Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Thrilling Read, 3 Mar 2009
By 
G. Langdon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Tobruk: Memoirs of a World War II Destroyer Commander (Hardcover)
I was recommended this book by a friend of mine who is a bit of a non-fiction war buff. Few if any volumes in my library have either memoirs or war in the title so initially I was sceptical but he prevailed. I am pleased he did because this is an excellent book, a real page turner which I was reluctant to put down.

It vividly portrays the experiences of protecting the convoys and the incessant strain that everyone on board must have faced under constant attack from the air and sea. The horrors of working continuously under such conditions are described with a matter of factness that many today would find surprising but which was the norm among the innumerable heros of that time.

This book is a great read and I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another view., 2 July 2009
By 
Mr. David S. Ball (Leicestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Tobruk: Memoirs of a World War II Destroyer Commander (Hardcover)
Having served in the Fleet Air Arm although not in war time it was very interesting to read of the problems in command that one was not aware of. A very interesting book about a period of heavy naval activity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 5 Jan 2009
By 
Giles Orringe (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Tobruk: Memoirs of a World War II Destroyer Commander (Hardcover)
"A wonderful little book, packed with action. Gregory-Smith brings this forgotten corner of the Royal navy's history back to life from one man's perspective. The action is relentless, all fought by very ordinary men in extrordinary circumstances. I thoroughly enjoyed it. A must for any naval or military enthusiast but Gregory-Smith's writing is so lively that all should enjoy."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Real and poignant, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Tobruk: Memoirs of a World War II Destroyer Commander (Hardcover)
Enjoy, never quite seems like the right choice of word for such a poignant and real narrative of a period in our history. However I did enjoy reading the authors account of his time in charge of HMS Eridge. I chose the book because my Grandfather served aboard Eridge for its entire commission, and he never spoke about his time in the Atlantic or Med. Not only was it amazing to spot my grandfather in one of the group photos, but it has given members of the family a real and thoughtful understanding of what his life and that of his fellow seamen would have been like. It's well written and gives a personable account of the inner struggles for the captain of the ship and his crew. An excellent read for anyone who might be researching family history and have a family member who served in the Royal Navy during the med conflicts and convoys, or who is just interested in this aspect of the 2nd World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read., 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Tobruk: Memoirs of a World War II Destroyer Commander (Hardcover)
I was told about this book by someone from the Navy,and what a delight it was because my wife,s father is mentioned in it she will treasure it and pass it down to our family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some incredible but true story, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Tobruk: Memoirs of a World War II Destroyer Commander (Hardcover)
I worked as an apprentice to Mr Edward Baggley a guy who was the gunnery director of HMS Hardy at the Battle of Narvick when half the german destroyer fleet were sunk after falling into a trap set by the Royal Navy using the Hardfy as bait the Hardy did not survive the encounter and its captain Warburton Lee won the Victoria Cross for gallantry.. My workmate Edward Baggley spent a week hiding from the germans before being picked up by the Warspite at the second battle of Narvick, later he served in the Med andthen served in the far east with The Royal Navy Pacific Fleet

A true and very well written story about the triumphs travails and tribulations of an escort destroyer commander and his crew doing their bit at the sharp end of the sharp end escorting convoys in the Mediterranean during The Second World War.

The Hunt class destroyer HMS Eridge was almost constantly exposed to air and submarine attack from the day it was built until it was finally torpedoed by a Motor Torpedo Boat while being bombed by stuka dive bombers and sunk off Tobruk in August 1942.
The Hunt Class were an extremely sucessful destroyer type being equipped with 6 very effective long range high muzzle velocity quick firing 4 inch high angle anti aircraft guns as a result these fine ships were always in demand and almost constantly at sea. For instance HMS Badsworth HMS Eridges sister ship was the most sucessful destroyer escort in The North Sea. Since the village of Badsworth is next door to me it follows that some of us remember the sacrifices our grandfathers generation made for us..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Naval history, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Tobruk: Memoirs of a World War II Destroyer Commander (Hardcover)
Very interesting, well written and was easy to read and understand. I wanted to know more about the war at sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sir John Keegan comment, 6 Jan 2009
This review is from: Red Tobruk: Memoirs of a World War II Destroyer Commander (Hardcover)
"I think this one of the finest personal accounts of service in the Royal Navy during th Second World War that I know" - Sir John Keegan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Tobruk - Legendary, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Edward Low - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Tobruk: Memoirs of a World War II Destroyer Commander (Hardcover)
This is a phenomenal book written by a living legend. These sorts of accounts are a reminder to the immense and understated bravery of the people who made our lives possible as they are today. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Tobruk: Memoirs of a World War II Destroyer Commander
Red Tobruk: Memoirs of a World War II Destroyer Commander by Frank Gregory-Smith (Hardcover - 19 Nov 2008)
£17.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews