Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traumatic Towton
No quarter was given at this traumatic battle, which resulted in the biggest loss of life in any English conflict before or since. Why should we question this when all the contemporary sources broadly agree on the numbers? John Sadler is good at citing his sources and has produced a really engaging book based on hard evidence. I have reviewed several books on Towton...
Published on 2 April 2011 by Mr. George P. Algar

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book of two extremes!
John Sadler has written a book of two extremes.

He is superb in describing the events of medieval England's bloodiest day. You can imagine the fear and the horror at times. For someone who has always shied away from reading military angled history, prefering to read about the personal and political side of the English monarchy, I was very impressed with...
Published on 10 Aug 2011 by K. J. Greenland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traumatic Towton, 2 April 2011
By 
Mr. George P. Algar (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Towton: The Battle of Palm Sunday Field (Hardcover)
No quarter was given at this traumatic battle, which resulted in the biggest loss of life in any English conflict before or since. Why should we question this when all the contemporary sources broadly agree on the numbers? John Sadler is good at citing his sources and has produced a really engaging book based on hard evidence. I have reviewed several books on Towton now and am pleasantly surprised that each author approaches the subject with a different eye. If I were to define Mr. Sadler's book it is the one that focuses on the real meat in the sandwich, the actual day of the battle, more than the others. He has a soldier's eye for the terrain and the terror that would have ensued during the rout, and this book is more deeply anchored to the locale. There are some bonus items as the author treats us to a precis on the battles that were fought in the immediate aftermath of Towton. Well worth a read.

George Peter Algar, Editor of the Towton Herald, Towton Battlefield Society's official magazine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Towton, the Battle of Palm Sunday, 7 May 2011
This review is from: Towton: The Battle of Palm Sunday Field (Hardcover)
As a keen amateur rather than a professional historian I found the book very readable. I particularly liked the initial chapters setting out a brief biography of the main people involved, a short history of what events led up to the battle, and the chapters on the way people lived and the attitude to warfare. This lead to a good understanding of the reasons behind the battle and the lack of quarter given, hence the casualties which by the standard of the time were huge. As a local resident to the battlefield I have had a long fascination for this historic battle and this book has whetted my appetite to read more.Towton: The Battle of Palm Sunday Field
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Yorkist Triumph, 6 April 2011
By 
Mr. R. A. Morton (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Towton: The Battle of Palm Sunday Field (Hardcover)
March 29th 1461 brought a new king to the English throne and signalled the downfall of the house of Lancaster. The battle of Towton was to go down in history as the bloodiest day in English history, leaving some 28,000 casualties on the battlefield. The author, John Sadler, is to be congratulated on producing a highly readable account of the battle, the commanders involved and the issues at stake. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Towton: The Battle of Palm Sunday Field, 13 May 2011
This review is from: Towton: The Battle of Palm Sunday Field (Hardcover)
Research & written material first class & second to none. A very good book let down badly by its few & very poor maps. Also, the silly & lurid book cover does not do this book full justice. Blame the publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book of two extremes!, 10 Aug 2011
By 
K. J. Greenland "kevinthegerbil" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Towton: The Battle of Palm Sunday Field (Hardcover)
John Sadler has written a book of two extremes.

He is superb in describing the events of medieval England's bloodiest day. You can imagine the fear and the horror at times. For someone who has always shied away from reading military angled history, prefering to read about the personal and political side of the English monarchy, I was very impressed with Sadler's introduction concerning the art of war, his human coverage of the actual battle and the mass grave discovered in 1996. His descriptions of troop movements was, for me, very easy to understand, so should be for everyone, despite the inclusion of two not very detailed maps!

However, the rest of the book is extremely disappointing. Sadler is correct to include the historical background from Richard II's deposition until the battle itself, but it should have been a lot briefer and not covered in three chapters. To buy a book titled 'Towton - The Battle Of Palm Sunday Field 1461', you want to read about the battle and not waste your time on too much detail of the events of the previous sixty years. In contrast, the events from the aftermath of the battle until the end of the Wars in 1487 are covered far too briefly in a seemingly rushed five page chapter. The final chapter covering the battlefield today seems pointless.

Can Towton justify a whole book written about it? I think not. Still, when Sadler writes about the actual battle, it's great reading.

Oh, and what a silly cover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not read it yet for hols
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Towton: The Battle of Palm Sunday Field
Towton: The Battle of Palm Sunday Field by John Sadler (Hardcover - 17 Feb 2011)
Used & New from: £7.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews