectations high but i thought it was a solid ok, Though IMHO i think the Night Lord books by Aaron Demksi Bowden are better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hunter from the past tries to cope with the present, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Night (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Chaos Space Marines) (Mass Market Paperback)
a great Night Lord novel, that focuses on one of the major characters of the night Lord order. Waking up in a world he does not recognise, and Night Lord goes after those who has stolen his prized possession. Lots of action and lots of storytelling coupled with a very sinister atmosphere. Definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dark, dreary and dull, 20 Dec 2012
This review is from: Lord of the Night (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Chaos Space Marines) (Mass Market Paperback)
I got this book second hand for 50c in my local library. Read it, struggled hard to appreciate it, and ultimately chucked it into a bin, which is the only fit thing to do with with such a dire novel. I found out today, while looking for another Warhammer novel, that this book was worth a small fortune. Don't make me laugh. If someone is stupid enough to spend hard earned money on this tripe, then they've got to be seriously stuck for something to do. I'd bet that even within the genre there are far better reads than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I feel the power of the warp overtaking me......., 12 Feb 2010
By 
Singing Chameleon (dark woodlands of England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lord of the Night (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Chaos Space Marines) (Mass Market Paperback)
Zso Sahaal is savage, filled with rage and loyal to his Master. Yet is he a creature of chaos? This book intrigued me because of the picture it painted of the Night Lord Primarch as someone who was used and betrayed by his father, just as the Imperium uses others in hypocritical counterpoint to its doctrines. Is it not conceivable that the Emperor is not the holy god he is depicted as? Is he not so far from the manipulative and violent beings of the warp?

I was wary of the Black Library's books as being self serving fodder for the GW franchise, yet this book proved me wrong as it transcends the black and white, good and bad ideas to depict a more realistic image of a future empire, generating pathos for Sahaal and sympathy for the other main character, Mita who is closer to the traitor she is hunting than she realises.

And then there's the strange behaviour of an Inquisitor and meddling xenos and annoying servitors who haven't been labotomised enough.

Sure, this is no work of high literature but as a piece of entertaining pulp sci-fi that gives you a very different taste of the 40K universe it excels.

Highly recommended. Five stars because I loved it!

Or perhaps it was just the power of the warp overtaking me.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tight and twisty, 9 Oct 2009
This review is from: Lord of the Night (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Chaos Space Marines) (Mass Market Paperback)
Again this books serves to prove 4OK books are much better written and reflect the game stronger than the fantasy couterparts. Very pacy and unusual in that there is probably only a handful of 'good,' guys in it. I didn't feel that sympathetic towards either the two main charcters goals as such, mostly because one suddenly finds new phychic powers to escape a fatal situation a littel too often and the other commits very nasty acts of torture frequently throughtout the book. Didn't spoil it though as it has an excellent essemble of characters and lots of shades of grey throughout and thats what makes 40k so compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book surprised me - I loved it, 16 Oct 2008
By 
M. J. Luckett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lord of the Night (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Chaos Space Marines) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book really surprised me.

I like a good Space Marine book and had only really read the Horus Heresy and Space Wolf Omnibuses before starting this.

I was expecting more of the same (which I thoroughly enjoy) but Lord of the Night (as one of the other reviewers says) is an excellent piece of stand alone sci-fi.

The story is one that shows that Good and Evil (very hazy in WH40k anyway) is a matter of perspective and I found myself rooting for, what in other WH40k books, would be the bad guy.

A cracking, good read. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I agree, one of the best Black Library books since Eisenhorn, 10 Jun 2008
This review is from: Lord of the Night (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Chaos Space Marines) (Mass Market Paperback)
A very well written tale that builds on the character of the Nightlords and dark universe of the Imperium. It is the kind of book that built the warhammer 40K franchise rather than the kind of book that would not sell without the franchise brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars utter drivel, 17 Jan 2010
By 
A. P. Bradbury "Ghostdancer" (norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lord of the Night (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Chaos Space Marines) (Mass Market Paperback)
utter drivel!
not impressed, there are far better reads amongst the W40k universe
Gaunts novels for example, the Space wolves another example
any of the Horus books with the exception of Fulgrim
really not good if this had been the first W40k bok i had read would possibly ot read anymore
very dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa481ce4)

This product

Lord of the Night (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Chaos Space Marines)
Lord of the Night (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Chaos Space Marines) by Simon Spurrier (Mass Market Paperback - 13 Jan 2005)
Used & New from: 3.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews