Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and gripping fantasy novel
This is a breath of fresh air in the adult sf/fantasy genre. It may lack finesse, but, crucially, it doesn't lack action and (dare I say it) combat! Gotrek and Felix are contrasting characters that seem to share a common destiny. The inevitable doom of Gotrek is as good a hook for reader attention as any I've seen in the fantasy genre...I struggled to put the book down,...
Published on 4 Mar 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, but that doesn't make it a bad book
The second offering in the Slayer series was a good book, it was fun to read, but again it was a little simplistic - especially in structure. Nothing seemed to hard a foe to face for the heroes. The reader knows the heroes will win, but wouldn't it be better to at least have the enemy create a problem for them? Despite this flaw, King is still superb at creating...
Published on 31 Mar 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and gripping fantasy novel, 4 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This is a breath of fresh air in the adult sf/fantasy genre. It may lack finesse, but, crucially, it doesn't lack action and (dare I say it) combat! Gotrek and Felix are contrasting characters that seem to share a common destiny. The inevitable doom of Gotrek is as good a hook for reader attention as any I've seen in the fantasy genre...I struggled to put the book down, and by the time I got to Dragonslayer, I couldn't stop - read the whole thing in one sitting. No soft heroics and boring pages of mundane activity here, the heroes are hard bitten and uncompromising, going from battle to battle in the chaos infested Old World. I have no hesitation in recommending this series to anyone that has an interest in heroic fantasy without the pretentious rubbish and absence of action that mars so many novels these days. I've read the books over and over again - the content is right up there with Terry Brooks' excellent work. Buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Political Intrigue steals the day, 30 May 2007
By 
Mr. R. Coleman (Marlow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Gotrek Gurnisson and Felix Jaeger return in Skaven Slayer, a second helping of William King's Trollslayer saga.

In this book - also it would seem entitled `My Travels With Gotrek Vol III' - Felix Jaeger finds himself penning more of the illustrious adventures of the dwarf Gotrek, and his search for a heroic death, this time fighting off the 'politically-in-fighting' clans of Skaven trying to invade the city of Nuln.

Unlike the first book in this series - which to me seemed more like a collection of short stories that had been cobbled together from possibly early White Dwarf issues or something - the whole book takes place in one city, even though the book is divided into short stories again. And this setting of one location enabled King to put a bit more flesh on the bones of the characters that I felt was missing from the first book. It also gave a bit more depth to the history of the Jaeger family, with the introduction of Otto - Felix's brother. And unlike the first book, being a friend or colleague of the duo, doesn't necessarily mean the King is going to kill you off - even if it does seem like it at the beginning.

In my own opinion though the main characters of the saga were left well behind in the shadow of the Skaven characters that King created, with all their in-fighting and desire to be held in respect by the grand Skaven council of thirteen. It was extremely comical - though bloody - sometimes, and I felt myself wanting to read further just to know what political twist in the rat-men's world was going to be brewed up next. You don't have to be a great fan of Warhammer to understand this book, and I think King puts enough explanation in to make even the most novice of D & D fans get some idea of the Skaven hierarchy.

The only down side to this book - and I have found this a lot with King's short stories - is that he really does tell a great tale and sets up the action nicely, encouraging the reader to turn every page. Soon though the reader starts to realise that the story is running out of pages for the climax of the story to come to its conclusion., and I feel that on occasions the endings of King's writing seem to come to dramatically fast endings, which let down the depth of the plot built up in the previous pages. But I guess Gotrek's immense axe chopping off the head of some villainous chaotic creation, is a pretty quick, if not bloody ending.

Very enjoyable 280 pages, and for those that care, a far better proof reading than the terrible spelling errors and missing words in the first book of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD STORY IN THE WARHAMMER WORLD, 23 Oct 2001
By 
Ryan J. Leask "ryanleask" (Shetland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Skavenslayer is the second book in the Gotrek and Felix saga.
It tells the story of th (un)succcesful dwarf slayer and his human companion in the city of Nuln, where there are a few strange and sinister goings on.
Although a dark tale it is often light harted with the bumbeling skaven and there plans getting thwarted.
Its a good book for anyone that is in to fantasy stories and especially for those intrested in the warhammer world.
Overall I think it is one of the best of the set of Gotrek/Felix stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hordes of rats, a city under seige, a bard and a psycopath, 29 Nov 1999
By A Customer
And thats just the start. Nuln is under seige, from within! Luckely the two heroes Gotrek and Felix have recovered from their last adventure and are in town. Though this book is not as fast paced as the first it is more in depth and gripping. This is another great book from king which introduces the most vile of all skaven - the sinister Grey seer Thanquol. You know, with all these talking rats about, it seems like a book by Brian Jaques. Only better. By a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, but that doesn't make it a bad book, 31 Mar 2000
By A Customer
The second offering in the Slayer series was a good book, it was fun to read, but again it was a little simplistic - especially in structure. Nothing seemed to hard a foe to face for the heroes. The reader knows the heroes will win, but wouldn't it be better to at least have the enemy create a problem for them? Despite this flaw, King is still superb at creating laughs and the climax is superbly done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best in the series, 3 Feb 2014
This book can be described as:
- urban swords and sorcery
- interlinked but distinct short stories leading up to a climatic end story
- extremely funny

Personally I love all three of these, hence the high review.
It's not exactly intellectual, but honestly who cares. It's easy to read, the characters are likeable (especially the main enemy), and basically you should get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Formula fantasy, 13 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. G. Battle (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skavenslayer (Gotrek & Felix) (Paperback)
Skavenslayer is definitely an improvement on the fragmented Trollslayer. The structure is similar, with each chapter controlling the plot in a very linear fashion where each chapter sets up a villain to be dispatched, it's scenario by numbers akin to a roleplaying game. The characters are still rather two-dimensional and the action is to the point and little more. Skavenslayer does has have a stronger plot that draws the chapters together, rather than a disparate collection of stories which made up Trollslayer. This ensure the pages keep turning and ultimately Skavenslayer is an easy going fantasy romp - it's not clever or complicated and should appeal to a wider audience than the more lengthy fiction in this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I Had Read This Sooner, 5 Mar 2010
By 
Ursula K. Raphael "AstraDaemon of The Zombiep... (USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skavenslayer (Gotrek & Felix) (Paperback)
Truthfully, Shamanslayer, was the first Gotrek & Felix novel that I had read (before that, it was all Warhammer 40K books for me). I immediately ordered all the previous adventures from the series, and caught up. Skavenslayer is one of my favorites because I find the skaven clans more interesting than any other non-humans in the Warhammer fantasies.

In this second part of the doom-seeking saga of Gotrek Gurnisson, as chronicled by Felix Jeager, the two main characters are in the city of Nuln. They take the jobs of sewerjacks to support themselves, and stumble upon a secret meeting between a human high offical and a skaven named Skrequal, in the process of scouring the underground tunnels for mutants. While Gotrek and Felix investigate the human conspirator, Grey Seer Thanquol assumes command of Clan Skab, and continues with plans to overthrow Nuln, at any cost.

Soon, it becomes obvious that the various skaven clans have different plans they hide from one another, trying to gain the upperhand, much to the growing frustration of Thanquol. Not only does he have to deal with Gotrek & Felix, but he has to protect himself from the traitorous plotting of the other skaven clan leaders. Despite these obstacles, the Grey Seer is bound and determined to impress the Council of Thirteen in Skavenblight.

During this adventure, Felix is also struggling to adjust to his new life with Gotrek, and entertains thoughts of breaking his oath. "the promise had been made when he was drunk; surely it didn't count?"

Being so early on in their series of battles, Gotrek has yet to realize that his honorable doom will not come easily. As much as his enemies would like to see him dead, even they can't help but wonder what it will take to defeat the dwarf warrior.

If Skavenslayer was one of your favorites in this series, or you simply want to kow more about Thanquol and the skaven clans, I strongly recommend Grey Seer -- the first of a new Warhammer series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Squeaking deth!, 28 Mar 2009
By 
P. Stearman "Rhandolph" (Brighton, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book, which I bought mainly because I like Skaven and despite assassinations and plague infested horrors the rat-men are generally played out here with the comedy slant in mind, with perhaps a few too many jokes about 'the musk of fear' being thrown in.

It is of course a collection of short stories all linked together and focused very much on Felix and from his point of view, indeed Gotrek remains an entirely one dimensional caricature through out which is a shame, I learnt nothing about him from the first page to the last and a glimpse or two into his mind would have been welcome.

As a disposable holiday read it worked well and I do mean that as a good thing, if this was a film it would be an explosive action-fantasy-comedy that you'd probably stick on again one day when you want to sit back and enjoy the ruck without worrying about whether its gonna win any oscars or not. Enjoyable stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Overall 4 stars., 17 Jun 2008
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Skavenslayer is actually six adventures during the travels of Gotrek & Felix. Slayer Gotrek Gurnisson is a dwarf on a death quest. He roams the land searching for the mightiest of evils to fight and slay until he is finally rewarded with a glorious death that will long be remembered and talked about for generations to come. Felix Jaegor is sworn to accompany the Slayer, however long it takes, even though it could end in his own death. Should he survive, it will be Felix's job to record and report the heroic dwarf's many battles, as well as how Gotrek fell in combat. Here are the adventures within this book:

Skaven's Claw
Felix and Gotrek are temporarily working in the sewers of Nuln, hunting goblins. Otto, Felix's older brother, runs the family business in Nuln now. It is during a routine shift in the sewer that they (and the others on the shift) come across someone conspiring with the skaven.

**** This story picks up where "Ulric's Children" (in book titled "Trollslayer") leaves off. Grey Seer Thanquol and his giant hybrid rat-ogre are involved in it all as well. ****

Gutter Runners
Felix and Gotrek are working as bouncers at The Blind Pig, the roughest bar in Nuln, and skaven assassins are being sent to kill them.

*** This is an extremely short story. It adds nothing to the duo's destiny, but the battles sure are fun. ***

Night Raid
Believe it or not, Grey Seer Thanquol actually warns our two heroes about an attack on the College of Engineering. Of course, in doing so he is also helping himself.

**** Grey Seer is getting more devious in this tale. Perhaps he will actually take over the surface world some day. (And perhaps my mother is an elf.) ****

Plague Monks of Pestilens
Skaven Clan Pestilens goes to the surface with the Cauldron of a Thousand Poxes. It is an artifact stolen from the temple of the Plague God, Nurgle, long ago, when the world was still young. This worries Grey Seer because plans by Clan Pestilens tends to get out of control and decimate skavens in addition to humans. Again our two heroes will be mysteriously warned so they may deal with the problem.

**** This one is much like the last. Lots of fun. ****

Beasts of Moulder
Clan Moulder plans to starve the human city by releasing furry, rat-like monsters into the city. These creatures could eat the entire city dry within only a few days. Each creature has a hundred babies every day. The furry monsters are to arrive under cover of night via a black grain barge. Another mysterious message and our duo rush to keep the barge from docking.

***** Null (skaven from last story) is seeking information about Grey Seer and soon will be after revenge. I thoroughly enjoyed the ironic ending of this story. *****

The Battle for Nuln
The city of Nuln is under siege. Hunger, disease, despair, and the skaven are everywhere. Word is that local nobles had quarantined the city and that archers were shooting those who tried to depart by road and that Imperial naval ships on the river were singing any vessel which tried to pass them.

Grey Seer Thanquol is making plans to take the palace during the masked ball to be held by the Elector Countess. Unknown to Grey Seer is the fact that Null, Grottle and Heskit (skaven leaders from previous tales in the book) have learned of his messages to Felix and Gotrek which resulted in their plans being ruined. The trio are making their own plans to assassinate him.

**** All the stories finally merge for a wonderful ending. A short epilogue follows. I am amazed at how well this all comes together. Other than a couple of filler stories that had no real contribution except to add an extra battle or two, this entire book is extremely well done. ****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skavenslayer (Gotrek & Felix)
Skavenslayer (Gotrek & Felix) by William King (Paperback - 3 April 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews