Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The peninsular war...A battlefield Guide
I thoroughly enjoyed this book from start to finish.
The Battles were full of information and detail
The photos and maps gave great detail and were easy to understand.
I liked the fact that it gave you the details and directions to go find the memorials and battlefields to go visit yourself.
Cant wait to read more by this author
Published on 3 Jan 2011 by Tracey

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better
This books is a great disappointment. Most of the content, a general history of the war, is available in a thousand other places, and in most of them it has been more carefully written. Another Amazon reviewer has pointed out some gross errors indicating that the book was prepared in a hurry. I take issue with the publisher's dust jacket statement 'Features the main...
Published on 4 Oct 2009 by Photo enthusiast


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better, 4 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Peninsular War: A Battlefield Guide (Battleground) (Hardcover)
This books is a great disappointment. Most of the content, a general history of the war, is available in a thousand other places, and in most of them it has been more carefully written. Another Amazon reviewer has pointed out some gross errors indicating that the book was prepared in a hurry. I take issue with the publisher's dust jacket statement 'Features the main actions fought by the British, Spanish, Portuguese and French armies'. It does NOT!! I could forgive a clear statement of intent that the book's remit was limited to actions fought by the British army, but not this spurious claim. I thought that the work of excellent modern historians like Charles Esdaile had finally made us grow out of the anglocentric focus of earlier periods. (The great Sir Charles Oman being a very honourable exception, as he does reasonable justice to the Spanish.)Bailen was more important than many of the actions featured, but is mentioned only twice in the text - where is the map, photographs and detailed account to match those of the Anglo-Portuguese actions?

One of my main reasons for disappointment, as I had really looked forward to this book, is that in common with many other folk I have visited all the important 'British' sites, and now want to expand my knowledge by looking at those fought between the Spanish and the French. Most of them led to defeat for the Spanish, but each one took numbers of Frenchmen out of the invading force and each helped tie down most of the French strength away from the decisive battlefields. Many were large and important battles, and deserve to be covered in a book of this kind.

Photographs of the battle sites in the tradition of Jac Weller are useful - some of Weller's sadly can't be replicated today because of modern development - and in that respect it is true that the book is a little better than nothing, but if you are considering exploring these sites you will do far better investing in the various Ospreys on the Peninsular campaigns and drawing information from the web. Oh dear oh dear, this item could and should have been so much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Guide to the Peninsular War Battlefields, 25 Aug 2009
By 
Guy Brown "Oliver" (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Peninsular War: A Battlefield Guide (Battleground) (Hardcover)
This is a very well organised book which in principle could be a good help for people who want to learn about and to see the battlefields of the Peninsular War. Besides an introduction, a list of literature and an index the book contains 12 chapters each of which centres around a phase or a battle in the war between France on the one hand and Britain, Portugal and Spain on the other. Each chapter consists of two parts: a condensed but readable description of the military development with pictures and a map, and a guide to the battlefield supported by photos. Unfortunately the book is marred by a couple of bad errors which makes it hard to trust the reliability of the book in general: Wellington's opponent in the Battle of Salamanca was Marshal Marmont and not Marshal Masséna (p.11 and p.201), Arthur Wellesley became Duke of Wellington, not Duke of Wellesley (p.92) and Jac Weller was not a participant in and an observer of the Battle of Sorauren, but a contemporary author who has written a good book of the Peninsular War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The peninsular war...A battlefield Guide, 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Peninsular War: A Battlefield Guide (Battleground) (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book from start to finish.
The Battles were full of information and detail
The photos and maps gave great detail and were easy to understand.
I liked the fact that it gave you the details and directions to go find the memorials and battlefields to go visit yourself.
Cant wait to read more by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Battlefield guide to Peninsular Wars, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Peninsular War: A Battlefield Guide (Battleground) (Hardcover)
Background to Sharpe books, which I love. My husband and I are going on Peninsular War sites coach holiday in 2013, and he got this book out of the local library - yes, we still have one!! He found it easy to read and understand, so I bought him a copy to keep and refer to on our holiday. Prompt delivery. Thoroughly recommend seller. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars found it really useful., 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
took it with me on holiday to tour peninsula battlefields. found it really useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Peninsular War: A Battlefield Guide (Battleground)
The Peninsular War: A Battlefield Guide (Battleground) by Andrew Rawson (Hardcover - 21 May 2009)
£22.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews