Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tracing your Blackcountry Ancestors
We found this book informative and useful.Four Counties form parts of the Blackcountry making researching FamilyHistory in the area quite difficult. This book gives a potted histoty of the area together with advice and helpful suggestions. A useful book.
Published 20 months ago by Wheelergate

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't be misled.
Don't expect too much.
Misleading title. This is an interesting book but is more about Black Country hisory than it is Geneology.
Published 15 months ago by Colin Knowles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tracing your Blackcountry Ancestors, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tracing Your Black Country Ancestors (Paperback)
We found this book informative and useful.Four Counties form parts of the Blackcountry making researching FamilyHistory in the area quite difficult. This book gives a potted histoty of the area together with advice and helpful suggestions. A useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't be misled., 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tracing Your Black Country Ancestors (Paperback)
Don't expect too much.
Misleading title. This is an interesting book but is more about Black Country hisory than it is Geneology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tracing your Black Country Ancestors, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tracing Your Black Country Ancestors (Paperback)
A very interesting book, both for those with Black Country connections and those interested to know more about this interesting area of England. It is full of useful advice for tracing ancestors and is well illustrated, even though some pictures have the wrong caption on them!

I would recommend this to any interested in family or local history of the Black Country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The author's view, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Michael J. Pearson (Halesowen, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tracing Your Black Country Ancestors (Paperback)
As the author of this work you would expect me to give it 5 stars. After all I wouldn't have sent the manuscript to the publisher if it wasn't just right.

I had assistance and guidance from respected genealogy author Simon Fowler throughout the writing phase of the book. The idea was to include as much help as possible for those who wanted to take their family research beyond the stage of simply collecting names of their ancestors.

Local historians will also benefit from reading this book, I have collected together as many sources and resources on the Black Country as I could cram in. These are ever-changing, in terms possibly of web and archive resources, but part of the fun for me was finding some of the older, out of print works to recommend.

I hope you enjoy the book, I go to it now as a reference guide myself as Icannot possibly remember everything I wrote during 2010 and early 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars check areas, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tracing Your Black Country Ancestors (Paperback)
great book but i wanted the stoke on trent area so not a lot of use but great book all the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tracing Your Black Country Ancestors
Tracing Your Black Country Ancestors by Michael Pearson (Paperback - 18 Oct 2012)
9.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews